Georgia Aquarium "work environment" Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

Georgia Aquarium Employee Reviews about "work environment"

Updated Apr 4, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
69%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
Georgia Aquarium Chief Executive Officer, Chairman of the Board, and Benefactor Bernard Marcus (no image)
Bernard Marcus
34 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "(in 5 reviews)

  • "(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work environment"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Guest Program in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Georgia Aquarium for more than a year

    Pros

    Great environment to work in. Pay is good

    Cons

    Job can get repetitive. Management is sometimes lackluster

    Georgia Aquarium2018-04-05
  2. "Guest Programs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Guest Programs 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Georgia Aquarium part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fun work environment, flexible work hours

    Cons

    Lack of upward movement, open year-round including holidays

    Georgia Aquarium2017-09-01
  3. "Okay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Georgia Aquarium full-time

    Pros

    Best, most interesting environment to work in .

    Cons

    Work hours don't work well for a family as weekends and holidays are "on" days. It is fine for some, but just keep that in mind.

    Georgia Aquarium2017-09-07
  4. "Educational Instructor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Educational Instructor in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Georgia Aquarium for more than a year

    Pros

    Amazing facility, great perks, it's difficult to get into the education department, prestigious work environment.

    Cons

    Location/ commute, difficult to advance.

    Georgia Aquarium2017-05-17
  5. "Not worth it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Intern 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Georgia Aquarium for less than a year

    Pros

    Everyone was extremely friendly and helpful. Working at the aquarium came with a lot of perks and was overall a cool work environment.

    Cons

    My skills were not utilized at all, not included on important meetings that were crucial to doing my job, and my direct superior was horrible to work with. I was often scheduled to work on nights and weekends that I had specifically asked off weeks in advance. Very little respect for my time.

    Georgia Aquarium2016-10-23
  6. "Cashier"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Cashier in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Georgia Aquarium for more than a year

    Pros

    There was a lovely fast-paced work environment.

    Cons

    Just needs to be better communication between employees and management.

    Advice to Management

    Better communication as noted before.

    Georgia Aquarium2016-08-03
  7. "Georgia Aquarium Gift Shop"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     

    I worked at Georgia Aquarium

    Pros

    Overall a very fun place to work. You get to see all of the exhibits every day and most of the customers are in a great mood. Fantastic work environment .

    Cons

    Can be extremely busy at times especially after a dolphin show. At this point you can have thousands of customers leaving through the gift shop creating a gridlock and long lines.

    Advice to Management

    Management was great for the most part. Sometimes exceptional work can go unnoticed which can lower morale. It can also seem that there is no way to move up no matter the quality of your work.

    Georgia Aquarium2016-07-31
  8. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Georgia Aquarium full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Everyone is helpful and happy to work here. Good benefits. Good work environment.

    Cons

    Have to use benefit days to take off on holidays.

    Georgia Aquarium2014-01-14
  9. "Great Educational Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Volunteer Gallery Interpreter 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Georgia Aquarium for more than a year

    Pros

    Getting to constantly watch and learn about a wide variety of marine animals. From fish to sea birds to whales and sea otter you really learn a lot. The employees are generally very helpful and it's a great work environment. You get pretty good benefits even as a volunteer.

    Cons

    Occasionally the shifts can be long and sort of monotonous depending on what area you are working in. Getting classes and finding out about how certain things work can be somewhat difficult.

    Georgia Aquarium2013-11-18
Found 9 reviews