Ghirardelli Chocolate Reviews | Glassdoor

Ghirardelli Chocolate Reviews

Updated March 7, 2017
34 reviews

Filter

Filter


5.0
Star Star Star Star Star
Rating Trends Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Ghirardelli Chocolate President & CEO Martin Thompson
Martin Thompson
27 Ratings

34 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date

Pros
  • I have the best work/life balance I've ever had in my career (in 10 reviews)

  • Fun fast paced environment and everyone is happy because we sell chocolate and ice cream (in 11 reviews)

Cons
  • no work life balance, divided culture, less opportunity for personal growth compared company's growth (in 7 reviews)

  • Office space is too tight right now - not enough meeting rooms or casual spaces for doing work together (in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Featured Review

    Helpful (1)

    "Best Job I Have Had So Far"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Leandro, CA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Leandro, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Ghirardelli Chocolate full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Great atmosphere, one of the best on-boarding programs I have ever experienced, friendly office, chocolate everywhere, great employee discount, love the employee/manager relationships. I feel like management wants to make sure you are happy being here and really give you the opportunity for growth. The newly added fitness classes are a good bonus as well.

    Cons

    There is chocolate everywhere, I really wish they offered Kaiser for Medical.

    Advice to Management

    Only thing I would ask is to look into providing a Kaiser medical plan for employees.

    Ghirardelli Chocolate Response

    Jul 18, 2016 – Recruiting

    Thanks so much for your feedback! We really appreciate it and always take every piece of advice seriously and do our best to apply it!


  2. "Great company, great brand, great employees"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Leandro, CA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Leandro, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ghirardelli Chocolate full-time

    Pros

    The company is filled with passionate, talented people who take pride in their work. Everyone I have encountered with has great work experience and is well-qualified for their job. I have the best work/life balance I've ever had in my career.

    Cons

    While the company is headquartered in the Bay Area, the culture and benefits are not at all in line with a state of the art tech company that you typically find in the Bay Area. Personally, I don't find this to be discouraging, but I think it can catch new employees of guard at first.

    Advice to Management

    At times the day-to-day operations can feel a bit too formal. We are essentially selling happiness to consumers worldwide. Let's not take ourselves too serious and celebrate the fun that comes with manufacturing and selling great tasting chocolate!

    Ghirardelli Chocolate Response

    Mar 15, 2017 – Recruiting

    Thanks so much for your feedback and note! We value every ounce of input!


  3. "Tons of room for growth"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - General Manager in Hollywood, CA
    Current Employee - General Manager in Hollywood, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ghirardelli Chocolate full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    FREE chocolate, supportive environment, plenty of room to grow in the company, large, stable company, plenty of divisions for a variety of jobs/experiences. Great family/work life balance. Wonderful support from upper management and everyone pitches in to help when needed. Opportunity to travel if you wanted to. Above average pay for job description.

    Cons

    Centrically focused - sites that are further out do not always get as much notice as needed to incorporate new procedures. Behind the times technology wise, a lot of manual work done that could be automated

    Advice to Management

    Updating technology would help improve efficiency and morale.

    Ghirardelli Chocolate Response

    Mar 15, 2017 – Recruiting

    Thanks for your comments and suggestions!


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. "Great place to work and learn!"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - BI Analyst in San Leandro, CA
    Current Employee - BI Analyst in San Leandro, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ghirardelli Chocolate full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Established company that has high and consistent growth
    Medium size company so you are exposed to many different opportunities to try new things
    Nice people!
    Good benefits
    Discounts on chocolate!

    Cons

    No stock options, but a competitive bonus
    Not as flashy as tech but your friends will love for the chocolate!

    Ghirardelli Chocolate Response

    Mar 15, 2017 – Recruiting

    Thanks for your feedback! We value all comments and can't improve without them!


  6. "Employee Relations Specialist"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Employee Relations Specialist in San Leandro, CA
    Current Employee - Employee Relations Specialist in San Leandro, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ghirardelli Chocolate full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    The culture allows you to absorb all the different learning experiences at a rate that is not overwhelming. They have THE BEST on-boarding process that I have seen or even experienced. It's super extensive, informative and educational. I enjoy truly learning about this company and how it's come to be so successful.

    Cons

    We could definitely benefit from an updated HRIS system. I think that this will improve productivity and functionality within the organization.

    Ghirardelli Chocolate Response

    Mar 15, 2016 – Recruiting

    Thank you for your review! We appreciate the feedback!


  7. Helpful (2)

    "Great place to work!"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Corporate in San Leandro, CA
    Current Employee - Corporate in San Leandro, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ghirardelli Chocolate full-time

    Pros

    Great people who work together for a common goal. The culture is great and the chocolate is even better! For the corporate staff the orientation process is very thorough and also fun. The company values good, hard-working people and it shows.

    Cons

    There are tons of people working in the office and not really much opportunity to meet people in other departments.

    Advice to Management

    Keep recognizing and valuing your employees.

    Ghirardelli Chocolate Response

    Mar 15, 2016 – Recruiting

    Thank you for your review, we appreciate the feedback!


  8. "Great experience"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant in San Francisco, CA
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Ghirardelli Chocolate full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    - multicultural enviroment
    - friendly managers

    Cons

    I've worked there for 3 months during the summer. It was always crowded, customers were getting angry about the waiting time.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work!

    Ghirardelli Chocolate Response

    Aug 23, 2016 – Recruiting

    Thank you for your great feedback! Glad you had a great experience.


  9. "Staff"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager in Milpitas, CA
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager in Milpitas, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Ghirardelli Chocolate full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Working at the milpitas location, is like working for a family. Everyone has been there for awhile and enjoys their job.

    Cons

    Working here with all the staff isn't always the greatest joy. We like to get under each others skin and sometimes that doesn't turn out so well.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing.

    Ghirardelli Chocolate Response

    Aug 23, 2016 – Recruiting

    Thank you for your feedback and i'm glad you were able to make the best of your days there. We are always trying our best to provide the best employee experience here.


  10. Helpful (1)

    "Growth and Opportunity"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Leandro, CA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Leandro, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ghirardelli Chocolate full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Ghirardelli has a small, entrepreneurial company feel but the resources of a large company as a subsidiary of Lindt International. The organization is also fairly flat which allows you access to top management. The growth trajectory for the company has been strong which makes it an exciting place to work. There are always plenty of opportunities and you are supported to actively make an impact in the areas you find of most interest and fulfillment.

    Cons

    Because the company is flat, there are not a lot of support roles so you are expected to roll up your sleeves from time to time. Also, the company is experiencing substantial growth which leads to growing pains (infrastructure changes, office space expansion, etc.)

    Ghirardelli Chocolate Response

    Aug 23, 2016 – Recruiting

    Thank you and we appreciate your feedback! As we grow, we're always looking for solutions to make the employee experience better!


  11. "Intern"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Leandro, CA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Leandro, CA
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    • Employees are very welcoming
    • Great learning experience
    • Spent a lot of time with cross-functional teams
    • Comfortable talking to anyone and everyone
    • Great company culture

    Cons

    • Company is quickly expanding so they are running out of space and equipment (plan on remodeling within the next 2 years)

    Advice to Management

    It is very admirable that you care and stay in touch with all of your employees. As the company continues to expands, don't forget how important that factor is.



Showing 34 of 120 reviews
Reset Filters