Georgia Division of Family and Children Services Reviews | Glassdoor

Georgia Division of Family and Children Services Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 89 reviews

2.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
33%
Recommend to a Friend
39%
Approve of CEO
Georgia Division of Family and Children Services CEO Virginia S Pryor
Virginia S Pryor
12 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good benefits, day hours, holidays off(in 5 reviews)

  • "You were provided the opportunity to meet new people continuously, with the hopes of making a difference in someone's lives(in 4 reviews)

Cons
  • "Low pay and not a whole lot of opportunity for admin support to train or move up(in 12 reviews)

  • "High caseloads, long hours, and complaints from the public(in 10 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Family Service Specialist for NJ Division of Child Protection and Permanency"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Family Service Specialist in Washington, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Georgia Division of Family and Children Services full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    The pay, and the benefits. Lots of paid time off, and great insurance. Working with families, and seeing them make positive changes.

    Cons

    Seeing the abused children, and working with the abusers. The frustration of working with people that are not able to make the positive changes.

    Advice to Management

    spread the workload more evenly.

    Georgia Division of Family and Children Services2018-10-20
  2. "Case Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Social Worker in Decatur, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Georgia Division of Family and Children Services full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Helping Keep Children Safe

    Cons

    Being in-call, case loads are too high, not enough staff

    Advice to Management

    Keep staff on board....

    Georgia Division of Family and Children Services2019-03-11
  3. "Good Benefits, just overworked"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Social Services Administrator 

    I worked at Georgia Division of Family and Children Services full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    Excellent benefits package Flexible with time off needed

    Cons

    overworked, lots of hours during the week the pay does not match the expectations

    Georgia Division of Family and Children Services2019-01-24
  4. "All Work-No Personal Life"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Georgia Division of Family and Children Services full-time

    Pros

    It’s a check. Full time benefits

    Cons

    Everything! No work life balance Management disfunctional Understaffed Dinosaur technology Poor salary Your life will belong to this job Case managers are treated like slaves

    Advice to Management

    Get new management Hire more people

    Georgia Division of Family and Children Services2019-01-14
  5. "Case Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Georgia Division of Family and Children Services full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    I was fortunate to have a great relationship with my team which made the job more bearable and they helped me out a lot

    Cons

    No support from management, overwhelming, not enough workers, long hours

    Advice to Management

    Support your employees

    Georgia Division of Family and Children Services2018-11-27
  6. "dept of fam & children services"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Georgia Division of Family and Children Services full-time

      Pros

      Working for the state has many benefits including time off for holidays to spend with family

      Cons

      Very little room for growth - people in higher up positions stay until they retire

      Georgia Division of Family and Children Services2018-11-24
    • "Great Experience!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Social Services Case Manager 
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Georgia Division of Family and Children Services full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      Experience Flexibility Learn a lot

      Cons

      Pay Long hours Short staff On-call Office politics

      Advice to Management

      No comment.

      Georgia Division of Family and Children Services2018-11-17
    • "Ess"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - ESS1 in North Decatur, GA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Georgia Division of Family and Children Services full-time for more than 4 years

      Pros

      Monday through Friday. Off all holidays and weekends

      Cons

      Underpaid, under staffed, everyone is busy paying attention to what you have materialism

      Georgia Division of Family and Children Services2018-12-18
    • "Stay away"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at Georgia Division of Family and Children Services full-time

      Pros

      None none none none none

      Cons

      Everything from management to the clients and the system

      Georgia Division of Family and Children Services2018-12-09
    • "Great Team, Stressful Job"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Administrative Assistant 

      I worked at Georgia Division of Family and Children Services full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      I absolutely loved my team, and we worked very well together. My supervisor was very supportive of my personal and professional growth and offered many opportunities to expand my skills. Great benefits and flexible with time off.

      Cons

      It is a very stressful environment due to the nature of the agency. It is also stressful when funding is low and they can't hire the staff they desperately need. Low pay and not a whole lot of opportunity for admin support to train or move up.

      Advice to Management

      Don't forget to support your admin team!

      Georgia Division of Family and Children Services2018-10-29
    Found 89 reviews