Giant Eagle Employee Reviews about "part time"

Updated Dec 6, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.4
57%
Recommend to a Friend
64%
Approve of CEO
Giant Eagle CEO Laura Karet
Laura Karet
681 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Upper management our of touch with day to day operations(in 68 reviews)

  • "Late hours for part time work, working holidays, retail(in 57 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Reviews about "part time"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great overall workplace"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Part Time Cashier 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Giant Eagle part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Well managed, and flexible scheduling for students looking for part time work.

    Cons

    Work can get monotonous at times.

    Giant Eagle Response

    November 16, 2020Recruitment Marketing Specialist

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us! We're happy to hear you had a positive experience working with Giant Eagle!

  2. "Awful"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Front End Associate 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Giant Eagle full-time

    Pros

    The medical insurance is good.

    Cons

    Employees not respected by management, lied too, discrimination. Leaders do not back the employees in their other department when they are being cross-grained, if you are even lucky enough to be cross-grained. If you are full time they and have to take time off for medical reasons upper management doesn't think anything of brining you back part time at a reduced pay and not telling you that those are the conditions that you are being brought back under, even if you come back earlier than planned to help them out.

    Continue reading

    Giant Eagle Response

    December 7, 2020Recruitment Marketing Specialist

    Thank you for your feedback. We always strive to provide a positive experience for our Team Members and we are sorry to hear you did not have that experience. At Giant Eagle, we do not tolerate discrimination of any kind. We would encourage you to reach out to MyHRConnection to discuss this situation or you may use our Ethics Action Line at 1-800-498-8889 to report your experience.


  3. "LOW PAY hard work"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Produce Clerk in Vermilion, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Giant Eagle part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It's a job if anything

    Cons

    Low Pay 3 month "Practice Period" So many tasks for little pay Will NOT work around having more than 1 job Part-time only unless you're management

    Giant Eagle Response

    November 11, 2020Recruitment Marketing Specialist

    Thank you for your feedback! We always strive to provide a positive experience for our Team Members and we're sorry to hear you are not having that experience. We will share your concerns regarding rate of pay, flexibility with scheduling and availability of full-time work with the appropriate teams to look for opportunities to make improvements moving forward.

  4. "good starter job, good if you are full time with benefits"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Clerk 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Giant Eagle part-time

    Pros

    exactly the title says, good place to start to gain experience

    Cons

    anywhere in the part-time hours and then you are not treated super well. Depends on your manager as well

    Continue reading
  5. "Cashier"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier in Edinboro, PA

    I worked at Giant Eagle part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Customers, Team Members, Easy job

    Cons

    Minimum wage, part time, must be flexible

    Giant Eagle Response

    October 5, 2020Recruitment Marketing Specialist

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us!

  6. "Produce Stock Clerk"

    3.0
    Former Employee - Produce Stock Clerk in Pittsburgh, PA

    I worked at Giant Eagle part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Part time work on seasonal basis

    Cons

    Small raises every year or so

    Giant Eagle Response

    September 4, 2020Recruitment Marketing Specialist

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us!

  7. "Giant eagle"

    5.0
    Former Employee - Cashier 

    I worked at Giant Eagle part-time

    Pros

    Part time work mainly evenings

    Cons

    Working holidays and it's busy

    Giant Eagle Response

    August 3, 2020Recruitment Marketing Specialist

    Thank you for your feedback and for sharing your concerns. The nature of the retail industry demands that Team Members work around the holidays so that we can best serve our guests.

  8. "That person who fixes the self scan when something goes wrong? I do that. And ssoo much more,"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Front End Coordinator in Pittsburgh, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Giant Eagle part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    *Disclaimer: I have worked in the weirdest little Giant Eagle for seven years. But I'm only 23. So I'm in a weird place.* BENEFITS EVEN FOR PART-TIME. VISION, DENTAL, HEALTH. You are usually "promoted" to coordinator "from within" at my store, but this is because they have an immediate need for people. You get a $0.50 premium pay on top of whatever your wage is as a cashier. You get a little more flexibility in terms of where you can be and what you can do.

    Cons

    A lot is asked of you. You have to count all the drawers, keep the place clean, put up cigarettes and candy, ensure the entire front end gets their break on time, and, if (when) the place is short staffed, you are expected to get on a register and coordinate, at the same time. You are expected to have a good grasp of all policy and solve problems. You may be asked to be trained in other positions (customer service, beer and wine), in case those departments are short staffed. I often think that the fifty cents is not worth all of the responsibility that's added on.

    Continue reading
  9. "Great company to work for"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Front End Cashier in Canfield, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Giant Eagle part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Raises, great benefits offered for even part time employees, will work around college schedules

    Cons

    I don’t have really anything negative to say

    Giant Eagle Response

    February 13, 2020Recruitment Marketing Specialist

    Thank you for your feedback! We're thrilled to hear you had a positive experience working for Giant Eagle!

  10. "Overall good, but usually understaffed"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cash Office Clerk in Lewis Center, OH
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Giant Eagle part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Always recognized for achievements, great co-workers, culture

    Cons

    always understaffed and management expects you to pick up extra shifts, even if you don't want to. A lot of worked there as their career rather than a part time job, so you were expected to take it as seriously as them.

    Continue reading

    Giant Eagle Response

    February 13, 2020Recruitment Marketing Specialist

    Thank you for your feedback and for sharing your concerns regarding staffing with us! We will pass this feedback on to the appropriate team and look for opportunities to make improvements.

Viewing 1 - 10 of 111 English Reviews