Giant Eagle Pharmacy Technician Reviews | Glassdoor

Giant Eagle Pharmacy Technician Reviews

Updated Feb 5, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
74%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
Giant Eagle CEO Laura Karet
Laura Karet
23 Ratings
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Turnover rate is high!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Pharmacy Technician in Freedom, PA
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Giant Eagle full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Giant Eagle provides fantastic benefits at a reasonable cost.

    Cons

    Central Fill - Mandatory Overtime, employee turnover rate is ridiculous

    Continue reading
    Giant Eagle2019-04-01

    Giant Eagle Response

    April 4, 2019Recruitment Marketing Specialist

    Thank you for your feedback! We appreciate you sharing your concerns regarding turnover and rate of pay. We always strive to pay a competitive wage for our Team Members. We will be sure to share your concerns with the appropriate teams.

    Continue reading
  2. "It's nice"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Pharmacy Technician 

    I worked at Giant Eagle part-time

    Pros

    Well paid, good training, good staff

    Cons

    pharmacy is hectic, can be high stress

    Giant Eagle2019-03-14

    Giant Eagle Response

    March 18, 2019Recruitment Marketing Specialist

    Thank you for your feedback! We're happy to hear you had a positive experience working for Giant Eagle!

    Continue reading
  3. "Not Bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Pharmacy Technician in Brunswick, OH
    Recommends

    I worked at Giant Eagle part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Above minimum wage (for techs), friendly coworkers, lots of hours

    Cons

    15 minute breaks, Human Resources wasn't as much help as you would think

    Giant Eagle2019-02-05

    Giant Eagle Response

    February 5, 2019Recruitment Marketing Specialist

    Thank you for your feedback! We're happy to hear you had a positive experience working for our Pharmacy. We will share your feedback regarding the length of breaks and helpfulness of Human Resources with the appropriate teams.

    Continue reading
  4. "Pharm tech"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Pharmacy Technician 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Giant Eagle part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I love the work environment very friendly

    Cons

    There isn’t any cons really

    Giant Eagle2019-01-23

    Giant Eagle Response

    January 24, 2019Recruitment Marketing Specialist

    Thank you for your feedback! We are thrilled to hear you are having a positive experience working for our Giant Eagle Pharmacy!

    Continue reading
  5. "Okay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Pharmacy Technician in Johnstown, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Giant Eagle part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Decent pay for no experience, fairly easy, provides training, in store discounts

    Cons

    Unorganized, poor communication, no set schedule

    Giant Eagle2019-01-16

    Giant Eagle Response

    January 17, 2019Recruitment Marketing Specialist

    Thank you for your feedback! We will share you concerns regarding the lack of communication and scheduling with the appropriate teams.

    Continue reading
  6. "Too new to have opinion"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Pharmacy Technician 

    I have been working at Giant Eagle full-time

    Pros

    offered opportunity without experience in pharmacy or retail

    Cons

    Not there long enough to have an opinion

    Giant Eagle2018-12-31

    Giant Eagle Response

    December 31, 2018Recruitment Marketing Specialist

    Thank you for your feedback!

    Continue reading
  7. "pharm tech"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Pharmacy Technician in Pittsburgh, PA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Giant Eagle part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I like that it is an entry level job for people looking to get into the health field. It pays better than housekeeping , retail, or fast food.

    Cons

    It is pretty stressful at times when the pharmacy is busy and it is understaffed (either from call offs or hour cutting by management). When I was first training it was difficult because their wasn't much staff so I didn't have a dedicated trainer. I had to learn as I go. A few co-workers were exasperated with me because they had to drop what they were doing to help the new girl when all hell was breaking out in the pharmacy.

    Continue reading
    Giant Eagle2018-07-21

    Giant Eagle Response

    July 26, 2018Recruitment Marketing Specialist

    Thank you for your feedback! We are sorry to hear about your concerns regarding understaffing and limited availability of trainers. We will work with our teams to shed light on this issue and look for ways to make improvements in the future.

    Continue reading
  8. "Pharmacy Technician"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Pharmacy Technician in Leechburg, PA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Giant Eagle part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Weekly paychecks, flexible scheduling, fun work environment

    Cons

    Working with the public can be daunting, have to work your share of evenings and weekends, some employees are.not team players

    Continue reading
    Giant Eagle2018-05-06

    Giant Eagle Response

    May 7, 2018Recruitment Marketing Specialist

    Thank you for your feedback regarding your time with Giant Eagle’s Pharmacy! We're glad to hear you enjoyed the flexible scheduling and you experienced a positive work environment. The nature of the retail industry demands our stores to be staffed in the evening and on weekends, and we also appreciate your suggestion about training for Rx Techs. We will submit your feedback to the appropriate team.

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (3)

    "EHHHH"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Pharmacy Technician in Frederick, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Giant Eagle part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The pharmacists are very nice and helpful and learned a lot about the pharmacist tech position

    Cons

    low pay no opportunity to move up

    Giant Eagle2018-02-23
  10. "Pharmacy Technician at Giant Eagle"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Pharmacy Technician in Pittsburgh, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Giant Eagle part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good way to gain knowledge of real word medicine. Clean and organized workplace environment. Pleasant staff and benefits for working for GE

    Cons

    The customers are often argumentative at checkout. Often problems with the online pharmacy software that lead to confusion and miscommunication.

    Continue reading
    Giant Eagle2017-10-18

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 68 reviews