Ghirardelli Chocolate Reviews | Glassdoor

Ghirardelli Chocolate Reviews

23 reviews

Filter

Filter


3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Ghirardelli Chocolate President & CEO Martin Thompson
Martin Thompson
7 Ratings

23 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • I have the best work/life balance I've ever had in my career (in 11 reviews)

  • Fun fast paced environment and everyone is happy because we sell chocolate and ice cream (in 11 reviews)

Cons
  • The work life balance can sometimes be a bit skewed towards work (in 9 reviews)

  • Office space is too tight right now - not enough meeting rooms or casual spaces for doing work together (in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Helpful (1)

    "Growing pains"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ghirardelli Chocolate full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Company is moving is great direction. Management is supportive of team who wants to move up in company. Great culture within company.

    Cons

    Work life balance is almost non-existent. Management can sometimes be hypocritical and forgetful. There are a lot of growing pains, as the company grows into a much larger profitable corporation you cannot forget the team who got you there. Compensation doesn't reflect increasing company sales or work performance. Turnover of chocolateers and supervisors is high.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your lower management in retail store. Recruitment needs help to get people to work for the company in some of the stores outside of San Francisco. Turnover wouldn't be so high if compensation was at fair market value, it is not. Also corporate people need to have a field day in retail stores to have an idea of how the store dynamic works before they make heavy decisions in store.


  2. "Accounting/Finance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ghirardelli Chocolate full-time

    Pros

    Good work life balance. Great people.

    Cons

    Management and leadership skills need improvement.

    Advice to Management

    Invest in leadership training and development

  3. Helpful (1)

    "Its great for young ones"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Ghirardelli Chocolate full-time

    Pros

    -pays semi well
    -semi great team

    Cons

    -managment doesn't listen to the employess
    -hardly any teamwork

    Ghirardelli Chocolate Response

    Mar 15, 2017 – Recruiting

    Thanks for your comments and input to make improvements!


  4. "Ghirardelli Disney Springs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Ghirardelli Chocolate full-time

    Pros

    Flexible time
    Disney benefits
    50% off merchandise
    Helath insurance offered
    Paid time off/sick days
    Free coffee or icecream for breaks
    401k

    Cons

    Low hourly
    Employee turnover is high
    Management style is not good
    Far parking
    Stressful

    Ghirardelli Chocolate Response

    Mar 15, 2017 – Recruiting

    Thank you for input, we truly value your advice and comments! We strive to take the information and make changes.


  5. Helpful (1)

    "Very fast growing company."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Lots of opportunities to grow.

    Cons

    Too much turnover and company is losing valuable workforce.

    Advice to Management

    If you move too fast you can fall off the cliff.

    Ghirardelli Chocolate Response

    Mar 15, 2017 – Recruiting

    Thanks for your note, we appreciate and value your feedback.


  6. Helpful (1)

    "What I felt about working at Ghirardelli"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Ghirardelli Chocolate full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    lots of chocolate samples:) great benefits,

    Cons

    no work life balance, divided culture, less opportunity for personal growth compared company's growth

    Advice to Management

    None

    Ghirardelli Chocolate Response

    Aug 23, 2016 – Recruiting

    We're always seeking to improve, all comments are so helpful! Thank you for sharing.


  7. "Chocolateer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Chocolateer in Lathrop, CA
    Former Employee - Chocolateer in Lathrop, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    Fun restaraunt and retail experience. All about the art of the upscale and making a lasting impression on traveling tourists while locally building a regular customer base. With the right manager that cares about quality, customer experience, and focuses on their employees, this company is amazing!

    Cons

    Inconsistent management when it comes to routinely releasing the schedule for review. Toward the end of my employment, I would get my schedule the day before the new week or I would get a month and a half of schedules that would change daily. Quality of products and food service began to decrease with a manager who boasted of high quality chocolate yet let Company standards fall and increased prices on these items (retail and fountain). Regional manager who looked over the store became increasingly rude, furthering the lowering employee morale. Too much staff also led to 32-34 hours a week turning into only 20-24. Would often get sent home after 4 hours into shift and get called in up to 6 days a week, just to get sent home.

    Advice to Management

    Though the management structure of Ghirardell's retail stores is minimal, more regular visits from corporate (not just regional) and inquiring with employees of their experience and managers may open the doors to retain regular employees. I had hoped to make a career here but the lack of leadership turned me away.

    Ghirardelli Chocolate Response

    Mar 15, 2016 – Recruiting

    Thank you for your very honest review. We appreciate the feedback and always look to make improvements across the organization.

  8. Helpful (1)

    "aaaaahhhhhh"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Las Vegas, NV
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Las Vegas, NV
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    general management tries their best. pay is decent. do i really need a 20 word mininum? is that for real??

    Cons

    long hours, late at night. guests can be very rude.

    Advice to Management

    yeah. its cool. its fine.

    Ghirardelli Chocolate Response

    Mar 15, 2016 – Recruiting

    Thank you for posting a review. We appreciate your comments.


  9. Helpful (1)

    "Brace yourself"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Hollywood, CA
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Hollywood, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Ghirardelli Chocolate full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Great work enviornment from the outside looking in
    The people working there are fun and helpful
    Most of the regulars are very friendly and tip well for servers

    Cons

    Management is a mess
    General manager is difficult to communicate with on personal level when needed help with personal situations that come up you are still expected to come to work regardless
    Enviornment gets hectic and stressful with large crowds coming in
    Common hardwork never appreciated
    Not much benefits from either company

    Advice to Management

    Keep your self worth as a priority don't let the managers step on you
    Enjoy the little benefits they dont come around often

    Ghirardelli Chocolate Response

    Mar 15, 2016 – Recruiting

    Thank you for your feedback, we are always looking to find ways to improve. We appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts with us.


  10. "Fast Paced"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Pittsburg, CA
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Pittsburg, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Ghirardelli Chocolate (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Great benefits, discounts and plenty of opportunities to advance

    Cons

    You will have very little life/work balance will more likely be non-existent

    Ghirardelli Chocolate Response

    Aug 23, 2016 – Recruiting

    Thanks for sharing your feedback. All comments are helpful! We greatly appreciate and this is how we focus on improving!


Showing 23 of 141 reviews
Reset Filters