Georgia Gwinnett College Reviews | Glassdoor

Georgia Gwinnett College Reviews

Updated Aug 27, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 72 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
69%
Recommend to a Friend
58%
Approve of CEO
Georgia Gwinnett College CEO Stanley C. “Stas” Preczewski (no image)
Stanley C. “Stas” Preczewski
27 Ratings
Pros
  • "Overall a good job to have as a GGC Student pursuing a Bachelor's in IT, or any tech related field(in 4 reviews)

  • "Work-environment is really fun as everyone behaves friendly with you, regardless of your experience and expertise(in 3 reviews)

Cons
  • "Co-workers hired are not exactly filtered out, mostly lazy (not talking about the full-time staff)(in 4 reviews)

  • "Because being a student at GGC means you pay some of the lowest tuition, employees are not paid as well(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great Job as a Student"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Frontline Helpdesk in Lawrenceville, GA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Georgia Gwinnett College part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Kind and knowledgeable bosses, on campus work, good experience. Overall a good job to have as a GGC Student pursuing a Bachelor's in IT, or any tech related field.

    Cons

    Maximum of 20 hours a week. No real way to move up within the company

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work

    Georgia Gwinnett College2019-06-13
  2. "Helpdesk"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Help Desk Technician in Lawrenceville, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Georgia Gwinnett College part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    you will gain experience

    Cons

    nothing to say here. nothing too bad

    Advice to Management

    N/A

    Georgia Gwinnett College2019-08-28
  3. "Could do better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Project Coordinator 
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Georgia Gwinnett College full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Staff truly cares about students.

    Cons

    Low pay and rampant nepotism.

    Georgia Gwinnett College2019-08-09
  4. Helpful (1)

    "HR Ducks but otherwise, not terrible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Student Assistant in Lawrenceville, GA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Georgia Gwinnett College part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The people are really nice and genuinely care Most want to see you succeed Good work environment

    Cons

    Pay isn't great; most are underpaid Opportunity for advancement is basically reserved for Dean's,presidents or part- full time transition.

    Advice to Management

    Pay your workers more. Give more incentives for good work. People who barely care, and people who throw their heart and soul in get paid and rewarded the same.

    Georgia Gwinnett College2019-04-04
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Beware they myriad of scams, lies and unfair treatment of employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous in Lawrenceville, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Georgia Gwinnett College full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The professors, program offerings, flexibility and affordability

    Cons

    Leadership, Discrimination, Salary, Nepotism There is so much to say about my experiences and my colleagues perspectives that there isn't enough space to articulate it all. I will start with this. Positions have been created for those who don't have experience but know people at the college and may have a spouse that work here. These folks are given carte blanche when different standards are expected of others.... Need I say more? Discrimination- I have heard and learned that the treatment of minorities is different in the South. While discrimination is wide spread, this institution takes the cake. I know Black folk that work here with Master's that hold administrative positions and are well qualified for other opportunities. However, if you "drink the koolaid" as they say, you may obtain a position. But at what cost? Ethics, values, and the mission that are stated on marketing materials are not shared and embraced by the leadership team. GGC is corrupt. Salary-they do not give raises. Leadership are the only folks eligible for raises. Six figure salaries for the executive/leadership team, but other employees in many cases are underemployed. An alumni told me that her experience as a student was more positive than her experience working here and it's concerning because she hoped her alma mater stood above the fray. The reputation of the culture here is not good. Look at the surveys. You will see that what little I'm sharing here is felt by many. During my first year 8 people quit in my department. HR does not do anything to support employees concerns, even when evidence based. And if you share any negative experiences with HR you will be black balled.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Resign. Many of you don't have your heart in the right place and it is to the detriment of the institution and the students. With this being a newer institution, it can not afford scandal and survive like other institutions. Think long and hard about the choices you make and how you treat others; most employees are aware of the corruption and the political games that are being played by the leadership.

    Georgia Gwinnett College2019-03-31
  6. "Great start for students"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Student Engagemen Specialist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Georgia Gwinnett College part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The Office of Student Involvement is a great place for student workers to begin building their resume and develop and leaders.

    Cons

    No serious cons to address.

    Advice to Management

    Keep the culture and personal development initiates strong!

    Georgia Gwinnett College2018-12-13
  7. "Admissions Counselor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Georgia Gwinnett College full-time

    Pros

    Loved the people I worked with, fairly easy job with opportunities to travel

    Cons

    Not many opportunities for growth with this job

    Georgia Gwinnett College2018-11-26
  8. "Warehouse Service Coordinator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Gwinnett Mall Corners Post Office, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Georgia Gwinnett College full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    State Employee with great benefits.

    Cons

    The administration dosen't really care or stand behind their employees as they should their only concern is making money.

    Georgia Gwinnett College2018-09-05
  9. "Undergrad Science / IT & Digital Media"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Undergrad Science/IT & Digital Media in Lawrenceville, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Georgia Gwinnett College full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Improve knowledge and understanding of IT and Digital Media.

    Cons

    Burgeoning school, heavy traffic with parking.

    Advice to Management

    Keep an open mind.

    Georgia Gwinnett College2018-08-14
  10. "Awesome place to attend school and work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Resident Assistant in Lawrenceville, GA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Georgia Gwinnett College part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fosters self-growth and development within the workplace community

    Cons

    Slow-paced at serving the needs of employees and students alike

    Georgia Gwinnett College2018-08-12
Found 72 reviews