Georgia Department of Corrections "great benefits" Reviews | Glassdoor

Georgia Department of Corrections Employee Reviews about "great benefits"

To filter reviews, or .

Found 144 reviews

2.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
35%
Recommend to a Friend
33%
Approve of CEO
Georgia Department of Corrections CEO Brian Owens
Brian Owens
45 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good pay and very good job security(in 12 reviews)

  • "Good benefits and experience in the Law Enforcement industry(in 12 reviews)

Cons
  • "pay not commensurate with the long hours and duties(in 8 reviews)

  • "Upper management not supporting smaller offices(in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "great benefits"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Financial Operations Generalist in Forsyth, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Georgia Department of Corrections full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Easy work load, great benefits, good hours.

    Cons

    Unable to move up or advance.

    Advice to Management

    More communication as to expectations of employees.

    Georgia Department of Corrections2019-05-02
  2. "Little room to advance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Georgia Department of Corrections full-time

    Pros

    Benefits are great, paid sick time and vacation time accumulates each month, paid holidays

    Cons

    Little room for advancement, problems get swept under the rug, not the best pay

    Georgia Department of Corrections2018-10-25
  3. Helpful (1)

    "This is a Career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Georgia Department of Corrections full-time

    Pros

    This is a great job with great benefits. If you can stay straight and out of trouble, and do your job the way you are told then this job will be good for you. Do not make friends with inmates, and stay strong minded. Always follow your orders no matter what they are.

    Cons

    When the prison is short-staffed you will work long hours. The inmates will constantly test your patience, don't let them get to you. If you see dirty staff and report them you will be negatively looked at by certain people, always remember the people that look at you negative for that type of thing or people that are just there during a paycheck, they're more than likely won't be working there long, and if they are...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Hire more experienced staff. Too many Cadets are coming in and doing things that they shouldn't do with the inmates. They are making friends with the inmates then smuggling stuff into the prison.

    Georgia Department of Corrections2018-02-18
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Correctional Officer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Pelham, GA

    I have been working at Georgia Department of Corrections full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Able to provide for you family and great benefits are available.

    Cons

    12 hour shifts overtime is compensated on check at the end of the month.

    Georgia Department of Corrections2017-06-23
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Captain"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Forsyth, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Georgia Department of Corrections full-time for more than 20 years

    Pros

    This job had great benefits, including health insurance, retirement, 401 (k), and job security. There was a certain amount of satisfaction knowing you made a difference.

    Cons

    pay not commensurate with the long hours and duties. Sometimes promotions were not given in a fair manner; thankless job for the most part.

    Advice to Management

    Take care of your staff and show more support. Do not do something for one that you would not do for another

    Georgia Department of Corrections2017-04-16
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Counselor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Counselor 

      I have been working at Georgia Department of Corrections full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      the pay is decent and the benefits are great. Great coworkers too

      Cons

      there are no cons really

      Georgia Department of Corrections2017-01-24
    • Helpful (1)

      "Lieutenant"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Lieutenant 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Georgia Department of Corrections full-time for more than 20 years

      Pros

      Have great benefits. Have to have a love for helping others. Get to help others to enters back into society with for positive attitude. It was great some years ago. It was the job to have and the prison was safer.

      Cons

      Have to work very short hand its hard because it hard when you doing the officers, sergeants. And your job. You by yourself doing it all and no one wants to hear you forgot. Well you the Let and that's what you sign up for. The pay isn't that great for what you have to put up safer. It is not safe.

      Advice to Management

      Take care of your people and don't think you are better then them. Pay tham what they are worth. Take care of the veterans (the ones that's been with you for 15 pus years. Employees who been working 20 years is making bout the same as the ones who been working 5 years if they have the same rank.

      Georgia Department of Corrections2016-11-30
    • Helpful (1)

      "Correction Officer"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Correctional Officer in Jackson, GA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I have been working at Georgia Department of Corrections full-time for more than 4 years

      Pros

      Great Benefits, paid vacation, close to home

      Cons

      Long hours, no overtime, stressful,

      Georgia Department of Corrections2016-01-27
    • Helpful (1)

      "Lots of Ups, One Major Down"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Georgia Department of Corrections full-time

      Pros

      This job has provided me with a great work environment, pretty great benefits and it's very stable. I really enjoy my coworkers and my boss is very nice as well. They have provided me with a multitude of experience do to the fact that our department is so small.

      Cons

      The cons are simple. Money is one of the largest cons in this job. We have a small office for our department and not a great deal of places to move up within this section of the department. In order to get a raise you really have to leave or threaten to leave.

      Advice to Management

      Consider giving at least common cost of living raises. We technically take a pay cut year after year due to the fact that our health benefits keep increasing.

      Georgia Department of Corrections2015-12-03
    • "Secretary"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Georgia Department of Corrections

      Pros

      This department offers Great Benefits

      Cons

      The starting salary is too low.

      Advice to Management

      Needs more job openings

      Georgia Department of Corrections2015-07-05
    Found 144 reviews