Georgia Department of Corrections Correctional Officer II Reviews | Glassdoor

Georgia Department of Corrections Correctional Officer II Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 9 reviews

1.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
4%
Recommend to a Friend
32%
Approve of CEO
Georgia Department of Corrections CEO Brian Owens
Brian Owens
3 Ratings
  1. "Correctional officer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Correctional Officer II in Dallas, GA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Georgia Department of Corrections for more than 20 years

    Pros

    Good pay,Good hours, Healthcare, Free Uniforms, S.O.P. in pace and followed

    Cons

    Wanted to teach my son on home school Invasion of privacy, I took notes and my boss went through them and my purse without my knowledge

    Georgia Department of Corrections2016-08-15
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Awful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Correctional Officer II in Grovetown, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Georgia Department of Corrections full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Decent starting salary. No college degree required. Very minimal starting requirements - just need a clean criminal record and a high school diploma.

    Cons

    I worked here for three years. By far the worst job I've ever had. I was assaulted by an inmate. I reported the incident to my immediate supervisor and she did nothing about it. I then reported it to her supervisor, the Captain. The Captain also did nothing about it, and my immediate supervisor told the Captain that I hadn't reported it to her. I was denied Emergency Family Leave and later found out that I had every right...

    Show More
    Georgia Department of Corrections2017-04-23
  3. Helpful (1)

    "It's a job you'll never forget"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Correctional Officer II in Forsyth, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Georgia Department of Corrections full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    I'm greatful for the experience. It's a job and learning experience. Uniforms provided. Chance of getting a new position 8

    Cons

    Not as organized as it should be. Unsafe environment. Needs better management of discipline. Inmates should not be able to move so freely. Management should be more respectful to all staff members no matter there ranking.

    Advice to Management

    One Team is the idea, Not the case. If you treat your CO's like inmates or like they don't matter. Why would they stay and do right. The turn over rate for CO's is going to continue if the upper level of staff continues to be closed minded. I understand and agree with having discipline but that also requires Respect.

    Georgia Department of Corrections2016-11-26
  4. "Georgia State Correctional Officer 2 (Close Security)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Correctional Officer II in Milledgeville, GA

    I have been working at Georgia Department of Corrections full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    Good pay and very good job security

    Cons

    Locked up for 13hrs and rarely get our 30m break

    Advice to Management

    Treat everyone fairly and kill all the rumors on your shift.

    Georgia Department of Corrections2016-10-19
  5. "pay your employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Correctional Officer II in Atlanta, GA

      I have been working at Georgia Department of Corrections for more than a year

      Pros

      I love the people I work with they are amazing

      Cons

      the pay sucks and you make no money at all for all the time you put in there is lots of over time but they dont pay you for it so you work for free.

      Advice to Management

      pay your people what they are worth

      Georgia Department of Corrections2015-11-10
    • "Corrections Officer II"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Correctional Officer II in Atlanta, GA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Georgia Department of Corrections full-time for more than 4 years

      Pros

      Depends on which prison you work at. Good friendships. Room for promotion.

      Cons

      Pay could be better. Some real attitudey co-workers.

      Advice to Management

      Be more involved.

      Georgia Department of Corrections2015-01-21
    • "Not as Bad as I thought it would Be ...But"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Correctional Officer II 
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Georgia Department of Corrections full-time for more than 9 years

      Pros

      The Benefits pretty good. If you are ambitious there is opportunity for growth. The job does offer its challenges and for the right person, it can be a career job. Job security is good

      Cons

      Salary increases have been few and far between and very marginal. Although you accrue ample leave (sick and annual) You are somewhat ridiculed by supervisors for taking leave - especially if you call in sick. For the type job, pay should be more.

      Advice to Management

      Treat employees like they are valued and not like an extension of the inmate population. Supervisors should be trained more effectively on internal customer service and management.

      Georgia Department of Corrections2014-10-28
    • Helpful (1)

      "Severely under manned"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Correctional Officer II in Jackson, GA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at Georgia Department of Corrections full-time for more than 4 years

      Pros

      Job security. You will never be laid off. They are constantly hiring and it's extremely easy to get a job here.

      Cons

      Dangerous environment. Stressful supervisors. How can you call it a prison if doors don't lock? You are often out numbered 250 convicted felons to one correctional officer. No raise in several years.

      Advice to Management

      Spend money on fixing doors and giving raises to dedicated employees instead of wasting money on rooftop motion sensors and HD cameras that point at walls.

      Georgia Department of Corrections2014-10-15
    • "Annoying job. Inmates are fine it's other officers that you have to worry about."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Correctional Officer II in Unadilla, GA
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at Georgia Department of Corrections full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      Schedule, is great benefits are awesome, easy work to get the hang of

      Cons

      Other officers make work annoying, pay isnt enough for what we put up with, supervisors don't know how to manage a shift

      Advice to Management

      Do better!

      Georgia Department of Corrections2014-03-27
    Found 9 reviews