Giant Eagle Customer Service Representative Reviews | Glassdoor

Giant Eagle Customer Service Representative Reviews

Updated Sep 25, 2017

To filter reviews, or .

4.5
94%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
Giant Eagle CEO Laura Karet
Laura Karet
3 Ratings
  1. "Giant Eagle"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Cleveland, OH
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Giant Eagle part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Easy job. Flexible schedule. Relaxed environment

    Cons

    Coworker drama. Some busy days. Hour cuts.

    Giant Eagle2017-09-26
  2. "Horrible employer- bad environment and harassment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Customer Service Representative in Irwin, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Giant Eagle

    Pros

    Paycheck that is all the pros there is. It was a paycheck. Can file grievances and make sure those breaking labor laws can be held responsible.

    Cons

    Harrassment, being forced to clock in before shift starts and not being thanked, being forced to stay past shift ending due to lack of help, management and the union work hand in hand to make sure the employee gets no help and support, once you hit 10 years they try to force you out or fabricate a scandal to fire you, low pay for the type or expectations they have, horrible work environment worse than high school and management is no better. Frequently broke state and federal labor laws as well as used intimidation tactics to achieve their goals

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Treat people the way you want your boss to treat you and realize that if you treat then poorly they will leave for better things. Quit harassing good employees and think before you try to corner them in an office... you will get one that stands up for themselves and then you will find yourself out of a job or being transferred to a bad area due to your inability to manage.

    Giant Eagle2016-09-04
  3. "OK job, for high school students"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative/Cashier in Dry Tavern, Greene, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Giant Eagle part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I worked here in high school and still work part time. My store manager was great at working with my busy schedule, but it's not the same at all locations. Pretty easy job. Good job for high school students.

    Cons

    The pay is awful. I've been with the company for four years and I've never received a raise or any other benefit. There is also a lot of drama, and most of the drama came from the adults that worked at my store. The high school students act more mature than some of the adult employees.

    Advice to Management

    Make sure store managers are working well with the employees. Good managers keep good employees.

    Giant Eagle2016-02-15
  4. "Flexible schedule, better for students/people without families."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Upper Arlington, OH

    I worked at Giant Eagle part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible schedule, easy work, coworkers usually easy going

    Cons

    Late policy is ridiculous and company can't differentiate between being three minutes late and thirty minutes late, same punishment

    Giant Eagle2016-01-29
  5. "Unknown"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Customer Service Representative in Painesville, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Giant Eagle for more than a year

    Pros

    They have a steady pay enhancement. The co-workers are awesome to work with.

    Cons

    The union sucks and you have to watch what you're getting hired as and what your actually job title will be once hired in.

    Giant Eagle2016-01-21
  6. Helpful (1)

    "The one I work at is amazing cause of the positive people."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Morgantown, WV
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Giant Eagle full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    In here you get a chance to succeed because managers are willing to do that for you.

    Cons

    Long working hours lots of customers.

    Advice to Management

    Great management staff

    Giant Eagle2014-08-23
  7. "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Mayfield Heights, Cuyahoga, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Giant Eagle part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Union, Perks, 10% Discount, Experience in Customer Service

    Cons

    Work and Life balance, Unstable Hours

    Advice to Management

    Become more involved with employees

    Giant Eagle2014-08-14
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Horrible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Pittsburgh, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Giant Eagle part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Making friends out of regular customers

    Cons

    Supervisors played favorites, disrespectful to employees behind closed doors, management was unequipped to handle customer complaints properly, hourly pay should be higher than 25 cents from a cashier position to customer service.

    Advice to Management

    God sees all and knows all.

    Giant Eagle2014-06-20
  9. "Great store"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Customer Service Representative in Pittsburgh, PA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Giant Eagle for less than a year

    Pros

    Store has a lot to choose from, also deli hot food is very very good, and the workers thru out the whole store are so nice and pleasant, which make shopping a lot better. Bakery is wonderful also and with the meat and all others stuff, just great , clean and nice.

    Cons

    A little bit pricey, but still will take for nice and friendly and clean.

    Advice to Management

    Might need a few more people to work, sometime to check out takes forever, or waiting on other depts also can be slow due to not enough workers.

    Giant Eagle2014-04-15
  10. "I worked at a franchised store, your experience may vary."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Giant Eagle part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Depending on your position, the hours can be flexible. Worked with a lot of great coworkers. It was a good first job in high school. Try to work at a corporate store if possible.

    Cons

    Management was big on public humiliation and was unprofessional at times. Raises were infrequent and learning a new job rarely yielded more than a .10 raise.

    Advice to Management

    Value your employees and they will work harder for you.

    Giant Eagle2014-02-17
Found 12 reviews