Cover image for Ghirardelli Chocolate
Logo
See All Photos

Ghirardelli Chocolate

Engaged Employer

Ghirardelli Chocolate

Add a Review

Ghirardelli Chocolate Reviews

Updated Dec 5, 2022

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 281 of over 305 reviews
3.5
62% Recommend to a Friend
Ghirardelli Chocolate CEO  Joel Burrows
77% Approve of CEO

Found 278 of over 305 reviews

3.5
62%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
Ghirardelli Chocolate CEO  Joel Burrows
Joel Burrows
57 Ratings

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "Great people to work with(in 25 reviews)
  • "Good benefits(in 16 reviews)
  • "Free chocolate and ice cream(in 15 reviews)
  • "Friendly coworkers and overall a great place to work(in 14 reviews)
  • "Lots of hours available and decent pay.(in 13 reviews)
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Ghirardelli Chocolate and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year
    Featured Review

    Everyone is great!

    Jun 23, 2022 - Project Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Wonderful coworkers - very knowledgeable and willing to help and answer all my questions The culture is great, I feel comfortable speaking my mind and providing feedback

    Cons

    At this moment, no cons

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Amazing Company

    Sep 26, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great culture and community givebacks

    Cons

    Flat organization so limited opportunities for advancement

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. Join the Ghirardelli Chocolate team
    See Our Latest Jobs
  4. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    great place to work

    Dec 5, 2022 - Store Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    great environment and good benefits

    Cons

    long hours and not great hourly rate

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 4.0
    Former Employee

    Great

    Nov 2, 2022 - EPJ 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    It’s a work by your self paste that I love

    Cons

    I really had very little problems

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 8 years

    Great culture, very limited/no career paths

    Jul 17, 2022 - Sales in San Leandro, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Ghirardelli has developed a great culture with the current CEO . Objectives are clearly laid out on the company game plan. Generally speaking, people are forward looking for not trying to case blame for mistakes.

    Cons

    Lack of career path. The company has grown significantly over the last few years, but people are just expected to absorb more work with no end in sights. And even though they continue to say they’re working on it, women are under represented in leadership. Men are the ones who continue to get promoted into the VP and C level roles. It also helps if you’re originally from Lindt and not Ghirardelli. I love the people, but I am also realistic that a promotion is unlikely. That seems crazy for a company of this size.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 10 years

    Ghirardelli Cares About it's Employees!

    Apr 12, 2022 - Specialist in San Leandro, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The people are the best reason to work at Ghirardelli. Ghirardelli hires great people - competent people that are good at collaborating cross functionally and make coming to work a great experience. communication between management and employees is often, and transparent. We have regular company meetings led by our CEO at the salaried level weekly during Covid shutdown, and now monthly. There is a lot of great information shared. Fair compensation & bonus structure. Company values your work. We have a new cafe onsite with great catered food, so we don't have to leave for lunch if we choose not to. Free parking & electric car charging. Company ERGs run by employees at corporate offices. Extensive DEI initiatives & focus. You can show up here and be your authentic self.

    Cons

    Need more company employee events.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Good company

    Sep 9, 2022 - Retail Sales Associate 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good culture, good benefit and pay is good

    Cons

    There is nothing i can think of.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Pay is the main downside

    Sep 2, 2022 - Financial Analyst 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great products, good management, and strong growth

    Cons

    No profit sharing or stock program for employees

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    terrible

    Nov 3, 2022 - Supervisor in Boston, MA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    no pros at all, miserable

    Cons

    terrible pay and terrible upper management

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  11. 2.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Hectic life

    Sep 25, 2022 - Supervisor 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Vacation pay, holiday pay, and tickets to Disney parks

    Cons

    Hectic life, morally draining, not much opportunity for advancement

    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 278 Reviews
</>Embed

Ghirardelli Chocolate Reviews FAQs

Ghirardelli Chocolate has an overall rating of 3.5 out of 5, based on over 305 reviews left anonymously by employees. 62% of employees would recommend working at Ghirardelli Chocolate to a friend and 53% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has decreased by -5% over the last 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, Ghirardelli Chocolate employees rate their compensation and benefits as 3.1 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at Ghirardelli Chocolate. This rating has decreased by -9% over the last 12 months.

62% of Ghirardelli Chocolate employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated Ghirardelli Chocolate 3.1 out of 5 for work life balance, 3.5 for culture and values and 3.1 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at Ghirardelli Chocolate to be culture, coworkers, benefits and the cons to be workplace, career development, management.

Popular Careers with Ghirardelli Chocolate Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Ghirardelli Chocolate? Share Your Experiences

Ghirardelli Chocolate logo
or

Ghirardelli Chocolate Careers

Cover image for Ghirardelli Chocolate

Ghirardelli At A Glance So what sets us apart? Since 1852, Ghirardelli has created a legacy of creativity that sets our company apart...More

  • Ghirardelli Fun
  • Culture
  • Benefits
This is the employer's chance to tell you why you should work for them. The information provided is from their perspective.

Reviews by Job Title

Company Updates

Logo

Ghirardelli Chocolate

1227 days ago

National Hot Fudge Sundae Day at Ghirardelli means free sundaes for all our employees at our corporate headquarters!🍫🍨 #aBiteBetter #WeAreGhirardelli #WorkPerk
Shared image
Logo

Ghirardelli Chocolate

1315 days ago

Yesterday we hosted our 2018 Years Of Service luncheon where we celebrated over 760 years of service combined! Thank you to our amazing employees who have made Ghirardelli what it is today! 🎉🍫 #WeAreGhirardelli #ABiteBetter
Shared image
See all

Ghirardelli Chocolate Photos

+ Add Photo
Ghirardelli Chocolate photo of: Inside Ghirardelli
Ghirardelli Chocolate photo of: Hike Club
Ghirardelli Chocolate photo of: Halloween Potluck
Ghirardelli Chocolate photo of: Breakfast for Team Anaheim!
Ghirardelli Chocolate photo of: Ghirardeli Run Club
Ghirardelli Chocolate photo of: Safety is a # 1 priority at Ghirardelli. Come join the Manufacturing and Operations!
Ghirardelli Chocolate photo of: We're located all over the nation, Come join us!
See All Photos

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

Ghirardelli Chocolate Job Seekers Also Viewed

Ghirardelli Associates Logo
Ghirardelli Associates

5.0

6 Reviews
Compare

Glassdoor has 305 Ghirardelli Chocolate reviews submitted anonymously by Ghirardelli Chocolate employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if Ghirardelli Chocolate is right for you.