KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Giant Eagle

Is this your company?

Giant Eagle

Add a Review

Giant Eagle Employee Reviews about "team members"

Updated Dec 5, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 137 of over 2,696 reviews

3.4
52%
Recommend to a Friend
54%
Approve of CEO
Giant Eagle CEO Laura Karet
Laura Karet
939 Ratings

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "Good benefits and convienient to buy lunch and drinks(in 178 reviews)
  • "People were great to work with and you were kept busy as I was on the night crew.(in 134 reviews)
  • "Very easy job and have flexible hours(in 100 reviews)
  • "The coworkers are great and very helpful(in 99 reviews)
  • "flexible schedule and good for a student(in 74 reviews)
Cons
  • "The low pay that comes with working in the retail sector despite its being “essential”.(in 208 reviews)
  • "Poor management not payed well n hours are terrible(in 171 reviews)
  • "Managers don't know how to do basic things like knowing how to run a register.(in 102 reviews)
  • "Horrible upper management, doesn’t seem to know what they are doing.(in 49 reviews)
  • "No training hours available for new hires.(in 36 reviews)
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Giant Eagle and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?

Reviews about "team members"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 4.0
    Former Employee

    Room for Growth

    May 23, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Constant support from management and team members that really want you to succeed. Family atmosphere.

    Cons

    The ever changing schedule working in the Retail Leadership program was hard to manage life outside of work. You can be placed in a different store any day.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Giant Eagle Response

    Recruitment Marketing Specialist

    Thank you for your feedback! We're glad to hear you felt supported in your career aspirations. Thank you for your suggestion and feedback regarding our Retail Leadership Development Program. We will submit your feedback to the appropriate team for review.

  2. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 8 years

    Once was rising and now is falling!

    Jan 26, 2017 - Store Leader in Springfield, OH
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Grocery business is steady and always needed. As a part time employee they are willing to work with your schedule. Pay for salary team member is average.

    Cons

    As a salary leader they will work you to death. They cut hours and give all employees an unrealistic level of responsibility. They want to hire robots, like minded individuals and not free thinkers (just do what I say). Corporate seems to know customer base better than store leaders and other team members at store level. Product freshness and customer service was a key role in competing in a fierce market... Now they get prepacked meat just like Walmart and they still try to charge premium price for a low quality product. Constant long grocery lines on weekends because customer service is at an all time low... The produce, pharmacy and liquor department (excluding fuel perks) are all they have left.. Imagine dedicating your life to a company and one day they decide to let you go because you now make to much money... There own greed got them to the penny pinching state and it will ultimately be what causes them to sell many stores. Note to business owners.. if you own any type of business really. Don't build stores on top of each other or less than 10 miles away in any direction... If you do you will often move profit from store A into store B from an already existing customer and when you do this with hundreds or thousands of existing customers your new store does not make that much more if you subtract the preexisting customers monies but you double labor costs, costs of goods, rental and utilities​ cost, you double shrink expenses, and healthcare costs and only half of monies coming in is new monies.... It leads to big problems and we all know to be successful you have to bring in more money than you pay out. Greed gets everyone at some point. I'm glad I got out before this all came to a head.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  3. 1.0
    Current Employee

    The saying "don't work too hard" is one to really consider

    Sep 1, 2016 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    It's pretty straight forwards once you understand how to use the register Team members around can be helpful and friendly, depending on who you work with.

    Cons

    Management is awful, seems to praise the lazy and the ones that suck up Team members that work hard don't seem to get any appreciation as oppose to the lazy members The hours are awful and aren't given out fairly

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Pros

    - Family owned and operated - Team Leader Development Program - Inclusion and Diversity - Commitment to Ethics - Performance Appraisal Process - Developmental Action Plans - Retail and Corperate recruiting teams desire to hire internal candidates - Competitive Wages and Benefits - TM Perks & Life Resources Program - Bonus Program and Incentives

    Cons

    - Work/life balance can sometimes be a challenge, especially during the holidays - Some disconnect between retail and corperate team members

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful

    Giant Eagle Response

    Recruitment Marketing Specialist

    Thank you for your feedback and for your ongoing commitment to Giant Eagle and our customers! We're so glad to hear Giant Eagle has impacted your life in such a positive way! Also, we are sorry to hear you are experiencing issues with work/life balance. We want to help! Our store HR teams have an open door policy, please make sure that you are utilizing them, reaching out to talk to your leader or contact MyHRConnection. Also, please consider using Life Resources to see if they might be able to provide some assistance.

  5. 1.0
    Former Contractor, more than 1 year

    Giant Eagle put it's employees at risk during the Coronavirus Pandemic

    Apr 12, 2020 - Database Applications Developer in Pittsburgh, PA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Nice and friendly team members .

    Cons

    During the Coronavirus pandemic, Giant Eagle asked all of it's employees to work in retail as cashiers, curb-side delivery assistant etc, regardless of their position/title. Those hired under contracts who refused to work these jobs that exposed them to the virus, were told that their contract will end immediately if they refused to comply. I was working as Database application developer/Software developer, I refused to work as a cashier and my contract was terminated by the end of the day by Giant Eagle on the same day. Working retail was not in my resume, I was not hired as a cashier and it was insane for them to expect us to work in the store stocking shelves. They had no regards for their employees and their only concern was to win new customers. Most of my team members were parents and they asked us to stop working our normal jobs from home and deal with customers, they asked us to put our lives on the line by dangling our employment by a thread. I was not going to risk getting infected and then infecting my family. I chose mine and my family's health and that cost me my job.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  6. 4.0
    Former Employee

    Good company

    Aug 6, 2015 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The staff members were all great to work for and it truly was a team environment.

    Cons

    Even though I came with 4 years of grocery experiences, I was not able to advance as promised upon my hiring.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 2.0
    Current Employee

    Wasted opportunity

    Nov 2, 2016 - Team Leader (Manager) in Pittsburgh, PA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Decent pay for salaried leaders Disability insurance 401k Extremely nice lower and middle management

    Cons

    The entire culture has changed with the new CEO. Team members are no longer the focus. It's all about money. Your team members are the heart and soul of your company, but all they want to do it cut jobs or cut pay. Then after the cuts you expect the remaining team members to pick up the slack. I haven't spent a holiday with my family in 10 years. What thanks do it get? New mandatory 6 day work weeks. Giant Eagle talks the talk, but doesn't walk the walk. You talk about wanting to be like Wegmans or Publix. They treat their employees as their number one asset. Until you realize that, you will never be as successful as they are.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  8. 1.0
    Current Employee

    Horrible place, no work/life balance

    Mar 6, 2012 -  
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Money is okay, it's profitable in Pittsburgh but good luck looking like a valuable employee anywhere else.

    Cons

    It's only locations are in PA and OH with a store or two in Maryland. Their HR is horrific. No moral or work ethic found in the coorporate offices. THey could care less about individual valuable team members that have been an asset to the company.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 2.0
    Current Employee

    Kitchen manager

    Sep 2, 2019 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Every week payday Morning shifts allow you to have a full day after work Benefits

    Cons

    Upper management doesn’t let department managers run their departments. Even tho we are responsible for our departments and get held accountable for our teams mistakes but we aren’t aloud to write up/ hold team-members accountable for their work or actions. Only salaried leaders are aloud to write them up which doesn’t happen most of the time so in turn the team members know that they have no consequences. They give you a false sense of power to make a difference and develop team members. Also if you try and use their”open door policy “ you get no response even from hr . The entire company has the attitude ignore the problems until they go away.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Life at giant eagle

    Feb 23, 2021 - Prepared Foods Team Member in Parma, OH
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    amazing and caring team members

    Cons

    management not working together ever, drama with some workers

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Giant Eagle Response

    Recruitment Marketing Specialist

    Thank you for your feedback and for sharing your concerns with us. We will be sure to share your feedback regarding working together with the appropriate team.

Viewing 1 - 10 of 137 Reviews

Popular Careers with Giant Eagle Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Giant Eagle? Share Your Experiences

or

Reviews by Job Title

Giant Eagle Photos

+ Add Photo
Giant Eagle photo of: One of our Team Members at our Pine Township Market District.
Giant Eagle photo of: North Canton GetGo Grand Opening
Giant Eagle photo of: Elyria GetGo Grand Opening
Giant Eagle photo of: Greater Cleveland Food Bank partnership
Giant Eagle photo of: Greater Cleveland Food Bank
Giant Eagle photo of: Jeanette GetGo Grand Opening
Giant Eagle photo of: Food Bank volunteer event.
See All Photos

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

Giant Eagle Job Seekers Also Viewed

Walmart Logo
Walmart

3.3

104,485 Reviews
Compare