Giant Eagle Deli Clerk Reviews | Glassdoor

Giant Eagle Deli Clerk Reviews

Updated Dec 30, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.2
41%
Recommend to a Friend
20%
Approve of CEO
Giant Eagle CEO Laura Karet
Laura Karet
6 Ratings
  1. "Simple; maybe too simple"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Deli Clerk in Stow, OH
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Giant Eagle part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The deli workers in the Stow Hudson Giant Eagle are some phenomenal, interesting people. You'll enjoy working with them.

    Cons

    It will get mind-numbingly boring.

    Advice to Management

    Heidi is doing a great job, and I admire her tenacity and hard work. Management regularly demonstrates, through words and actions, that they care.

    Giant Eagle2019-10-21
  2. "Expectations are too high for part time employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Deli Clerk in North Olmsted, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Giant Eagle part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The pay is decent and I got semi-frequent raises despite only working there on breaks from school. Most co-workers were friendly, even in other departments. It is a union job. Health standards are taken very seriously. Cut-proof gloves and the uniform are provided for free.

    Cons

    Management is very strict and needs everything done their way. The deli department manager was especially strict about "slacking off," expecting you to be on your feet and doing something, even if there aren't any customers or things that need done. My body and especially feet always felt sore when I got home. Full time employment is almost never offered unless you're a department manager, so don't expect benefits.

    Giant Eagle2019-12-31
  3. "I worked at this particular Giant Eagle on two occasions, from May 2018 to November 2018, and from June 2019 to Sep 2019"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Fresh Foods/Deli-Bakery Customer Service Clerk in Ellwood City, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Giant Eagle part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Once the manager left, I took over a good bit of the duties and was on track to becoming manager.

    Cons

    This company loses a lot of employees due to paid wages and hours.

    Advice to Management

    Give more employees more hours and a higher wage and you won't have to hire so many employees.

    Giant Eagle2019-09-08
  4. "OK if you don;t mind working all shifts"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Deli Clerk in Emsworth, PA
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Giant Eagle full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Over-time available Easy work Flexible schedule on weekdays

    Cons

    Other employees take off to do other work right when customers start to line up at the counter Sunday is mandatory

    Giant Eagle2019-09-14
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Can be super stressful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Deli Clerk in Canton, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Giant Eagle full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Two 15min breaks and some great co-workers

    Cons

    high stress from management, time management isn't a thing.

    Advice to Management

    Take a deep breath it will be okay don't make tour employees cry, thanks.

    Giant Eagle2019-08-15
  6. "Awful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Deli/Bakery Clerk in Lewis Center, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Giant Eagle full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Excellent Benefits, after 1 year

    Cons

    90% of Employees are unwilling to work, putting all the work on the rest of us. No OT, and the wages are awful for anyone not in a specialty position. All of the stores are understaffed, and with there being no OT, you could be the only one in your department for 6+ hours, trying to help customers, and trying to do the work of 3 people. No pension, so the only reason to work here is for some quick cash, but it's not even worth it for that.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Add bodies to departments, stop ignoring calls for help, and add incentives to get all the lazy workers to at least pretend to try.

    Giant Eagle2019-08-11
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Deli clerk"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Deli Clerk 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Giant Eagle part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    None really but I worked with good people

    Cons

    Rude customers and No hours given

    Giant Eagle2019-08-09
  8. "A good "college/ something-to-do" job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Deli Clerk 

    I have been working at Giant Eagle part-time

    Pros

    Loved working with people my age with similar interest (Moon Twp. Giant Eagle across from RMU). Talking to customers is fun and getting to know returning customers. Fast paced (especially on Sunday's). Always something to do. Its fun if you like who you are working with (some people can be a buzz kill)

    Cons

    Some customers can be irritating or rude but if you just stay calm and not argue with them everything will go smoothly

    Giant Eagle2019-06-05
  9. "Deli clerk"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Deli Clerk in Warren, OH

    I have been working at Giant Eagle for less than a year

    Pros

    Not a terrible place to work

    Cons

    Some customers can be super rude, but that's customer service

    Giant Eagle2018-11-13
  10. Helpful (6)

    "Don't settle for less than you're worth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Deli Clerk in Mentor-on-the-Lake, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Giant Eagle part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    People working there are great. My co-workers are some of the best people. Most of the customers are great too.

    Cons

    They like to run a skeleton crew. If they can make it work with fewer than necessary, they will. Always about saving money no matter the cost.

    Advice to Management

    Stop running a skeleton crew.

    Giant Eagle2018-10-11
Found 34 reviews