Georgia State Government Reviews | Glassdoor

Georgia State Government Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 135 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
63%
Recommend to a Friend
80%
Approve of CEO
Georgia State Government CEO Calvin Rhodes
Calvin Rhodes
7 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Employment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Supported Employment Specialist in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Georgia State Government full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Working with my co workers. Flexibility in schedule, lots of training for your job and about the companies mission.

    Cons

    The pay salaries arent good. I have a masters and i make less than a person who has an assiciate degree, but i love working with clients.

    Georgia State Government2018-09-24
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Not much room for growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Business Analyst II in Atlanta, GA

    I have been working at Georgia State Government full-time for more than 19 years

    Pros

    The benefits are really good and affordable. I like that you accrue your time off.

    Cons

    It's hard to move up. You either have to know someone or wait for a person to retire or pass away to get a promotional opportunity. The pay is below market average.

    Georgia State Government2019-03-19
  3. "Great benefits and pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager 

    I have been working at Georgia State Government full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    High growth potential, loyalty to employee

    Cons

    Little room for creativity, subject to changes depending on who is in office

    Georgia State Government2019-02-22
  4. "Financial Services Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Georgia State Government

      Pros

      I loved working with governmental budgets and financial reporting. All of my last 15+ years while employed, I received “exceeds expectations “.

      Cons

      Lack of top management support in front of subordinates.

      Advice to Management

      Take care of your employees, especially department managers. Do not allow fear of possible lawsuits affect your support of that staff. Stand behind your staff when they are right and show their staff where your loyalties lie.

      Georgia State Government2018-11-26
    • "MES"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Mes in Atlanta, GA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at Georgia State Government full-time for more than 8 years

      Pros

      Holidays and weekends, it is a job. Get the experience than get out, then go to the private sector, they will pay you more for doing the minimum of what you do here.

      Cons

      Years with the same pay......we cant even get a living wage increase .....belive me we asked and was told no....Very hostile work environment, lack of leadership, low pay. It is a shame that you can have perfect credit, but your pay is so low you would not be able afford an apt or buy a home if you only have 1 income in your household. This job should be paying at least $35,000 min. Belive me you will make more money...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      More internal investigations need to be done on misconduct with MES leadership, some should be fired or in jail. No case manager should be making under $30,000. Explain how we are supposed to be a case manager for 10 years and still make under $30,000. And tell us you dont have the budget, but create multiple job titles bringing in 6 figures.

      Georgia State Government2018-11-29
    • Helpful (1)

      "Economic Support Specialist"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Georgia State Government

      Pros

      Time off, I’m referring to the holidays

      Cons

      They have unreasonable expectations for the amount of work given and timeframe they require to complete

      Georgia State Government2018-10-04
    • "Great experience!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Intern in Washington, DC
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Georgia State Government (Less than a year)

      Pros

      My time spent interning at the Georgia State Capitol was absolutely wonderful! To witness state government first-hand was so rewarding and taught me so much!

      Cons

      My commute from outside of Atlanta was brutal, but that's just Atlanta traffic!

      Advice to Management

      Keep up the great work!

      Georgia State Government2018-09-17
    • "child support agent"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I have been working at Georgia State Government full-time

        Pros

        great benefits customer friendly environment

        Cons

        Over worked times however great salary

        Georgia State Government2018-09-11
      • "Case Manager"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Case Manager 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I have been working at Georgia State Government full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Provides a good work life balance.

        Cons

        Limited opportunities for advancement. Promotions are not based on merit. No raises year after year. Management doesn’t care and provides little to no support. Compensation and pay is far below the job demands. Turn over rates are high because of lack of sufficient pay, advancement opportunities and poor management.

        Advice to Management

        Appreciate your employees. Provide opportunities for promotions based on merit. Provide a livable, competitive wage with regular increases.

        Georgia State Government2018-08-07
      • "Easy to work with"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I have been working at Georgia State Government full-time

        Pros

        Easy to work environment. Very friendly and helpful co workers around

        Cons

        The only cons is about the commute if you leave up north

        Georgia State Government2018-06-05
      Found 135 reviews