Giant Eagle "flexible schedule" Reviews | Glassdoor

Giant Eagle Employee Reviews about "flexible schedule"

Updated Nov 17, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.2
52%
Recommend to a Friend
55%
Approve of CEO
Giant Eagle CEO Laura Karet
Laura Karet
583 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Full time not available unless you work your way up through managament(in 91 reviews)

  • "Upper management doesn’t let department managers run their departments(in 62 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "flexible schedule"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "fun place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Cashier 

    I worked at Giant Eagle part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    flexible schedule and good for a student

    Cons

    pay wasn't that great really

    Giant Eagle2019-11-17
  2. "Not Bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Front End Coordinator in Irwin, PA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Giant Eagle part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Flexible schedule, pay raise, and the day is never the same.

    Cons

    There are many pointless tasks.

    Giant Eagle2019-10-31
  3. "OK if you don;t mind working all shifts"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Deli Clerk in Emsworth, PA
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Giant Eagle full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Over-time available Easy work Flexible schedule on weekdays

    Cons

    Other employees take off to do other work right when customers start to line up at the counter Sunday is mandatory

    Giant Eagle2019-09-14
  4. "Great place to build your career!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources Coordinator in Columbus, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Giant Eagle full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Flexible schedule and set my own hours. - Positive support group within my department. - Growth potential. - I love working in HR and helping Team Members within the organization. - I love coming to work each day with different objectives and challenges.

    Cons

    - A lot of corporate opportunities are available in Pittsburgh. It would be nice to see some of these positions available in the Columbus market. There is a lot of talent in Columbus which remains untapped! - Remote work would be a nice option for even more flexibility.

    Advice to Management

    Keep allowing GetGo & Giant Eagle to be large with a private, small company feel. I think this really helps to differentiate our business from the competitors. I'd love to see the Columbus market continue to grow!

    Giant Eagle2019-08-07
  5. "Ups and Down"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Crew Lead in South Euclid, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Giant Eagle full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Medical benefits and flexible scheduling

    Cons

    Recruiting/staffing (they don't pay people enough for what they expect) Lousy raises

    Advice to Management

    Starting pay should be higher. Recruiting should be more robust and discerning with the candidates we are sent.

    Giant Eagle2019-05-16
  6. "Ok job for high school and college students"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Clerk 
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Giant Eagle part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Trained in various departments to learn new skills. Had an awesome manager. Some people were good to work with. Flexible schedule, worked around my classes.

    Cons

    Low wages. Disrespect from managers and customers. Barely any career advancements. Sexism was rampant.

    Advice to Management

    Fire more people rather than ignore the issues.

    Giant Eagle2019-05-23
  7. "Great beginner job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Stocker in Elizabeth, PA

    I worked at Giant Eagle part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Flexible schedule Coworkers were nice Work was simple

    Cons

    Managers are inexperienced and not professional

    Giant Eagle2019-05-15
  8. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Self-Checkout Operator in Powell, OH
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Giant Eagle part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible scheduling, friendly management, good pay

    Cons

    Can get boring when slow.

    Giant Eagle2019-04-23
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Definitely not what you expect from this Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Store Leader in Indianapolis, IN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Giant Eagle full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Benefits Flexible Schedule (For Hourly Team Members)

    Cons

    I have worked for Giant Eagle for almost three years now. I can honestly say that as a salary member of management you are under appreciated. Assistant leaders make around 10 grand less a year than a store leader and they pretty much have the EXACT same job. Being told that corporate is in town basically strikes fear in everyone. There are way too many Audits! Salary Management gets the same amount of... vacation time as a full time team member. Salary is extremely low for the amount of hours that they will make you work. Full of false promises. (Will you get promoted? Or will you get screwed over?) I could write a book but that would take too much time!

    Show More
    Giant Eagle2019-05-20
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Decent but work elsewhere if posssible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Giant Eagle full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good benefits and flexible schedule. 10% off own products

    Cons

    Understaffed, underpaid relative to competitors, corporate rarely has a realistic idea of ground level operations

    Giant Eagle2019-04-20
Found 89 reviews