Gestalt Community Schools Reviews | Glassdoor

Gestalt Community Schools Reviews

Updated Oct 17, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
51%
Recommend to a Friend
51%
Approve of CEO
Gestalt Community Schools CEO Derwin Sisnett (no image)
Derwin Sisnett
19 Ratings
  1. "Good Place to Work... Takes Time to Do It"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Elementary School Level 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Gestalt Community Schools full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Small district Good Teachers Very approachable leadership (school level and CMO level) Great partnerships among grade levels Best teacher assistants/ RTI specialist I've seen in a school

    Cons

    I would not call it a con but "Real Work" is required daily behaviorally and academically!

    Continue reading
    Gestalt Community Schools2019-03-20
  2. "Ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    ESL Teacher in Memphis, TN

    I have been working at Gestalt Community Schools

    Pros

    Bonus opportunities, helpful administrator and coaches

    Cons

    There needs to be better communication

    Continue reading
    Gestalt Community Schools2019-10-17
  3. "Good experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Gestalt Community Schools full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great workforce. teachers are willing to support each other.

    Cons

    Large class sizes. Support from admin can be inconsistent.

    Gestalt Community Schools2019-05-14
  4. "Ok School District, Still New"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Teacher, Kindergarten in Memphis, TN
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Gestalt Community Schools full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Easy environment to work for, because the school district is new school leaders are not as prepared to implement certain things. Less stress than a larger school district

    Cons

    Because this is a new school district, sometimes no one knows what they are doing and that can be frustrating. School leaders are almost afraid to take charge and actually run the school. Not an ideal place for new/first year teachers, I'm glad I have experience elsewhere first.

    Continue reading
    Gestalt Community Schools2019-03-18
  5. "Gestalt Community Schools - Full Time Teacher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Teacher in Memphis, TN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Gestalt Community Schools full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I love my school. It feels like a family when you walk through the doors. You are not an island at my school. Collaboration is the key to success. My administration listens and cares for scholars and families alike. Our CMO invites teachers to the table as think partners. The pay is very competitive. I love coming to work and seeing my scholars grow each and every day!

    Cons

    I don't think it is a con, but we work hard!

    Gestalt Community Schools2018-12-17
  6. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Gestalt Community Schools full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Gestalt is one of those places where you work with family. I truly feel like our team is here for the students and we work together to see all of our scholars succeed. CMO and School Leaders are open to feedback and very accessible. We are truly supported in our mission and goals.

    Cons

    There are high expectations and the demands are great, but it is all worth it when we see our scholars succeed.

    Gestalt Community Schools2018-12-18
  7. "Good goals but run by incompetent bureaucrats."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Teacher in Memphis, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Gestalt Community Schools full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Coworkers; push to develop as an educator

    Cons

    Incompetent leadership at network level; poor decision making by charter network; lack of effective communication from network and administration

    Continue reading
    Gestalt Community Schools2018-12-28
  8. "They care about the wrong things."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Gestalt Community Schools full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There are some decent, hardworking people working there who truly care about the kids.

    Cons

    The leadership cares more about keeping friends in good paying jobs than about the kids or the teachers. Teachers beware: they don't care about your skills or your safety. They want you to read from a script and agree with everything they tell you to do. Glassdoor still has Derwin listed as the CEO. He left 2 years ago. The new CEO is bad.

    Continue reading
    Gestalt Community Schools2018-05-08
  9. "Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Gestalt Community Schools full-time

    Pros

    Great principals, supportive co workers, great salary

    Cons

    Unorganized CMO, intimidating CMO staff, no work/life balance

    Gestalt Community Schools2018-03-04
  10. "Ok place to work if you don't have children"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Gestalt Community Schools full-time

    Pros

    High Pay Flexible days off Good place to work with co-workers

    Cons

    Long hours and poor organizational management

    Gestalt Community Schools2018-02-28

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 40 reviews