Ghirardelli Chocolate Reviews | Glassdoor

Ghirardelli Chocolate Reviews

Updated March 9, 2017
107 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-time Part-time

3.8
Star Star Star Star Star
Rating Trends Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Ghirardelli Chocolate President & CEO Martin Thompson
Martin Thompson
61 Ratings

107 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date

Pros
  • I have the best work/life balance I've ever had in my career (in 9 reviews)

  • Fun fast paced environment and everyone is happy because we sell chocolate and ice cream (in 11 reviews)

Cons
  • no work life balance, divided culture, less opportunity for personal growth compared company's growth (in 7 reviews)

  • There was very limited office space (in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Featured Review

    Helpful (1)

    "Best Job I Have Had So Far"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Leandro, CA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Leandro, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Ghirardelli Chocolate full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Great atmosphere, one of the best on-boarding programs I have ever experienced, friendly office, chocolate everywhere, great employee discount, love the employee/manager relationships. I feel like management wants to make sure you are happy being here and really give you the opportunity for growth. The newly added fitness classes are a good bonus as well.

    Cons

    There is chocolate everywhere, I really wish they offered Kaiser for Medical.

    Advice to Management

    Only thing I would ask is to look into providing a Kaiser medical plan for employees.

    Ghirardelli Chocolate Response

    Jul 18, 2016 – Recruiting

    Thanks so much for your feedback! We really appreciate it and always take every piece of advice seriously and do our best to apply it!


  2. "Ghirardelli - a great company producing quality product"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ghirardelli Chocolate full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    I consider myself fortunate to have become a member of a company that has a strong brand and history, while promoting growth and innovation. The company speaks daily to their core values, which enhances the desire to implement them not only at work, but in life in general. As a company, they care as much about their coworkers as their guests. And, there's ice cream and chocolate!

    Cons

    Just saying "no" to ice cream and chocolate.

    Ghirardelli Chocolate Response

    Mar 15, 2017 – Recruiting

    We're so glad you feel this way and will continue to keep it up!


  3. "Second Career"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ghirardelli Chocolate full-time

    Pros

    After retiring from a much larger company, I truly appreciate the family feel of Ghirardelli. The CEO and VPs are visible, approachable and they know who you are. The company demonstrates that they values their employees. Opportunities for advancement is readily available.

    Cons

    Seasonal business little time off during the holidays

    Advice to Management

    Invest more in system technology to keep up with Ghirardelli's growth

    Ghirardelli Chocolate Response

    Mar 15, 2017 – Recruiting

    Thanks so much for your note! We value every piece of information and feedback!


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. "Great company and culture"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager
    Current Employee - Project Manager
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ghirardelli Chocolate full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Recently hired on in management position. This company has shown me that family values and the mantra that people matter are not just a slogan, but the real deal here. After working for a number of previous employers that had very poor training programs, I was blown away with how much this company invests in onboarding an training new hires. I was introduced to chocolate camp and went to chocolate school where you learn what the company is all about and why it is the premier brand of chocolate on the market. The people at corporate have been supportive, pleasant and respectful to me.
    Other organizations could learn a lot with how this company treats it's people. Benefits are outstanding and pay is competitive. It was reported that a 2016 independent survey validates that employees feel far and above that it's a great place to work as ranked in comparison with other organizations of this size. This ranked everything from job satisfaction, pay and overall working conditions.

    Cons

    I cannot think of any cons since I am very new here and the experience has been great.

    Advice to Management

    Doing a great job! I love this company.

    Ghirardelli Chocolate Response

    Mar 15, 2017 – Recruiting

    So happy to hear you enjoyed your on-boarding and new hire orientation! We strive to focus in this area!


  6. "Great company, great brand, great employees"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Leandro, CA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Leandro, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ghirardelli Chocolate full-time

    Pros

    The company is filled with passionate, talented people who take pride in their work. Everyone I have encountered with has great work experience and is well-qualified for their job. I have the best work/life balance I've ever had in my career.

    Cons

    While the company is headquartered in the Bay Area, the culture and benefits are not at all in line with a state of the art tech company that you typically find in the Bay Area. Personally, I don't find this to be discouraging, but I think it can catch new employees of guard at first.

    Advice to Management

    At times the day-to-day operations can feel a bit too formal. We are essentially selling happiness to consumers worldwide. Let's not take ourselves too serious and celebrate the fun that comes with manufacturing and selling great tasting chocolate!

    Ghirardelli Chocolate Response

    Mar 15, 2017 – Recruiting

    Thanks so much for your feedback and note! We value every ounce of input!


  7. "Tons of room for growth"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - General Manager in Hollywood, CA
    Current Employee - General Manager in Hollywood, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ghirardelli Chocolate full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    FREE chocolate, supportive environment, plenty of room to grow in the company, large, stable company, plenty of divisions for a variety of jobs/experiences. Great family/work life balance. Wonderful support from upper management and everyone pitches in to help when needed. Opportunity to travel if you wanted to. Above average pay for job description.

    Cons

    Centrically focused - sites that are further out do not always get as much notice as needed to incorporate new procedures. Behind the times technology wise, a lot of manual work done that could be automated

    Advice to Management

    Updating technology would help improve efficiency and morale.

    Ghirardelli Chocolate Response

    Mar 15, 2017 – Recruiting

    Thanks for your comments and suggestions!


  8. "I've enjoyed my time here so far!"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Leandro, CA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Leandro, CA
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ghirardelli Chocolate full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    - Small/medium sized company = the opportunity to get to know most of the company
    - People are friendly to a new face and welcome to answer questions
    - Chocolate is easily accessible (pro & con), nice discount perks
    - Interactive and fun on-boarding process that allows for getting to know cross-functionals
    - Top management is approachable

    Cons

    - Office location not close to public transportation and is quite a trek. Most people commute from outside cities for work (SF, south bay, Oakland/Berkeley)

    Ghirardelli Chocolate Response

    Mar 15, 2017 – Recruiting

    Thanks for your comments, we value every comment and take it seriously!


  9. "Its great for young ones"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Ghirardelli Chocolate full-time

    Pros

    -pays semi well
    -semi great team

    Cons

    -managment doesn't listen to the employess
    -hardly any teamwork

    Ghirardelli Chocolate Response

    Mar 15, 2017 – Recruiting

    Thanks for your comments and input to make improvements!


  10. "Great place to work and learn!"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - BI Analyst in San Leandro, CA
    Current Employee - BI Analyst in San Leandro, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ghirardelli Chocolate full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Established company that has high and consistent growth
    Medium size company so you are exposed to many different opportunities to try new things
    Nice people!
    Good benefits
    Discounts on chocolate!

    Cons

    No stock options, but a competitive bonus
    Not as flashy as tech but your friends will love for the chocolate!

    Ghirardelli Chocolate Response

    Mar 15, 2017 – Recruiting

    Thanks for your feedback! We value all comments and can't improve without them!


  11. "Ghirardelli Disney Springs"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Ghirardelli Chocolate full-time

    Pros

    Flexible time
    Disney benefits
    50% off merchandise
    Helath insurance offered
    Paid time off/sick days
    Free coffee or icecream for breaks
    401k

    Cons

    Low hourly
    Employee turnover is high
    Management style is not good
    Far parking
    Stressful

    Ghirardelli Chocolate Response

    Mar 15, 2017 – Recruiting

    Thank you for input, we truly value your advice and comments! We strive to take the information and make changes.



Showing 107 of 117 reviews
Reset Filters