Cover image for Georgian Court University
Logo

Georgian Court University

Is this your company?

Georgian Court University

Add a Review

Georgian Court University Reviews

Updated Dec 19, 2022

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 34 of over 37 reviews
2.9
42% Recommend to a Friend
18% Approve of CEO

Found 33 of over 37 reviews

2.9
42%
Recommend to a Friend
18%
Approve of CEO
Georgian Court University President Sister Rosemary E. Jeffries (no image)
Sister Rosemary E. Jeffries
14 Ratings

The latest conversations about Teachers

Join the conversation on

Teachers

1y

a 

West Virginia Elementary School Teacher

Who is taking the COVID-19 Shot? Do you think all teachers should?

2,950

984 Comments

Teachers

215.9K Members 

Ask candid career questions

-1 - https://www.fishbowlapp.com/bowl/teachers/posts?cf=gd&utm_medium=Glassdoor&utm_source=glassdoor.com&utm_campaign=Reviews&utm_content=Industry-content-prominent-Reviews&utm_term=Georgian Court University~29198
Join the conversation on

Got a burning question about Georgian Court University? Just ask!

On Fishbowl, you can share insights and advice anonymously with Georgian Court University employees and get real answers from people on the inside.

What's Fishbowl
Ask a Question

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "Campus is beautiful.(in 4 reviews)
Cons
  • "Low Pay, No room to advance(in 5 reviews)
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
  1. 5.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Student Mentor

    Aug 12, 2022 - Student Mentor 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Easy, flexible, was able to webcam other students I mentored for safety measures in not getting Covid.

    Cons

    There really were none. Highly recommend.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    The education sector is going through critical times due to low enrolling numbers.

    Dec 19, 2022 - Staff Accountant 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Offers hybrid work; one day in the office and remote work the rest. Plenty of days off. Able to balance life and work.

    Cons

    Salary raises have been frozen, high employee turnover rate, a lack of proper training, and added responsibilities to fill in for vacant posts.

    1 person found this review helpful
  3. Join the Georgian Court University team
    See Our Latest Jobs
  4. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 8 years

    Demoralizing

    Oct 21, 2022 - Professor 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Small classes; low student faculty ratio. Beautiful historic campus.

    Cons

    Overworked, under-appreciated, underpaid faculty. As faculty members leave they are not replaced, making the workload for those who remain intolerable. Faculty morale is low, coupled by fear of school going under. (Sale of property and buildings has made this feeling worse.) Shared governance is a myth. School depends on athletics to populate dorms and prop up student numbers. Over time has become a commuter school with gradually lowering admission requirements.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  5. 3.0
    Current Employee

    nice place to work,

    Oct 20, 2022 - Assistant Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    4 days a week work schedule

    Cons

    low pay turnover is high enrollment is down

    1 person found this review helpful
  6. 1.0
    Former Employee

    Training is Not Provided Here

    May 31, 2022 - Education Specialist 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The opportunity to work with very good and motivated students as they progress through their skills and goals. Students are probably the best part of the job! Campus is probably the safest and most beautiful. Definitely check out Macauley Chapel if you have the chance. Unlimited ice cream at the cafeteria.

    Cons

    When I got on site the position was nothing like it was advertised to me. All the time that I was at the position, it seemed like my predecessor was waiting in the shadows. Was not given any training or access to the necessary portals and departments that I needed. I wasn't paranoid either. Was reamed out by my Dean for asking for these necessary clearances. My predecessor deleted everything off the computer and took the USB drive with her, so I could not perform my position even if I wanted to. Noticed that my predecessor still had access to various functions to my position. Predecessor blocked me from my ability to interface with other institutions and departments here on campus! Was told by the Dean "I don't train people."

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Associate Professor

    Aug 4, 2022 - Associate Professor in Lakewood, NJ
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Small student to faculty ratio. Most classes are under 20 students.

    Cons

    The pay seems lower than other universities.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Gcu

    Jun 3, 2022 - Associate Professor 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    People are very good to each other.

    Cons

    Increase salaries to keep good people

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Awesome school

    Jan 24, 2022 - Assistant Coach in Lakewood, NJ
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great place to work and

    Cons

    low pay and not great benefits

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 10 years

    Work for Love of the Students not Money

    May 5, 2021 - Professor in Lakewood, NJ
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Collegial faculty, generally well meaning and hard working students, lovely campus

    Cons

    Pay isn't great. Leadership often seems to lack vision. Good behavior isn't really rewarded and bad behavior is rarely addressed / punished

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  11. 2.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great Co-Workers, Terrible Pay

    Apr 14, 2021 - Administration Officer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    It’s a small school so the departments are small and gives you a chance to really get to know your co-workers and form bonds. It also gives you a chance to know students as more than just a number and work directly with them. The insurance is decent.

    Cons

    The pay is below the average financial aid counselor and with the cost of living in New Jersey, it needs to be improved. The building my department is housed in is overcrowded and no real rules have been in place during the pandemic. We have lost benefits and incentives that we don’t think we will be getting back. Our department is treated as a catch all and we are often blamed for things we have no control over. I mentioned that the insurance is decent, but there are a lot of downsides to it that too.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 33 Reviews
</>Embed

Georgian Court University Reviews FAQs

Georgian Court University has an overall rating of 2.9 out of 5, based on over 37 reviews left anonymously by employees. 42% of employees would recommend working at Georgian Court University to a friend and 10% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has decreased by -2% over the last 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, Georgian Court University employees rate their compensation and benefits as 2.0 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at Georgian Court University. This rating has decreased by -5% over the last 12 months.

42% of Georgian Court University employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated Georgian Court University 3.2 out of 5 for work life balance, 3.0 for culture and values and 2.4 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at Georgian Court University to be culture, coworkers, benefits and the cons to be career development, compensation.

Popular Careers with Georgian Court University Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Georgian Court University? Share Your Experiences

Georgian Court University logo
or

Reviews by Job Title

  • Associate Professor(2)
  • Professor(2)

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

Georgian Court University Job Seekers Also Viewed

Miller-Motte Technical College Logo
Miller-Motte Technical College

2.6

186 Reviews
Compare

Glassdoor has 37 Georgian Court University reviews submitted anonymously by Georgian Court University employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if Georgian Court University is right for you.