Giant Eagle Reviews

Updated May 20, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 2,481 of over 2,554 reviews

3.5
56%
Recommend to a Friend
58%
Approve of CEO
Giant Eagle CEO Laura Karet
Laura Karet
873 Ratings

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "Good benefits and you can get overtime if your not a leader.(in 171 reviews)
  • "People were great to work with and you were kept busy as I was on the night crew.(in 132 reviews)
  • "The coworkers are great and very helpful(in 98 reviews)
  • "flexible hours are very convenient(in 91 reviews)
  • "Flexible schedule and will give you as many hours u want(in 69 reviews)
Cons
  • "The low pay that comes with working in the retail sector despite its being “essential”.(in 189 reviews)
  • "Poor management not payed well n hours are terrible(in 159 reviews)
  • "Managers don't know how to do basic things like knowing how to run a register.(in 91 reviews)
  • "Upper management has absolutely no idea what's going on on the front line of the company.(in 47 reviews)
  • "No training hours available for new hires.(in 35 reviews)
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Giant Eagle and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Former Employee

    Easy job

    May 17, 2022 - Sales Associate/Cashier 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Flexible work schedule and easygoing

    Cons

    Low pay and high turnover rate for cashiers

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Good Starting Job, Employees are Meh

    Apr 13, 2022 - Cashier in Vermilion, OH
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    This was a good starting job for me once I got into high school and the first 3-4 months were great; I had great trainers and the hiring manager was pretty nice.

    Cons

    The thing is...the employees and the team leads. They don't seem to want to be your friend or be too kind to the teenagers. The manager rarely gave me days off and if you're looking to get PTO or PPTO, don't even try applying. When I did try to take off the manager would talk about seniority. I had an instance where I was still in school and they scheduled me into the morning because they assumed I would be off then got mad at me when I am not the one making the schedule. There's no communication but they expect to have some. I've tried numerous times to find a way to contact my higher-ups but sometimes it gets a little tricky because they so often take vacations and have other locations. Promotions are close to impossible to get even with years of experience. I should have listened to one of my customers who told me she was a former employee and said "they were going to fire me if I didn't show up for work, and I was supposed to take my exams that day. I needed to take those exams to graduate. Find a better job". I've moved on to a better job that gets me PTO, PPTO, and the schedule I want without excuses and death stares. Know your worth, if they don't treat you right...I suggest you leave cause it's not getting better.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  3. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Good benefits if you can put up with lower pay and customers

    May 19, 2022 - Team Member in Irwin, PA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Benefits are above average even for a part time postion. Job is not very difficult in terms of work load. Easy to learn most departments.

    Cons

    Management is a gamble. Discrimination between other workers. Customers have a tendency to be awful. Pay is not great and does not get much better with time.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Progressive Company until it comes to salary

    May 13, 2022 - Recruiting 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Progressive, inclusive company, team oriented, advancement opportunities

    Cons

    2% pay raises with inflation over 7% AFTER announcing how great they did financially, regardless of how good or bad your pointless performance review was. Bonuses are OK.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  5. 3.0
    Current Employee

    beginning is hard

    May 20, 2022 - Grocery Stocker 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    benefit of insurance all cover & you can transfer position in their system &willing to add more hours with payment.

    Cons

    manager and team member always change and look forward new good position to transfer.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 4.0
    Former Employee

    Make sure all the shelves were stocked

    May 15, 2022 - Grocery Stocker 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Easy work nice people good environment

    Cons

    Low pay low hours boring

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Current Employee

    good job for when in school

    May 13, 2022 - Front End Cashier 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    work well with availability and hours

    Cons

    i have no cons here

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    new employee

    Mar 18, 2022 - Cashier 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Giant store in NE Philly just open up and I really like working for Giant. I am just part time right now and the coach help me with learning all the different ways to scan checks, credit cards and food stamp. All the coaches are very good.

    Cons

    Many of the employees call out a lot and I do not get a break. I am on my feet for my shift and feel I need to have a break so I can move around or sit down for 15 minutes

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 2.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    not worth it

    May 17, 2022 - Cashier in Columbus, OH
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    only thing is its close to home

    Cons

    they don't like team members talking about employment things , got told I was going to be written up for telling some one my wage

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 8 years

    Not the greatest place to work

    May 15, 2022 - Pharmacy Technician in Youngstown, OH
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    A lot to learn about medication and data entry.

    Cons

    No training. Always understaffed and not a place for teamwork. Coworkers are always finding ways to get others in trouble.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 2,481 Reviews

Giant Eagle Reviews FAQs

Giant Eagle has an overall rating of 3.5 out of 5, based on over 2,554 reviews left anonymously by employees. 56% of employees would recommend working at Giant Eagle to a friend and 44% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has decreased by -2% over the last 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, Giant Eagle employees rate their compensation and benefits as 3.2 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at Giant Eagle. This rating has decreased by -3% over the last 12 months.

56% of Giant Eagle employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated Giant Eagle 3.3 out of 5 for work life balance, 3.4 for culture and values and 3.2 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at Giant Eagle to be work life balance, coworkers, benefits and the cons to be culture, career development, management.

Popular Careers with Giant Eagle Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Giant Eagle? Share Your Experiences

or