Giant Eagle Front End Coordinator Reviews | Glassdoor

Giant Eagle Front End Coordinator Reviews

Updated Oct 30, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.8
36%
Recommend to a Friend
21%
Approve of CEO
Giant Eagle CEO Laura Karet
Laura Karet
11 Ratings
  1. "Not Bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Front End Coordinator in Irwin, PA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Giant Eagle part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Flexible schedule, pay raise, and the day is never the same.

    Cons

    There are many pointless tasks.

    Giant Eagle2019-10-31
  2. "Going downhill with new changes, Once a great opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Front End Coordinator in Columbus, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Giant Eagle full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Ability to work with your schedule

    Cons

    Lack of advancement, Lack of training for new team members

    Advice to Management

    Listen to constructive criticism from team members and some customers, some answers actually worth looking into

    Giant Eagle2019-10-24
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Not horrible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Front End Coordinator 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Giant Eagle part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The scheduling is very flexible

    Cons

    The pay isn’t competitive with other stores that pay more

    Giant Eagle2019-08-13
  4. "Not a bad job for highschoool"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Front End Coordinator in Groveport, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Giant Eagle part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    the job was very flexible

    Cons

    the environment was not always ideal

    Giant Eagle2019-03-19
  5. "Change isn't always good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Front End Coordinator 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Giant Eagle part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I have a team that I would not trade for the world! Like any workplace there are hard workers and those just there to collect a paycheck. The environment over the past six years has been changing and the positive, fun atmosphere has lost its luster.

    Cons

    The company continues to change may aspects of the business, it is concerning when the sales are consistently where they should be, but then we have to cut 10.20.30 hours from the schedule. If other stores are not performing it should not reflect poorly on the high performers. There has been more positions eliminated and cut back in the store hours as well.My final concern is the company raising the minimum wage. I think this policy is wonderful, but being someone just above the minimum wage and having been employed for nearly six years it hurts morale when someone off the streets is making pennies less than I with significantly more knowledge of the operations.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Listening to your team members goes a long way. Store Management can understand and see the labor problems within the business, I wish the corporate elitists could as well. There are people who want the hours and could benefit significantly from the company investing more hours. I would also suggest that corporate explore a more fair system to compensate team members rather than raising minimum wage and turning off those who have put in their time. I know I will get the same generic thank you for your feedback and we will work to improve labor needs,but I would truly love to see this change happen!

    Show More
    Giant Eagle2019-03-24
  6. Helpful (9)

    "Does not value its team members"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Front End Coordinator in Carmel, IN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Giant Eagle part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Lower level employees are for the most part kind and enjoyable to work with

    Cons

    Doctor's notes are irrelevant unless you miss 5 full days of work, so you can become suspended or written up for being sick for less than 5 consecutive days, many of the team leaders and upper level management aren't willing to assist in their departments, instead they prefer to sit in their offices and yell demands over the radio for the lower level employees to do, or show and criticize the employees for not being able to keep up with all of the demands because management does not schedule enough people to adhere to the business' needs just to save a buck. The human resources department is incompetent. I was not paid for my PAID vacation because HR didn't put it in the system, and then told me that it was my fault for not ensuring that I received my direct deposit email and letting someone know ahead of time.. it's not my job to ensure that I get paid for working, unless they want to pay me an HR salary. Speaking of salaries... I was informed that my pay would be determined based on my prior experience and merits; I have three prior years of grocery experience and a Bachelor's degree, and was paid at the same starting rate as a 16 year old high school student that had never had a job before. They basically took advantage of the fact that I was a struggling recent grad in need of a job to pay my bills until I could find a job within my field and low-balled me, and apparently didn't even bother to review the resume or cover letter that I had submitted upon applying. They have refused to give me a full-time position, and keep me between 32-39.75 hours, which keeps them from having to provide me with any benefits, that I genuinely NEED. If you want to move up, hard work and competency doesn't matter, it's entirely based on favoritism. That being said most of the store leads are not qualified for their jobs, and lack the professional and leadership skills to perform their roles efficiently. I have been taken advantage of by this company, and it has soured my view of this organization and those in leadership positions. Management doesn't want advice or feedback, they want you to shut up, smile, and get over it. My boss always talks over me, interrupts me, and treats me like I'm incompetent and ignorant, when in reality, he's actually just insecure and intimidated by anyone that offers their opinion or input, because he knows he's not able to keep up with his position's expectations.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    You don't always need to promote from within, sometimes it's worth it to hire an outsider with the education, experience, skillsets, and expertise to perform the job well. Stop penny pinching and offer more full-time positions, and schedule more people, so that business and customer needs are ACTUALLY met. Stop hiring people whose availability does not meet the company's needs, and wasting money on people who are only willing or able to work one or two days a week in specific four or six hour windows. Pay your adult employees an actual living wage, it's Carmel, Indiana, the store makes PLENTY of money to pay people for the work that they do at a rate that they deserve.

    Show More
    Giant Eagle2018-06-15
  7. "Front-End Coordinator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Front-end Coordinator in Pittsburgh, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Giant Eagle part-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Long term Team -member friendship, decent pay, Opportunities for advancements.

    Cons

    Little to no recognition for hard work. Management favoritism. Unrealistic hours and days off.

    Advice to Management

    Management needs to recognize Front-End Team-members and bring moral up and the store would be more pleasant to not only shop at but to also work at.

    Giant Eagle2017-05-30
  8. Helpful (1)

    "It's going down-hill fast"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Front End Coordinator in Pittsburgh, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Giant Eagle part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    You can have a really flexible schedule if you work on the front-end. The union benefits for healthcare are amazing and truly the only reason I stayed so long.

    Cons

    They do not promote from with-in. There's tons of toxic managers and leaders. The company is going downhill fast.

    Advice to Management

    Restructure everyone at the top.

    Giant Eagle2017-05-22
  9. "Horrific"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Front End Coordinator 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Giant Eagle part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    There aren't any. They used to be flexible, offer hours, and ways to advance in the company but not anymore.

    Cons

    They don't care about their employees at all. There is gender favoritism. The union is a joke. Raises are a joke. Management is a joke. If they want you gone they will make something up to fire you even if they are forced to offer your job back later. Harassment accusations aren't investigated. Gossip everywhere. They open new positions and decide against them and fire people. Just run away and never look back.

    Advice to Management

    The way you treat employees will make or break your business. I hope a Wegmans opens in the area and takes all your business away.

    Giant Eagle2016-05-08
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Not what I expected and sadden by that."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Front End Coordinator in Carmel, IN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Giant Eagle

    Pros

    10% discount off their own brand. Perks concerning gym membership discount.

    Cons

    Compensation is below average and first raise was highly below average. You are crossed trained in every department in which you do the team leaders work. Managers sit in their offices while the coordinators do their jobs. Executives and department managers should be a little more team - family oriented and not put themselves above hourly workers. See it - Own it should apply to everyone. I watched executives walk by water on the floor, debris discarded on the floor, grocery carts, ect that was ignored. I personally felt they put themselves in a difference class from all the rest.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Do your jobs and not push them off onto your front end coordinators. When it's time for pay raises, allow them to reflect personal reviews given by management. Allow employee's to work the best position that they are fit for and not force them to go into a department that they really don't either qualify for or do not wish to work or applied for. Cross training is fine and useful until it is forced when one did not apply for that position. The position one did apply for should allow that employee to do that job.

    Show More
    Giant Eagle2016-01-25
Found 21 reviews