Gerber Ambulance Reviews | Glassdoor

Gerber Ambulance Reviews

Updated Apr 24, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 8 reviews

2.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
26%
Recommend to a Friend
40%
Approve of CEO
Robert Gerber
3 Ratings
  1. "It was the best"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Paramedic in Torrance, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Gerber Ambulance full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great people, great management and environment

    Cons

    Small company (filing out review to unlock features)

    Advice to Management

    N/a

    Gerber Ambulance2019-04-24
  2. "EMT-B"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - EMT-Basic in Torrance, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Gerber Ambulance

    Pros

    Alot of great staff especially the EMT's working out in the field. Learning about basic medical procedures to help stabilize patients.

    Cons

    Low Pay Mandatory Over-Time Poor Upper Management

    Advice to Management

    None- Company Closed

    Gerber Ambulance2017-01-10
  3. "Not pleasant."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Gerber Ambulance

    Pros

    Some of the coworkers I had were nice to work with. We bonded by talking about the poor management of the company. If I were you, I'd try to get hired at McCormick or AMR or anywhere but here that does 911 calls.

    Cons

    The poor management. HR is absolutely horrible. They didnt even go to college so I dont know what they are doing running a company. And unless you are dating someone high up, you wont get promoted.

    Advice to Management

    Hire better leaders.

    Gerber Ambulance2014-06-03
  4. "Horrible Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - EMT-basic Field Supervisor in Torrance, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Gerber Ambulance full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good amount of 911 experience, Easy shifts, good schedule for students,

    Cons

    management is horrible, no PTO, no perks, owner doesn't give Christmas gift,

    Advice to Management

    replace yourself

    Gerber Ambulance2014-05-12
  5. "Not worth it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - EMT-Basic in Torrance, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Gerber Ambulance full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great experience at night, easy to get the job.

    Cons

    It's High School all over again. Favoritism. Night shift workers doesn't get any praise for all the crazy calls they get. Daytime workers get all the downtime and rest they want. They eat and BBQ all day and sleep. Nightshift workers like me are losing motivation and compassion by the hour. You won't even like going to work anymore. "They" won't talk to you unless you're "cool" or a female.

    Advice to Management

    There's always +10 people inside dispatch and very few rigs out in the field. Get rid of the clowns and some supervisors.

    Gerber Ambulance2014-01-05
  6. "Unless you live in Torrance don't work here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - EMT-basic Field Supervisor in Torrance, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Gerber Ambulance full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Employees are great and mostly all get along with one another. We run 911 with Torrance fire which was a great experience and helped build my skills.

    Cons

    Worst company to work for. You do not get any vacation time, sick days, or holiday pay. Doesn't matter how long you're with the company you will never get a raise and the pay is horrible. Management treats employees with no respect. Instead of helping those in need they would rather just replace you. Also you sit in the ambulance the whole 12 hours of the day posting at Parks and malls waiting to get calls. When hired...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Fire everyone and start from the ground up. Not one person can functionally handle their job without someone else helping them. Business first, friendship after.

    Gerber Ambulance2013-07-23
  7. "Better Than Other Ambulance Companies I Have Worked For."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - EMT-basic Field Supervisor in Torrance, CA
    Recommends

    I worked at Gerber Ambulance

    Pros

    I have worked at a couple other companies and Gerber was the first to have an orientation process which they call "Boot Camp" and I think it helps a lot for people who are new to EMS. Also, the class gives you the continuing education hours your need to recert. They were also able to take care of my skills test. It is really easy to pick up overtime hours, which is how you make money in this field. Everyone knows that...

    Show More

    Cons

    If you have a question for hr, sometimes they are slow to respond or you don't hear anything back. But when that happens, you can always ask a supervisor or someone else to follow up. Also, the hiring process was a little drawn out. I had to jump through a lot of hoops to get the job and the recruiter was not clear about what I needed to do. In the end it was worth the effort.

    Advice to Management

    It would be nice to have more recognition for when we do a good job. Maybe an "employee of the month" would work.

    Gerber Ambulance2011-08-18
  8. "Loved the job, Hate the company."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - EMT-Basic CCEMT/FIELD SUPERVISOR in Torrance, CA
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Gerber Ambulance

    Pros

    Its definitely a valuable experience with Emergency services, and you are doing good work for the community. The fellow employees are all mostly plesant and middle management/ supervisor staff is usually all very supportive.

    Cons

    The management staff is somehow all related one way or another. Management is slow to respond to employee queries and requests- or flat out ignores them. Management will unilaterally change your schedule without prior agreement or proper notification. Pay is NOT good and sometimes during recruitment they mislead the newhires about the pay. Treatment of employees are not all equal- mandatory overtime is not mandatory...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Treating the employees with the notion that they are expendible does not promote healthy employee-employer relationships. Answer phone calls and emails from employees in a timely manner. Address mechanical issues in a timely manner.

    Gerber Ambulance2011-07-15
Found 8 reviews