Georgia State Board of Pardons and Paroles Reviews | Glassdoor

Georgia State Board of Pardons and Paroles Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 10 reviews

2.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
14%
Recommend to a Friend
0%
Approve of CEO
L. Gale Buckner
2 Ratings
  1. "Team member"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Georgia State Board of Pardons and Paroles full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Good benefits and sick/annual leave, work from home opportunities

    Cons

    Lack of upward mobility, favoritism, salary is garbage

    Georgia State Board of Pardons and Paroles2018-09-18
  2. "Provides stability, but lacks mobility"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Georgia State Board of Pardons and Paroles full-time

    Pros

    State Benefits, Conference Opportunities, Colleagues

    Cons

    Working for the State, Low potential for growth

    Georgia State Board of Pardons and Paroles2018-08-14
  3. "Truthfully The Parole Board"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Georgia (GA) in Atlanta, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Georgia State Board of Pardons and Paroles full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    Benefits, middle range pay, full-time as long as you do as you're told you can retire from the State Board of Pardons & Parole.

    Cons

    No room for advancement. Don't make any mistakes not one slip up what so ever. Management is arrogant, prideful, not coordinated, self-righteous, MAJOR Nepotism from the top to the bottom along with many other words.

    Advice to Management

    Serious Nepotism, I don't recommend this company to my family nor my friends, not even someone I would consider an enemy.

    Georgia State Board of Pardons and Paroles2018-03-07
  4. "CLERICAL"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Insurance Agent in Dallas, GA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Georgia State Board of Pardons and Paroles full-time for more than 20 years

      Pros

      Interesting work, opportunity to see how the legal system works.

      Cons

      Typical government workplace -politics abound.

      Advice to Management

      I hope they are taking full advantage of the option of paperless files.

      Georgia State Board of Pardons and Paroles2017-07-17
    • "Pathetic existence"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Specialized Parole Officer in Atlanta, GA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Georgia State Board of Pardons and Paroles full-time for more than 6 years

      Pros

      Short of committing a crime, it's impossible to get fired. And plenty of vacation time available.

      Cons

      Terrible pay and politics are rampant. I left on good terms but will NEVER go back to govt work. Promotions are all about who you know and who you sleep with/have dirt on. You can be the laziest POS or hardest worker and it makes zero difference. Very demoralizing scenario if you're motivated.

      Advice to Management

      No use.... it's something that'll never change

      Georgia State Board of Pardons and Paroles2017-07-27
    • "A Family Going thru things."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Positive Outlook

      I have been working at Georgia State Board of Pardons and Paroles full-time for more than 6 years

      Pros

      In my dept, we are assigned work, and unless told, its just up to you to finish it in a timely manor. I enjoy the flexibility, if your sick, or a family member is sick.

      Cons

      They dont always tell you whats going on. You may get this and that, and have to piece it together with coworkers, Going forward with a project, but not fixing the current issues.

      Advice to Management

      Get to know your teams, Find there strengths, and weaknesses. Promote from within.

      Georgia State Board of Pardons and Paroles2015-05-06
    • "No room for growth"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Parole Officer II 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Georgia State Board of Pardons and Paroles full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      Guaranteed income, ,make your own schedule, meeting new people, looks good on your resume, and field experience.

      Cons

      No yearly increase in salary, no room for too many promotions, upcoming merger isn't positive, no bonuses, and strick

      Advice to Management

      No comment

      Georgia State Board of Pardons and Paroles2015-03-22
    • "Misable"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Parole Investigator in Atlanta, GA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at Georgia State Board of Pardons and Paroles full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      The plus of teleworking is a major plus working for this agency.

      Cons

      The pay sucks...too much work for so little pay.

      Georgia State Board of Pardons and Paroles2014-05-08
    • Helpful (1)

      "Terrible pay causes SEVERE burnout."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Georgia State Board of Pardons and Paroles

      Pros

      Minimal stress once you've become accustomed to the daily routine

      Cons

      NO raises, Low salaries, No bonuses, No incentive to do your job well. After years of service, I have come to realize that no matter how hard you work, it doesn't matter at all. Very few opportunities for promotion, and those promoted are not promoted based on merit, but instead, promoted based on who they know. I see POs that work their butts off, and other POs that could care less about their job and put in abt 15...

      Show More
      Georgia State Board of Pardons and Paroles2014-02-05
    • "a good state job."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Georgia State Board of Pardons and Paroles full-time for more than 6 years

      Pros

      Flexible scheduling( in my dept).

      Cons

      In My dept, there is no position above mine but management. Not even another dept to goto. They are not paying the same wage as corp, but give managers much more.

      Advice to Management

      find ways to use all the skills your people have. Keep them engaged in what is going on. Help them better themselves.

      Georgia State Board of Pardons and Paroles2013-07-16
    Found 10 reviews