Ghirardelli Chocolate Reviews | Glassdoor

Ghirardelli Chocolate Reviews

Updated March 9, 2017
21 reviews

Filter

Filter


3.0
Star Star Star Star Star
Rating Trends Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Ghirardelli Chocolate President & CEO Martin Thompson
Martin Thompson
5 Ratings

21 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date

Pros
  • I have the best work/life balance I've ever had in my career (in 9 reviews)

  • Fun fast paced environment and everyone is happy because we sell chocolate and ice cream (in 11 reviews)

Cons
  • no work life balance, divided culture, less opportunity for personal growth compared company's growth (in 7 reviews)

  • There was very limited office space (in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Helpful (1)

    "Its great for young ones"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Ghirardelli Chocolate full-time

    Pros

    -pays semi well
    -semi great team

    Cons

    -managment doesn't listen to the employess
    -hardly any teamwork

    Ghirardelli Chocolate Response

    Mar 15, 2017 – Recruiting

    Thanks for your comments and input to make improvements!


  2. "Ghirardelli Disney Springs"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Ghirardelli Chocolate full-time

    Pros

    Flexible time
    Disney benefits
    50% off merchandise
    Helath insurance offered
    Paid time off/sick days
    Free coffee or icecream for breaks
    401k

    Cons

    Low hourly
    Employee turnover is high
    Management style is not good
    Far parking
    Stressful

    Ghirardelli Chocolate Response

    Mar 15, 2017 – Recruiting

    Thank you for input, we truly value your advice and comments! We strive to take the information and make changes.


  3. Helpful (1)

    "Very fast growing company."

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Lots of opportunities to grow.

    Cons

    Too much turnover and company is losing valuable workforce.

    Advice to Management

    If you move too fast you can fall off the cliff.

    Ghirardelli Chocolate Response

    Mar 15, 2017 – Recruiting

    Thanks for your note, we appreciate and value your feedback.


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. Helpful (1)

    "What I felt about working at Ghirardelli"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Ghirardelli Chocolate full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    lots of chocolate samples:) great benefits,

    Cons

    no work life balance, divided culture, less opportunity for personal growth compared company's growth

    Advice to Management

    None

    Ghirardelli Chocolate Response

    Aug 23, 2016 – Recruiting

    We're always seeking to improve, all comments are so helpful! Thank you for sharing.


  6. "Chocolateer"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Chocolateer in Lathrop, CA
    Former Employee - Chocolateer in Lathrop, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    Fun restaraunt and retail experience. All about the art of the upscale and making a lasting impression on traveling tourists while locally building a regular customer base. With the right manager that cares about quality, customer experience, and focuses on their employees, this company is amazing!

    Cons

    Inconsistent management when it comes to routinely releasing the schedule for review. Toward the end of my employment, I would get my schedule the day before the new week or I would get a month and a half of schedules that would change daily. Quality of products and food service began to decrease with a manager who boasted of high quality chocolate yet let Company standards fall and increased prices on these items (retail and fountain). Regional manager who looked over the store became increasingly rude, furthering the lowering employee morale. Too much staff also led to 32-34 hours a week turning into only 20-24. Would often get sent home after 4 hours into shift and get called in up to 6 days a week, just to get sent home.

    Advice to Management

    Though the management structure of Ghirardell's retail stores is minimal, more regular visits from corporate (not just regional) and inquiring with employees of their experience and managers may open the doors to retain regular employees. I had hoped to make a career here but the lack of leadership turned me away.

    Ghirardelli Chocolate Response

    Mar 15, 2016 – Recruiting

    Thank you for your very honest review. We appreciate the feedback and always look to make improvements across the organization.


  7. Helpful (1)

    "aaaaahhhhhh"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Las Vegas, NV
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Las Vegas, NV
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    general management tries their best. pay is decent. do i really need a 20 word mininum? is that for real??

    Cons

    long hours, late at night. guests can be very rude.

    Advice to Management

    yeah. its cool. its fine.

    Ghirardelli Chocolate Response

    Mar 15, 2016 – Recruiting

    Thank you for posting a review. We appreciate your comments.


  8. Helpful (1)

    "Brace yourself"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Hollywood, CA
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Hollywood, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Ghirardelli Chocolate full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Great work enviornment from the outside looking in
    The people working there are fun and helpful
    Most of the regulars are very friendly and tip well for servers

    Cons

    Management is a mess
    General manager is difficult to communicate with on personal level when needed help with personal situations that come up you are still expected to come to work regardless
    Enviornment gets hectic and stressful with large crowds coming in
    Common hardwork never appreciated
    Not much benefits from either company

    Advice to Management

    Keep your self worth as a priority don't let the managers step on you
    Enjoy the little benefits they dont come around often

    Ghirardelli Chocolate Response

    Mar 15, 2016 – Recruiting

    Thank you for your feedback, we are always looking to find ways to improve. We appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts with us.


  9. "Fast Paced"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Pittsburg, CA
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Pittsburg, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Ghirardelli Chocolate (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Great benefits, discounts and plenty of opportunities to advance

    Cons

    You will have very little life/work balance will more likely be non-existent

    Ghirardelli Chocolate Response

    Aug 23, 2016 – Recruiting

    Thanks for sharing your feedback. All comments are helpful! We greatly appreciate and this is how we focus on improving!


  10. Helpful (2)

    "R&D"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Ghirardelli Chocolate (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Lot's of free chocolate, success-driven employees,

    Cons

    poor collaboration between departments, constant walking on egg-shells and having to watch where you give your input, lacking support to properly execute and maintain good products, marketing runs the entire company.

    Advice to Management

    Management needs to have better communication with employees, promote social capitalism, and provide a more collaborative environment.

    Ghirardelli Chocolate Response

    Aug 23, 2016 – Recruiting

    Thank you for your feedback. We're always working hard to make sure we provide you with the best experience working here.


  11. "Chocolateer - Store - Retail Associate"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    Former Employee - Chocolateer in San Francisco, CA
    Former Employee - Chocolateer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Ghirardelli Chocolate part-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Fun staff to work with, somewhat flexible with hours. Work is EASY to do and complete.

    Cons

    Bad management, everyone is afraid is afraid of corporate when they visit the branches.

    Ghirardelli Chocolate Response

    Aug 23, 2016 – Recruiting

    Thank you for your feedback. We definitely want to build a better relationship between the retail as well as corporate. I will share your feedback to the team!



Showing 21 of 118 reviews
Reset Filters