Gersh Agency Reviews | Glassdoor

Gersh Agency Reviews

Updated Aug 15, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
66%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
Gersh Agency CEO Bob Gersh (no image)
Bob Gersh
14 Ratings
  1. "Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant in Beverly Hills, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Gersh Agency full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    +Top tier w/o the intensity of competing agencies +Definitely provide room for growth +Good assistant community +Will learn a lot

    Cons

    -Pay is miserable -Not as connected as other agencies

    Advice to Management

    pay your assistants more, they work hard!

    Gersh Agency2017-06-12
  2. "Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Gersh Agency full-time

    Pros

    -great people to work with

    Cons

    -low pay and occasional long hours

    Gersh Agency2017-05-18
  3. "Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
     

    I worked at Gersh Agency

    Pros

    Great place to be. Amazing people.

    Cons

    What's not to love about the entertainment industry

    Gersh Agency2017-05-04
  4. "One of the better agency's to work for."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Beverly Hills, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Gersh Agency full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Fair, understanding, get-the-job-done mentality, not too much BS for an agency.

    Cons

    It's the agency world, co-workers are crazy.

    Gersh Agency2017-02-24
  5. Helpful (2)

    "What a mess"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant in Beverly Hills, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Gersh Agency full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Most people that work there are pretty cool and nice

    Cons

    Management and HR are a mess, pay is awful, so much red tape, no perks

    Advice to Management

    Pay minimum wage at the very least, give a reasonable amount of work to assistants, change up HR

    Gersh Agency2017-02-27
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Great Place to Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
     
    Recommends

    I worked at Gersh Agency

    Pros

    Everyone was very welcoming and wanted to help me learn

    Cons

    Your have to speak up if you want to be given work to do

    Gersh Agency2016-11-30
  7. "Good place to learn"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Gersh Agency full-time

    Pros

    You will learn how to be a good assistant and gain exposure to different people in the entertainment industry. The assistants form a nice community with each other.

    Cons

    Hard to move up and get to the next level. The amount you learn highly depends on who you work for.

    Advice to Management

    More employee development and help assistants grow. Pay and benefits also need to be improved.

    Gersh Agency2016-10-12
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Good Place!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Talent Payment in Beverly Hills, CA
    Recommends

    I worked at Gersh Agency

    Pros

    Highly professional. Good place to work. Decent Salary in the accounting department.

    Cons

    They use PC's and I was used to working on Mac's at other agencies.

    Gersh Agency2016-05-10
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Fantastic place to work, great energy, lots of ambition"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Talent Assistant in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Gersh Agency full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great roundup of people here-- eager, ambitious, confident, outgoing. Makes every day seem exciting even if the assistant life can sometimes be mundane. The assistant position here is what you make of it-- you can get by doing the bare minimum, but you can also rise to the occasion. If you want to stand out, you can. Bob Gersh is also amazing and extremely friendly when he comes in.

    Cons

    Long hours and sometimes-moody bosses, but to be expected in this industry.

    Advice to Management

    Further cultivate the agent training program. It exists but could be strengthened, especially here in NYC.

    Gersh Agency2016-04-03
  10. Helpful (2)

    "By no means an industry leader...."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Gersh Agency full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Like any agency, some people are nicer than others and more fun to work with. That includes agents and assistants.

    Cons

    Gersh is not a leader in the industry. Their client roster is pretty weak. I always would joke with people that if it's a b-level tv actor, Gersh probably represents them. This leads to a culture of mediocrity. The office decor is tacky tacky tacky, it just looks so cheap. As any agency, the pay sucks for assistants.

    Advice to Management

    Work on fixing the coordination between the departments. People stay away or leave Gersh because they know it doesn't have the resources to propel them to superstardom.

    Gersh Agency2016-04-08
Found 31 reviews