Giant Eagle Reviews

Updated May 23, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.2
48%
Recommend to a Friend
48%
Approve of CEO
Giant Eagle CEO Laura Karet
Laura Karet
592 Ratings
Pros
  • "flexible schedule and good for a student(in 92 reviews)

  • "I love working in HR and helping Team Members within the organization(in 67 reviews)

Cons
  • "Full time not available unless you work your way up through managament(in 92 reviews)

  • "Upper management doesn’t let department managers run their departments(in 63 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "The giant eagle"

    5.0
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Giant Eagle part-time

    Pros

    It was a nice place for what it’s worth

    Cons

    Team members were not the best

    Continue reading
    Giant Eagle2020-05-20
  2. "Not terrible"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Front End Cashier 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Giant Eagle part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It's a nice high school job.

    Cons

    Raises weren't as often as I wished.

    Giant Eagle2020-05-15

    Giant Eagle Response

    May 18, 2020Recruitment Marketing Specialist

    Thank you for your feedback! We will be sure to share your concerns regarding the frequency of pay increases with the appropriate teams and look for opportunities to make improvements moving forward.

  3. "Thankless and Tiring Work"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Parking Lot Attendant in Seven Fields, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Giant Eagle part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The only high points I can really come up with about working for Giant Eagle is that the interview process was relatively easy.

    Cons

    There aren't enough people to ensure all of the required tasks are completed. I have to collect the carts. They go quickly and I have to fill them practically every ten minutes. My store doesn't have a mechanical cart pusher. Management will unfairly judge your performance on the job based on the few times they happen to see you doing something that isn't up to their standards of how they think the job should be done. They do it despite the fact that you have been working hard when they weren't watching you and looking for opportunities to write you up.

    Continue reading
    Giant Eagle2020-05-23
  4. "Great"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Stock Clerk in Carmel, IN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Giant Eagle part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very flexible scheduling Nice pay Our store manager is phenomenal, he genuinely cares

    Cons

    I honestly have no cons.

    Continue reading
    Giant Eagle2020-05-07

    Giant Eagle Response

    May 18, 2020Recruitment Marketing Specialist

    Thank you for your feedback! We're thrilled to hear you are enjoying your time with Giant Eagle!

  5. "Good place to work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Front End Team Leader in Columbus, OH
    Recommends

    I have been working at Giant Eagle full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good training, Good Managers, opportunity to grow

    Cons

    Can at times be long hours but no different from any other mgmt position.

    Giant Eagle2020-05-03

    Giant Eagle Response

    May 18, 2020Recruitment Marketing Specialist

    Thank you for your feedback!

  6. "Not as good as it seems"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Front End Cashier in Brook Park, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Giant Eagle part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Regular breaks, clean environment, relaxed dress code

    Cons

    Had to pay union dues every week which resulted in a wage below minimum wage

    Continue reading
    Giant Eagle2020-05-16

    Giant Eagle Response

    May 18, 2020Recruitment Marketing Specialist

    Thank you for your feedback! We always strive to provide a positive work experience for our Team Members and we are sorry to hear you did not have that experience. We will be sure to share your feedback with the appropriate teams.

  7. "Always Changing"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Floral Manager in Chardon, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Giant Eagle full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    It's a stable schedule for Floral Department Heads, generally you will write your own, and depending on the size of the store, it will be mostly the same week to week. It's unionized, with full time medical/dental/vision coverage, and some vacation time. It's very safety conscious, and you will get a ten percent discount on own brands. If you take a specialty medication, there is a PriceMDs program that sends you to the Caymans for a mini vacation a few times a year to see a doctor and get your medicine. It's one of the best things. During COVID-19 we are hiring. We are very busy and there are plenty of jobs, especially at Curbside and cashiering (but that is probably temporary-remember that when we return to normal that work will be gone- but if you need work right now, apply.)

    Cons

    My store has new leadership constantly. I have had eight different Store Leaders in eight years. Some last a few years, others stay just a couple of months before transfer. You must work very, very hard, and even in Floral, it's very physical work. Employees must work a long time to earn decent vacation time- I have been there fifteen years and I still only get three weeks of vacation and three personal days. Expect to work every weekend and every holiday, and as a Floral Manager or Lead, don't expect much help. This position of employment in the company is being slowly phased out- unofficially- and we no longer make corsages or do funeral work and it's not as creative as you might think. I no longer have any control over my stock and I am essentially a glorified clerk at this point. We have incredibly high turnover in our stores. Floral has nowhere else to get promoted to without retraining: it's kind of a dead end. But you can become a cake decorator, a meat cutter, or train for store leadership and those are your options. At least, they are without returning to school and getting another degree, which is what I am doing.

    Continue reading
    Giant Eagle2020-05-15
  8. "Giant Eagle Field Services"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Field Service Technician in Pittsburgh, PA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Giant Eagle full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    A lot of overtime is required

    Cons

    Management will play favorites based on personal interest not work ethics

    Giant Eagle2020-05-13
  9. "Bring back Eagle Video!"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Cashier 

    I have been working at Giant Eagle full-time

    Pros

    Good team, I liked all of my coworkers.

    Cons

    Tough work, and there is no more eagle video rental.

    Giant Eagle2020-04-27
  10. "It’s okay"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Personal Shopper 

    I have been working at Giant Eagle part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Part of a union Coworkers Always busy

    Cons

    Low pay Short breaks Always on your feet

    Giant Eagle2020-05-11
Found 1632 reviews