Georgia Department of Juvenile Justice Reviews | Glassdoor

Georgia Department of Juvenile Justice Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 76 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
44%
Recommend to a Friend
61%
Approve of CEO
Georgia Department of Juvenile Justice CEO Avery D. Niles
Avery D. Niles
16 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Low pay, slow pace, not a good place to grow the career(in 6 reviews)

  • "I like working at DJJ everyone was friendly and likable(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Juvenile Probation Parole Specialists"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Georgia Department of Juvenile Justice full-time

    Pros

    Paid time off. Flexible Hours

    Cons

    Stressful , overwhelming, and hard to balance personal life

    Georgia Department of Juvenile Justice2018-11-10
  2. "Great Benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Georgia Department of Juvenile Justice full-time

      Pros

      Health insurance and other benefits are excellent.

      Cons

      No issues while working there

      Advice to Management

      NA

      Georgia Department of Juvenile Justice2019-04-18
    • "Dynamic opportunity"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Captain of Security 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Georgia Department of Juvenile Justice full-time for more than 20 years

      Pros

      Helping Youth to reach their best potential!

      Cons

      Long Hours and no financial compensation for Lt's and Captains

      Georgia Department of Juvenile Justice2019-03-29
    • "Training"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Trainer 

      I have been working at Georgia Department of Juvenile Justice full-time

      Pros

      Invested in well trained staff

      Cons

      Be prepared for significant Travel

      Georgia Department of Juvenile Justice2019-03-11
    • "Ok place to work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - SERT JCO2 in Atlanta, GA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Georgia Department of Juvenile Justice full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      Great opportunity to build your resume in law enforcement

      Cons

      The cons are not really cons just depends on the individual. If I had to list one I’ll say long working hours for the officers

      Advice to Management

      Treat everyone like you would like to be treated

      Georgia Department of Juvenile Justice2019-01-18
    • "Legal Secretary"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Legal Secretary in Lithonia, GA
      Recommends
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Georgia Department of Juvenile Justice part-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      Great exposure to a sub culture that not many people know exists. I learned a great deal working with the legal team.

      Cons

      Desiring to do more but being limited by bureaucracy.

      Georgia Department of Juvenile Justice2018-12-08
    • "JPPS II"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at Georgia Department of Juvenile Justice full-time

      Pros

      Helping children is meaning work

      Cons

      Low pay, safety is a concern, no room for growtg

      Georgia Department of Juvenile Justice2018-11-29
    • "Recreation Supervisor"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Recreation Supervisor in Dawson, GA

      I have been working at Georgia Department of Juvenile Justice full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      Good health benefits and 401k

      Cons

      Stress of kids and lack of teamwork sometimes

      Advice to Management

      Teamwork will make your day a good day

      Georgia Department of Juvenile Justice2018-11-11
    • "JCO BULL"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - JCO I in Gainesville, GA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Georgia Department of Juvenile Justice full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Easy work, most employees are courteous

      Cons

      Was hired for 'day job' juvenile correctional officer and now spends every night dusting, mopping, wiping tables and windows, vacuuming, cleaning restrooms and holding cells, picking up trash, taking out and dumping heavy bags of trash, sweeping, etc. Don't waste your time unless you are an attractive young woman with years of justice dpt experience. Not one word mentioned about cleaning in the fancy job description but...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Dont hire candidates and then dump them on night shift as a janitor, I could go work for a damn cleaning company if I wanted to spend nights cleaning dirty buildings that badly.

      Georgia Department of Juvenile Justice2018-10-31
    • "Jco"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Positive Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Georgia Department of Juvenile Justice full-time

      Pros

      As much overtime as you want.

      Cons

      Always having to stay over. Healthcare for family expensive

      Georgia Department of Juvenile Justice2018-10-10
    Found 76 reviews