KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Giant Eagle

Is this your company?

Giant Eagle

Add a Review

Giant Eagle Employee Reviews about "flexible schedule"

Updated Dec 1, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 141 of over 2,698 reviews

3.4
52%
Recommend to a Friend
54%
Approve of CEO
Giant Eagle CEO Laura Karet
Laura Karet
939 Ratings

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "Good benefits and convienient to buy lunch and drinks(in 174 reviews)
  • "People were great to work with and you were kept busy as I was on the night crew.(in 128 reviews)
  • "flexible hours are very convenient(in 105 reviews)
  • "The coworkers are great and very helpful(in 102 reviews)
  • "flexible schedule and good for a student(in 68 reviews)
Cons
  • "The low pay that comes with working in the retail sector despite its being “essential”.(in 216 reviews)
  • "Poor management will easily drive you nuts(in 165 reviews)
  • "Managers don't know how to do basic things like knowing how to run a register.(in 97 reviews)
  • "Horrible upper management, doesn’t seem to know what they are doing.(in 50 reviews)
  • "No training hours available for new hires.(in 41 reviews)
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Giant Eagle and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?

Reviews about "flexible schedule"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 3.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Okay

    Aug 4, 2015 - Prepared Foods Clerk in Rocky River, OH
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    You get a flexible schedule and co-workers are typically very friendly making for a positive work environment.

    Cons

    Pay is very low made worse by high union dues. Full time does not exist and one must wait over six months to be considered for a promotion despite experience.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    fun place

    Nov 17, 2019 - Cashier 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    flexible schedule and good for a student

    Cons

    pay wasn't that great really

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Giant Eagle Response

    Recruitment Marketing Specialist

    Thank you for your feedback! We're happy to hear you enjoyed working for Giant Eagle :) We always strive to pay a competitive wage for our Team Members. We will be sure to share your concerns regarding rate of pay with the appropriate team.

  3. 2.0
    Current Employee

    The eye in the sky is always watching

    Oct 9, 2010 -  in Altoona, PA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The job itself is fairly easy and not labor intensive. Management is also very flexible with your work schedule and is willing to work with you.

    Cons

    Everything you do is closely monitored to a ridiculous degree as the owners of the store are in every day and do more than their fair share to make sure no employee is given even a small bit of breathing room.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  4. 5.0
    Former Employee

    Great part time job!

    Mar 23, 2016 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    This was my first job I ever had. They were very flexible with me leaving for college and are very good with working around your school schedule while in high school. I later got to work in the Eagle's Nest because I'm in education and have my clearances. Very easy training.

    Cons

    I did not get raises as often as hoped. I worked there for many years.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Ehh

    Dec 10, 2016 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    There is a flexible work schedule and I generally like the people I work with. Also they work with me for days I need off.

    Cons

    Pretty much no chance for occupational growth. The pay isn't very good. Although the pay is just based on how long you've been there cuz it's union

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Terrible

    Oct 19, 2021 - Cashier in Elizabeth, PA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Flexible schedule and ehhh ok

    Cons

    Rude managers and poor attitude

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 4.0
    Former Employee

    Bakery Clerk

    Jun 28, 2021 - Bakery Clerk in New Albany, OH
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Friendly team oriented environment. Not too stressful and flexible work schedule.

    Cons

    Understaffed which led to stressful shifts. Customer service based position which can be a con to some individuals.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Giant Eagle Response

    Recruitment Marketing Specialist

    Thank you for your feedback. We will be sure to share your concerns regarding staffing with the appropriate teams.

  8. 2.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Under Paid, No Work-Life Balance

    Aug 26, 2019 - Sales Associate 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Management are friendly and attempt to be relatable Most co-workers are friendly

    Cons

    Pay is abysmal for non-specialty departments. Competitive Wage isn't competitive at all, other stores in the area may pay 1, 2 or even 3 more an hour and the claim that he measly 10% off already overpriced grocery products is more than a fair compensation is just unfair. Inconsistent Scheduling prevents reliable work-life balance. Flexible schedule only exists in so far that you are expected to always be available to give up your life to the store. Often scheduled to work closing shifts, and then expected to be back in to open the department the very next day. Prices are to high, prompting complaints from customers that we can't do anything about. Certain Departments feel like they get special treatment over others in both pay and tasks. Constant department changes, such as adding new items and discontinuing popular items shows lack of understanding of the regional location.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  9. 1.0
    Former Employee

    Terrible

    Sep 9, 2021 - Sales Representative in Conway, PA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Flexible schedule and will give you as many hours u want

    Cons

    Do not pay enough money to work there

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Former Employee

    Easy job

    May 17, 2022 - Sales Associate/Cashier 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Flexible work schedule and easygoing

    Cons

    Low pay and high turnover rate for cashiers

    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 141 Reviews

Popular Careers with Giant Eagle Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Giant Eagle? Share Your Experiences

or

Reviews by Job Title

Giant Eagle Photos

+ Add Photo
Giant Eagle photo of: One of our Team Members at our Pine Township Market District.
Giant Eagle photo of: North Canton GetGo Grand Opening
Giant Eagle photo of: Elyria GetGo Grand Opening
Giant Eagle photo of: Greater Cleveland Food Bank partnership
Giant Eagle photo of: Greater Cleveland Food Bank
Giant Eagle photo of: Jeanette GetGo Grand Opening
Giant Eagle photo of: Food Bank volunteer event.
See All Photos

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

Giant Eagle Job Seekers Also Viewed

Walmart Logo
Walmart

3.3

104,588 Reviews
Compare