KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Georgia State University

Is this your company?

Georgia State University

Add a Review

Georgia State University Reviews

Updated Aug 7, 2022

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 1,705 of over 2K reviews
4.0
76% Recommend to a Friend
Georgia State University President Mark P. Becker
69% Approve of CEO

Found 1,705 of over 2K reviews

4.0
76%
Recommend to a Friend
69%
Approve of CEO
Georgia State University President Mark P. Becker
Mark P. Becker
489 Ratings

The latest conversations about Teachers

Join the conversation on

Teachers

1y

a 

West Virginia Elementary School Teacher

Who is taking the COVID-19 Shot? Do you think all teachers should?

2,927

972 Comments

Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "They have really great benefits(in 85 reviews)
  • "Great People and students that are enthusiastic about learning.(in 69 reviews)
  • "Flexible hours and laid back environment with minimal supervision(in 42 reviews)
  • "Friendly staffs and contributed environment(in 38 reviews)
  • "Great work environment.(in 36 reviews)
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Georgia State University and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    GRA

    Aug 7, 2022 - Graduate Research Assistant in Atlanta, GA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Excellent learning experience. Great resources.

    Cons

    Administrative difficulties are not uncommon.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Fantastic Environment

    Jul 30, 2022 - Student Leader in Decatur, GA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Friendly staff, flexible hours, and competent management.

    Cons

    Low Pay, too much work for the pay, and boring.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Overall positive experience

    Jul 27, 2022 - Program Coordinator 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    wonderful coworkers, university benefits, flexibility

    Cons

    bureaucracy, parking fees, slowness caused by the size of the university

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Good diversity but difficult to advance in career

    Jul 25, 2022 - Senior IT Support Specialist Lead 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Diverse population of students, staff and faculty An honorable mission to serve less privileged student body

    Cons

    lower pay than industry comps, difficult to receive raises in compensation due to being a state entity, generally have to move out to move up

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Great place to pursue MS at low financial commitment

    Jul 24, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    If you get a GRA, you gell full tuition waiver

    Cons

    Education is not rigorous or comprehensive

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Athletics is fun but involve long hours

    Jul 22, 2022 - Graduate Assistant 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Involved in sports Paid to travel to games/NCAA tournaments

    Cons

    Long hours (60+ a week in season)

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 4.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Feedback

    Jul 18, 2022 - Graduate Teaching Assistant 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Flexible Good for international student Experience to add on resume for a new career

    Cons

    Decent stipend Students not attending on some occasion

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Good place to work

    Jul 15, 2022 - Graduate Assistant 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Diverse workplace. Friendly and respectful people

    Cons

    Traffic can get bad downtown.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Felt valued and professionally developed at AYSPS

    Jul 15, 2022 - Graduate Research Assistant 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I started as a graduate assistant at AYSPS, helping with a training program offered by the department. My supervisor quit after my first year there, and I absorbed their duties. My new supervisor, a department director, recognized my skillset and work ethic along with these new responsibilities and subsequently increased my stipend accordingly. This new supervisor developed me professionally in various ways, and let me have agency in my role. As I approached graduation, my supervisor advocated for me multiple times to keep me on as a temporary staff member with a salary high enough to compete with other offers. While I only stayed in my role at the University for a handful of months after graduation, it was a great experience where I felt like a valued and respected member of the team.

    Cons

    The University HR department has experienced a lot of turnover since I started, and it is centralized in a way that does not always communicate well with all schools on campus. There were multiple times where our HR liaison did not get the paperwork completed in time or correctly in order for my pay to come through on time. Luckily, my partner and I could get by during these times, but it was extremely stressful to not know how long it would be before my paycheck would come through.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Student

    Jul 14, 2022 - Student Assistant in Atlanta, GA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Student pay , flexible schedule,

    Cons

    No cons really good job

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 1,705 Reviews
</>Embed

Georgia State University Reviews FAQs

Georgia State University has an overall rating of 4.0 out of 5, based on over 1,885 reviews left anonymously by employees. 76% of employees would recommend working at Georgia State University to a friend and 57% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has decreased by -1% over the last 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, Georgia State University employees rate their compensation and benefits as 3.2 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at Georgia State University. This rating has decreased by -1% over the last 12 months.

76% of Georgia State University employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated Georgia State University 3.7 out of 5 for work life balance, 3.9 for culture and values and 3.6 for career opportunities.

Popular Careers with Georgia State University Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Georgia State University? Share Your Experiences

or

Georgia State University Photos

+ Add Photo
Georgia State University photo of: Centennial Hall Exterior
Georgia State University photo of: Welcome to the Panther Family
Georgia State University photo of: Perimeter College Graduation 2016
Georgia State University photo of: “This is not only a historic day for Georgia State University and Georgia Perimeter College, it is also an important day for the students of Georgia,” Becker said.
Georgia State University photo of: Atlanta Campus
Georgia State University photo of: library
Georgia State University photo of: Celebrating 100 years!
See All Photos

Glassdoor has 1,885 Georgia State University reviews submitted anonymously by Georgia State University employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if Georgia State University is right for you.