Giant Eagle Reviews | Glassdoor

Giant Eagle Reviews

Updated April 20, 2019
1,471 reviews

Filter

Filter


3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Giant Eagle CEO Laura Karet
Laura Karet
533 Ratings

Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
Cons
  • "Full time not available unless you work your way up through managament" (in 90 reviews)

  • "You couldn't trust upper management" (in 60 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Featured Review

    Helpful (2)

    "Giant Eagle"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources in Pittsburgh, PA
    Current Employee - Human Resources in Pittsburgh, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Giant Eagle full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    I have worked for Giant Eagle for over 15 yrs and was able to advance my career from a PT entry level position to corporate management. The company leaders really care about the team members as reflected by the many offerings that the company has in keeping it's employees engaged and healthy; bonus incentives, Live Well challenges, Team member point of view surveys and the Team Member Care Fund, just to name a few. I am so proud to be a part of the Giant Eagle team.

    Cons

    I can't think of any cons!

    Advice to Management

    N/A

    Giant Eagle Response

    Jul 5, 2018 – Recruitment Marketing Specialist

    Thank you for your feedback and for your more than 10 years of service! We're thrilled to hear you've been able to grow your career with Giant Eagle!


  2. "cashier"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    Pros

    benefits were very good and nice

    Cons

    working holidays was not ideal

    Giant Eagle Response

    Dec 20, 2018 – Recruitment Marketing Specialist

    Thank you for your feedback! We're happy to hear you enjoy your Team Member benefits. Unfortunately, the nature of the retail industry demands certain holidays to be staffed, but we will be sure to... More

  3. "Great place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Coordinator in South Euclid, OH
    Current Employee - Coordinator in South Euclid, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Giant Eagle part-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    You meet a lot of regulars who become like family.

    Cons

    No cons, great place to be

    Advice to Management

    Stay the same

    Giant Eagle Response

    Apr 18, 2019 – Recruitment Marketing Specialist

    Thank you for your feedback! We are thrilled to hear you enjoy working at Giant Eagle! :)


  4. "FFM Production"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Production Worker in New Freedom, PA
    Current Employee - Production Worker in New Freedom, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Giant Eagle full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Advancement Opportunities
    Varying Positions
    Benefit options after your probation period.
    Many Locations

    Cons

    HR is kinda worthless
    Lack of communication

    Advice to Management

    Grow up

    Giant Eagle Response

    Apr 11, 2019 – Recruitment Marketing Specialist

    Thank you for your feedback! We will be sure to share your concerns with the appropriate teams and look for opportunities to improve.


  5. "Decent but work elsewhere if posssible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Giant Eagle full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Good benefits and flexible schedule. 10% off own products

    Cons

    Understaffed, underpaid relative to competitors, corporate rarely has a realistic idea of ground level operations


  6. "I enjoyed my time here, with one exception."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Grocery Stock Clerk in Pittsburgh, PA
    Former Employee - Grocery Stock Clerk in Pittsburgh, PA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Giant Eagle full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    I worked at a Market District. I really enjoyed my coworkers, and I made a lot of friends. The break room was great, and the food was really good. It was a great environment aside from one of my managers.

    Cons

    One of my managers constantly tried to antagonize me, which caused me to leave along with some other issues not involving the store. But when I reached out to the store to ask for my job back they just completely ignored me

    Advice to Management

    Listen to the employees when they complain about the

    Giant Eagle Response

    Apr 18, 2019 – Recruitment Marketing Specialist

    Thank you for your feedback! We always strive to provide a positive work environment for our Team Members, and we are sorry to hear you had a negative experience with one of your leaders. We will... More


  7. Helpful (1)

    "It pay the bills"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    Current Employee - Produce Clerk in Gibsonia, PA
    Current Employee - Produce Clerk in Gibsonia, PA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Giant Eagle full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Flexible scheduling, 15 minute breaks and 30 minute lunches provided, decent benefits such as health insurance, 401(k), life insurance, etc.

    Cons

    repetitive, inconsistent schedule, limited room for advancement

    Giant Eagle Response

    Apr 1, 2019 – Recruitment Marketing Specialist

    Thank you for your feedback & for more than 3 years of service! We will be sure to share your concerns regarding scheduling and room for advancement with the appropriate teams.

  8. "Nice mgmt, clean environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Part Time Cashier in Fairlawn, OH
    Former Employee - Part Time Cashier in Fairlawn, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Giant Eagle part-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Supervisory staff was fair, courteous, accommodating and friendly. Respect for employee schedules, break time, and questions.

    Cons

    Pay was low, standing on feet for long periods

    Advice to Management

    I loved working for this company even tho pay was low. It was a joy to come to work because the staff was friendly, sincere, and understanding and I loved my customers. Clean and bright environment. Higher pay might guarantee employee loyalty and length of stay!

    Giant Eagle Response

    Apr 1, 2019 – Recruitment Marketing Specialist

    Thank you so much for your feedback and suggestions! We're thrilled to hear you had a positive experience working for Giant Eagle. We always strive to pay a competitive wage for our Team Members. We... More


  9. "some things need sorted out"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Hot Foods Assistant Team Lead in Columbus, OH
    Current Employee - Hot Foods Assistant Team Lead in Columbus, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Giant Eagle full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    great atmosphere, wonderful people, fantastic bosses

    Cons

    their bonus program is all over the place. everyone in my department is getting a sign on bonus except for me because I applied for the job at the wrong time. Too bad I needed work at the wrong time. I asked if I could still get the sign on bonus and they said no.

    Advice to Management

    fix the bonus program so we get good people who will stay, and no one feels like I do , that a great injustice has occurred.

    Giant Eagle Response

    Apr 1, 2019 – Recruitment Marketing Specialist

    Thank you so much for your feedback! We will be sure to share your concerns regarding our sign-on bonus procedure and look for opportunities to make improvements.


  10. "It was ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Front End Cashier
    Former Employee - Front End Cashier
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Giant Eagle part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    great people to work with
    flexible schedule

    Cons

    standing for extending periods of time

    Giant Eagle Response

    Apr 1, 2019 – Recruitment Marketing Specialist

    Thank you for your feedback!