Georgia-Pacific Reviews

Updated May 27, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.5
63%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
Georgia-Pacific President & CEO Christian Fischer
Christian Fischer
149 Ratings
Pros
  • "good pay good benefits good people(in 61 reviews)

  • "Good people striving to do their best(in 54 reviews)

Cons
  • "Long hours a lot of days to work(in 38 reviews)

  • "Upper management doesn’t care if they run you into the ground with mandatory overtime(in 38 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "Great place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Process Engineer in Belk, AL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Georgia-Pacific full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The people are amazing and the job is great.

    Cons

    There is a long commute the company is great though.

    Georgia-Pacific2020-02-27

    Georgia-Pacific Response

    March 9, 2020Communications Coordinator

    Hello! Thank you for taking the time to review us. I’m glad to hear you’ve enjoyed working at our Fayette lumber mill so much! – Rachel, GP Corporate Communications

  2. "Work Experience"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Payroll Specialist in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Georgia-Pacific full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    A lot of lunches and breakfast for the staff

    Cons

    Work Long hours, expecting beyond capable to perform job duties

    Continue reading
    Georgia-Pacific2020-01-10

    Georgia-Pacific Response

    March 9, 2020Communications Coordinator

    Hi there – thank you for leaving us a review! I’m glad to hear that your overall experience working with us is positive. However, I will pass along your concerns to appropriate leadership teams for additional review. At GP, we always want to foster a work environment that empowers our employees. – Rachel, GP Corporate Communications

  3. "Working for Georgia Pacific"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineer in Manhattan, KS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Georgia-Pacific full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good salary and advancement opportunities.

    Cons

    Benefits are okay but not as competitive as I was used to.

    Georgia-Pacific2020-05-27
  4. "Not what it used to be"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer in Palatka, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Georgia-Pacific full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Big company. Guaranteed work. Tons of projects and things to get involved in. Great for young engineers eager to learn or as a stepping stone.

    Cons

    Poor leadership. Constant Corporate meddling. Too many "fluff", outrageously expensive projects that don't fix anything. Counting pennies on things that actually matter. MBM culture is preached but hardly practiced.

    Georgia-Pacific2020-05-23
  5. "Great Work-Life Balance!"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Georgia-Pacific full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Everyone understands that folks are balancing work / life, so rarely do I see individuals in Atlanta working over 50 hours per week (unless they want to).

    Cons

    People move roles internally often (which can often be considered a Pro), but each individual brings different experience & comparative advantages. This can be difficult when the role isn't clearly defined.

    Georgia-Pacific2020-05-08
  6. "Great company"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Georgia-Pacific full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    GP has a great culture where you can focus on personal transformation in your career. After three years at GP, I applied for a new role in the company that was a big stretch in terms of experience. I was able to move into this position and was given time to learn/be mentored. I am proud to work for this company.

    Cons

    The company is built on MBM - a mindset/culture that is usually helpful and based on economic principles of a free-market society. However, there are some components of MBM that can drag out simple processes and destroy value. The ties to Koch's political presence are difficult to manage in my personal life.

    Georgia-Pacific2020-04-29

    Georgia-Pacific Response

    May 4, 2020Branding & Marketing Talent Acquisition Specialist

    Hi, this is Molly from Talent Solutions and I wanted to say thank you for your hard work and taking the time to share with us your feedback and thoughts. Our MBM culture does allow for an environment where individuals are able to stretch in their professional abilities and grow into positions that are sometimes traditionally outside of their career paths, and I am happy to read of your experience around this. We are always looking for ways to improve and you bring up a good point that sometimes components can be mis-used or mis-directed causing a delay longer than necessary. I would encourage you to appropriately challenge in those situations to determine the best way to create value and if you have questions on it, to reach out to our MBM team to discuss more. Thank you again!

  7. Helpful (1)

    "Great culture"

    4.0
    Former Employee - Vice President Marketing in Atlanta, GA

    I worked at Georgia-Pacific full-time

    Pros

    Humble, respectful people that work to make you better

    Cons

    Risk adverse, slow to change, started to get political vs. value driven in last year

    Georgia-Pacific2020-04-22
  8. "My overall experience is amazing"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Line Tender in Emporia, VA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Georgia-Pacific full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great Pay, Benefits, easy advancement

    Cons

    4 shifts, employees last to know anything

    Continue reading
    Georgia-Pacific2020-04-21

    Georgia-Pacific Response

    April 23, 2020Branding & Marketing Talent Acquisition Specialist

    Thank you for all of your work and taking the time to leave us a review and share your feedback. I am happy to read that you are enjoying the work and benefits while working at our Emporia Plywood facility. We appreciate feedback on opportunities to improve and communication throughout the organization is key to keep employees connected and up to date on changes/information. Please know that I am passing this on to the local leadership team for awareness and thank you again. -Molly from Talent Solutions

  9. "It was a job."

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Laboratory Technician in Neenah, WI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Georgia-Pacific full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Easy to move up, if you are favored by management. Plenty of free product

    Cons

    Market-based Management approach sounds great, but is a way to hold back raises.

    Georgia-Pacific2020-05-04

    Georgia-Pacific Response

    May 11, 2020Branding & Marketing Talent Acquisition Specialist

    Hello, thank you for taking the time to write us a review and share your feedback. Market-based Management is designed to help not only our organization but our employees to succeed in their careers and professional goals. I am sorry to read that you felt it held you back in any way and I want you to know that I am sharing this with the appropriate leadership team as feedback moving forward. Thank you again- Molly from Talent Solutions

  10. "Average Leadership Philosophy, Excellent People"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Maintenance Supervisor in Neenah, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Georgia-Pacific full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good to very Good people to work with

    Cons

    The leadership/compensation philosophy is a turn off.

    Continue reading
    Georgia-Pacific2020-04-21
Found 754 reviews