GetUWired Reviews | Glassdoor

GetUWired Reviews

Updated Mar 31, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
5.0
99%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
GetUWired CEO Melissa Allen
Melissa Allen
78 Ratings
Pros
  • "(in 18 reviews)

  • "Quarterly, GetUWired hosts team building events that celebrate the talents and accomplishments of everyone in the tribe(in 14 reviews)

Cons
  • "Pay is lower and maternity leave is not amazing (*small business) - but those benefits though(in 8 reviews)

  • "It is a small company, but where it may be hard to grow career wise, personal development and side projects are encouraged, I think(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great Culture, Great Company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at GetUWired full-time

    Pros

    Great culture, flexible scheduling options, dog friendly office, fast paced, and laid back!

    Cons

    The pay is lower than Atlanta area jobs, but the atmosphere and quality of life near the mountains more than makes up for that.

    GetUWired2020-03-11
  2. "An Amazing Place to Work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Client Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at GetUWired full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work from home options Casual work environment Relaxed Atmosphere Great Culture Good Work/Life Balance

    Cons

    Just like any small company, there aren't very many advancement opportunities.

    GetUWired2020-03-11
  3. Helpful (7)

    "93 5-star reviews in a 30-people company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at GetUWired full-time

    Pros

    Some incredible people with incredible talents and personalities working there.

    Cons

    Step 1: Ask all employees to review in Glassdoor. Step 2: Verify that everyone did it. Step 3: Make a calendar of which employee reviewed when. Step 4: Ask any and every new employee to do the same. Step 5: When the review anniversary comes, ask the employee to review again. Step 6: Monitor and verify that the employee reviewed. Step 7: repeat... That's how you get 93 5-star reviews in a 30-people company. Step 5 and 6 are crucial. Since they know it's your turn, and they WILL verify that you completed it, there is no anonymity. Therefore everyone gives glowing reviews.

    GetUWired2020-04-01
  4. Helpful (5)

    "The Great Deception"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Web Developer in Dahlonega, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at GetUWired full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I was able to work remotely. Most of my coworkers were great to work with.

    Cons

    GetUWired is a company that has created a "Great Deception" that is almost biblical. This company will convince new hires, who are often UNG graduates, that there are tons of opportunity and potential for growth at the company. When being hired, you will be forced into signing a non-compete. The non-compete is very broad and they are not afraid to use it to sue previous employees. As a web developer, when you're hired they'll tell you that you have the possibility of gaining a respectable competitive salary during your tenure. This is a lie and competitive salaries will never be given. You'll be started out with a salary of 28k and will be given a 6% raise for every year that you're there. You will only receive 3 sick days regardless of how many years your work there. Vacation days start at 5 with 5 more added each additional year with a cap of 15days. While working there you will not work in an agile work environment. Your growth will be limited by the use of marketing automation software that you're forced to work in. This marketing automation software can become your job completely and you'll be left in a situation in which you never even write code. You will not get the chance to use modern frameworks such as: React, Vue, or Angular. You'll have to work with one of the two condescending project managers that know nothing about development and they will expect you to create accurate time quotes for work/integrations that you've never done before. They will then criticize/reprimand you if the quotes are not accurate enough. During your time with the company, GetUWired's leadership team will attempt to captivate you with their "awesome" CULTure/brainwashing to make you believe that everything is amazing. This is believable for new hires as the culture is partially created due to the individuals themselves that work there. The culture is mainly comprised of random nerf gun fights that rarely happen and small company events that take place at places such as the CEO's very nice lake house. In addition, the fact that their core values spell "erect," somehow make the culture more "cool." The leadership team now gives plaques and small gifts on work anniversaries to entice people to stay. Looking more closely though and working there for any length of time will lead to the realization that the culture is a ploy by the leadership team to con employees into staying at the company. The leadership team will acknowledge that other companies can "probably"(definitely) pay more and that the leadership team is paying every person as much as they possibly can. Meanwhile the leadership team is buying new company vehicles, taking Fridays off, and going on all expense paid vacations on the company's tab. Sure you can go work somewhere else down the road and make more, but they'll say that those companies don't have the one thing that GetUWired has, the CULTure. The leadership team will preach that the employees make up this awesome tribe, but they don't care about the tribe. The employees work to feed the leadership team and the employees get the scraps. Culture will be used time and time again to sway individuals in their thoughts about the company because the leadership team wants employees to believe that the company is great and that they are not taking advantage of the employees that work there. The truth is, they actually are taking advantage of the employees. As an employee, the leadership team will treat you with great respect, tell you that you're an awesome part of their culture, and pretend like they care about you, but they truly don't. If you dislike anything about the company or even want to better the company in any way, they will say that you don't fit in with the company culture and that you don't align with the company’s core values. This is because the leadership team can't take any corrective criticism and will remove anyone that doesn't align with them. If the leadership team discovers that an employee does not align with them, they will find a way to remove them from the company without hesitation even if they've done nothing wrong. After employees leave the company, the leadership team will keep an eye on them as they look for the opportunity to use their non-compete against them. While the leadership team tries to convince employees that the culture is great and the company is succeeding, there are people being hired and fired/quitting. It is not out of the ordinary for the company to essentially shed a portion of the employees during your tenure there. For employees that stay over three years, the company will look completely different from the day you started. As far as the reviews go on Glassdoor and other platforms, GetUWired's leadership team harasses/bribes all employees to give them a 5-star review so that they can win awards such as the best place to work award. These reviews just continue the cycle of people believing they are being hired into a caring company that will help them further their career and then finding out that it's a sham. Hopefully there will be more truthful reviews like this one that will help create a great awakening. If you're reading this review and you've made it this far, run the opposite direction and go work somewhere else. If you work here you will regret it; especially if you're a developer.

    Continue reading
    GetUWired2020-03-31
  5. Helpful (5)

    "Hard work and dedication does not succeed here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at GetUWired full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I had a list of pros, but I don't anymore. The egregious cons list has caused me to forget and not care about the pros anymore.

    Cons

    Do you like being sued? No? Neither does anyone else. If you work at this company and leave, you're more likely to be sued at that point than any other time in your life. They sue previous employees as a scare tactic to prevent current employees from leaving the terrible management, sweatshop labor, and little pay behind. They make you sign outrageous non-compete clause to "get more compensation", even though it's a ploy to get you under a paper contract for future suability. The uppers (yes, that's what I will call them, because they act like they tower above everyone else) make significantly more money than anyone else. This is not only proven, but is openly visible in day to day interactions. They also claim to know about business better than anyone else, and I tend to agree with them. When your entire business model is centered around hiring developers straight out of college for little pay, and then firing them when they make too much money and replace them with fresh kids out of college, it makes sense. You've won the money in your pocket game. They game the entire industry as con-artists trying to pretend they actually care about their own employees and community. The kind of work you do here depends on your skill level. Just kidding, no matter what skill level you have, you make the same amount for the company. For this exact reason, it's cheaper for the uppers to replace you with someone who makes less money (even if you yourself can barely make rent payments with the tiny pay you get). Employee retention is very low, and it's not a wonder the way you take care of current employees. Want to take a vacation? It better not be more than 5 days, otherwise you'll be SOL until you've worked there for 5 years, at which you will max out at 15 days per year. That's okay though, because the uppers take off fridays and all expense paid, week long "meetings" in mexico, where they "plan for the next year". That's pretty rough when you can't get more than 3 sick days per year. The CEO, Melissa Allen, seems like a nice person at first...then, once you get on her bad side (inevitable), becomes a spiteful and hateful person. Dobbin Buck is the same way. I can't say the same of Bobby Brown, but who knows. I cannot stress enough how much of a liability it is to work here. You're better off dealing with traffic in ATL to make quadruple what they offer for literally the same work, and 10% of the garbage that you have to deal with on a daily basis. Oh, that, and you have 99% less of a chance of being sued, because you won't have to sign the broad non-compete that they actually enforce. It's sad that I was afraid to write this review, due to the my fear of being sued for speaking truthfully about the company. I hope others will take heed when looking for a job here.

    Continue reading
    GetUWired2020-03-31
  6. Helpful (8)

    "Not looking out for others"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Graphic Designer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at GetUWired full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I was able to work remote. The people I worked with/my team were amazing.

    Cons

    They are not you looking out for you. That tribe stuff is a lie. You will get underpaid and they will claim it's because they're small which is a lie because leadership get plenty as well as their unqualified spouses. Melissa has a temper and will threaten to fire you and when I was there so did Dobbin. You'll be forced to sign a non-compete which inhibits you from working in the field for 5 years because they're not willing to pay people what they're worth and they kept losing good employees to better jobs. The non-compete was their response. Oh and they will absolutely sue you for violating it, they're not above it. You won't be trusted to do your job. You won't have opportunities for higher positions (Those are reserved for their spouses). They will fire you without a moments notice despite loyalty so don't give it to them. I quit just so we're clear because I watched them fire so many talented people for personal grudges. The leadership team seems to think they need an all expense paid vacation to Mexico every year and they like to take Fridays off but you get 3 sick days and 5 vacation days and nothing more. They like to bribe people with quarterly events and free tee shirts so they can subvert the abuse and low pay. Oh and these positive reviews are there because they harass/bribe new people to give a 5 star review. They really like their best place to work reward. Just be warned this company does not care about it's employees and you can find better work environments 30 minutes down the road. I honestly hope this pandemic puts them out of business for good.

    Continue reading
    GetUWired2020-03-24
  7. "Amazing Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at GetUWired full-time

    Pros

    So many pros but the best are the wonderful co-workers and management. This is a fun place to work (but you do work)! The work is challenging but you still have time to learn.

    Cons

    Pay is lower but the quality of life is so much better than any other place.

    Continue reading
    GetUWired2020-02-12

    GetUWired Response

    March 11, 2020Administrative Coordinator

    Thanks for taking the time to submit a review. It and you are much appreciated!

    Continue reading
  8. "Great work/life balance, important work, & a fun place to be"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Client Manager in Dahlonega, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at GetUWired full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I absolutely love my job! As a Client Manager at GetUWired, I have the ability to work from home OR a beautiful cabin in the woods, receive fantastic benefits, and I get to do engaging and rewarding work that matters. In addition, GetUWired is simply a fun place to work. There are quarterly team building events where we do things like escape rooms, bowling, lake days, white water rafting, and so much more. Each year, we have a beautiful Christmas party with amazing food, drinks, gifts, and music. Most importantly, the tribe at GetUWired is what makes this place so special. I have personally experienced the love and respect the leadership team has for every person here, and I work with some of the smartest, funniest, most incredible people I've ever known.

    Cons

    It's important to be mindful that this is a small business and the pay reflects that. However, leadership rewards hard work and loyalty in so many ways, so this quickly becomes overshadowed.

    GetUWired2020-01-13

    GetUWired Response

    February 11, 2020Administrative Coordinator

    Our people make us incredible. Thank you for the thoughtful review!

    Continue reading
  9. "Best job I've ever had!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Mid-level Developer in Dahlonega, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at GetUWired full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great culture, team building days, developer training, awesome benefits (insurance, vacation, days off, 401k), work from home opportunities, beautiful commute to a cabin and excellent leadership. I feel honored and so very grateful to have this job!

    Cons

    Pay is lower and maternity leave is not amazing (*small business) - but those benefits though! And the people!

    Continue reading
    GetUWired2020-01-13

    GetUWired Response

    February 11, 2020Administrative Coordinator

    And we are honored to be reviewed. Thank you!

    Continue reading
  10. "Best place to work in Georgia"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing Automation Specialist in Dahlonega, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at GetUWired full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Excellent culture, team building events, fair pay, prime location, and opportunities to rise in the business

    Cons

    Location is a little far from major metro areas, which can be a con for city goers

    GetUWired2019-10-22

    GetUWired Response

    November 11, 2019Administrative Coordinator

    Thanks for the review!

    Continue reading
Found 92 reviews