Georgia Department of Corrections Reviews | Glassdoor

Georgia Department of Corrections Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 144 reviews

2.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
35%
Recommend to a Friend
33%
Approve of CEO
Georgia Department of Corrections CEO Brian Owens
Brian Owens
45 Ratings
  1. "Correctional officer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Georgia Department of Corrections full-time

    Pros

    Gained tons of experience with offenders

    Cons

    No appreciation towards officers

    Advice to Management

    N/a

    Georgia Department of Corrections2017-06-05
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Horrid accounting practices and managers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Forsyth, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Georgia Department of Corrections full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    At least they let you take your holidays, can't say the same for leave.

    Cons

    Management is awful, cover their own behind and throw you under the bus any chance they get.

    Advice to Management

    Retire.

    Georgia Department of Corrections2017-06-20
  3. "Low Pay, High Workload"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Correctional Officer in Atlanta, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Georgia Department of Corrections full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    It's a salaried position, and it's difficult to get fired as long as you don't have associations with the inmates

    Cons

    Very cliquish management that has a CYA attitude

    Advice to Management

    Trust in your subordinates more

    Georgia Department of Corrections2017-05-11
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Correctional Officer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Correctional Officer in Forsyth, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Georgia Department of Corrections full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    The benefits of working for the state.

    Cons

    Pay, barely get raises, no breaks, favoritism so its hard to move up, get paid time off (pto) but its hard to get time off.

    Georgia Department of Corrections2017-04-26
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Captain"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Forsyth, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Georgia Department of Corrections full-time for more than 20 years

    Pros

    This job had great benefits, including health insurance, retirement, 401 (k), and job security. There was a certain amount of satisfaction knowing you made a difference.

    Cons

    pay not commensurate with the long hours and duties. Sometimes promotions were not given in a fair manner; thankless job for the most part.

    Advice to Management

    Take care of your staff and show more support. Do not do something for one that you would not do for another

    Georgia Department of Corrections2017-04-16
  6. "Food service supervisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant in Eastman, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Georgia Department of Corrections full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    I am a good worker I work hard .

    Cons

    Working with the inmates . Side by side everyday

    Advice to Management

    Do the best job you can and Live to make it home

    Georgia Department of Corrections2017-04-03
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Awful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Correctional Officer II in Grovetown, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Georgia Department of Corrections full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Decent starting salary. No college degree required. Very minimal starting requirements - just need a clean criminal record and a high school diploma.

    Cons

    I worked here for three years. By far the worst job I've ever had. I was assaulted by an inmate. I reported the incident to my immediate supervisor and she did nothing about it. I then reported it to her supervisor, the Captain. The Captain also did nothing about it, and my immediate supervisor told the Captain that I hadn't reported it to her. I was denied Emergency Family Leave and later found out that I had every right...

    Show More
    Georgia Department of Corrections2017-04-23
  8. "Wilcox state prisom"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Abbeville, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Georgia Department of Corrections full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Love working there..Very challenging

    Cons

    Inmates get away with many things

    Advice to Management

    Better ideas to manage inmatea

    Georgia Department of Corrections2017-03-08
  9. "Correctional officer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Correctional Officer in Augusta, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Georgia Department of Corrections full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Pay and benefits some coworkers are ok.

    Cons

    Supervisors, politics, favorites. Trust no one.

    Advice to Management

    Treat employees fairly. Lookout for your team. Speak with respect and be firm. FAIR FIRM AND CONSISTENT!

    Georgia Department of Corrections2017-04-05
  10. "Account Executive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Valdosta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Georgia Department of Corrections part-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Benefits and love of job.

    Cons

    Exposure to inmates entering to work and leaving.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the security for employees.

    Georgia Department of Corrections2017-02-07
Found 144 reviews