Giant Eagle "upper management" Reviews | Glassdoor

Giant Eagle Employee Reviews about "upper management"

Updated Sep 2, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.2
52%
Recommend to a Friend
55%
Approve of CEO
Giant Eagle CEO Laura Karet
Laura Karet
583 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Full time not available unless you work your way up through managament(in 91 reviews)

  • "Upper management doesn’t let department managers run their departments(in 62 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "upper management"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Not a bad job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Giant Eagle part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fair pay increases, with good team management.

    Cons

    Poor upper management, they don't really care about the separate departments.

    Giant Eagle2018-01-22
  2. "Kitchen manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Giant Eagle full-time

    Pros

    Every week payday Morning shifts allow you to have a full day after work Benefits

    Cons

    Upper management doesn’t let department managers run their departments. Even tho we are responsible for our departments and get held accountable for our teams mistakes but we aren’t aloud to write up/ hold team-members accountable for their work or actions. Only salaried leaders are aloud to write them up which doesn’t happen most of the time so in turn the team members know that they have no consequences. They give you a false sense of power to make a difference and develop team members. Also if you try and use their”open door policy “ you get no response even from hr . The entire company has the attitude ignore the problems until they go away.

    Continue reading
    Giant Eagle2019-09-02
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. "Lacks Morals"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Leader in Cleveland, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Giant Eagle full-time

    Pros

    Decent Pay, could be a great company if they actually lived by their core values.

    Cons

    Store Management is unprofessional, it’s very clicky, if you’re not part of the “in crowd” you get treated poorly. External employees hired on are treated horribly and trained by people who really dislike their job. Upper Management (area managers/regional managers) barely visit stores and when they do, it’s always something.

    Continue reading
    Giant Eagle2019-07-31

    Giant Eagle Response

    August 1, 2019Recruitment Marketing Intern

    Thank you for your feedback! We always strive to provide a positive work experience for our Team Members. We are sorry to hear you did not have that experience and we will direct your concerns to the appropriate teams.

    Continue reading
  5. "Disappointing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Store Leader in Pittsburgh, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Giant Eagle full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The pay is decent, benefits start 1st day for salaried leaders. Plenty room for advancement due to constant turnover.

    Cons

    Scheduled 45 hrs. weekly which is a joke. They work their salaries leaders to death. Expected to accomplish an unreasonable amount of duties and work extended hours with zero appreciation. I get being salaried, but this is the worst I’ve ever seen. Spend more time working positions then managing. Upper management is sneaky and underhanded. Training is terrible!! It’s extremely stressful to the point where it affects your health. It’s very cliquey, so if your external, your out from day 1.

    Continue reading
    Giant Eagle2019-07-09

    Giant Eagle Response

    July 15, 2019Recruitment Marketing Intern

    Thank you for your feedback! We always strive to provide a positive work environment, and we are sorry to hear you are not having that experience. As for the specific issues you would like to address, we would encourage you to discuss with your HR representative, direct leader, or by calling MyHRConnection.

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (5)

    "Failing company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cake Decorator in Columbus, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Giant Eagle full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Decent benefits for hourly employees, heath insurance discounts if you pass certain regulations, flexible scheduling if they don't implement their new "automatic scheduling" that a computer decides.

    Cons

    Pay is entirely too low. The execs say people aren't leaving because of the pay, they say people are leaving because the lack of training. That is so wrong. People are leaving because the workload is increased while the pay is limited. This year, they lowered the highest raise amount allowed, making it only possible to get a .45 raise if you were the perfect employee . They made it even harder to obtain raises. Some co-workers who have been there for years had gotten only a .10 raise, while raises in the past we're higher. How does that make sense? They took away pensions recently. Upper management of stores do not care about hourly associates unless they're 'buddies'. I have worked at 2 different stores with store leaders who never said hi to you in the morning, or asked how the department was doing unless they were speaking go the department leads. It makes for a very disconnected relationship between so called "leaders" and their teams. There is something fundamentally wrong with the way this company runs their stores. I soon see them closing most Giant Eagles and focusing more on their Get-Go's.

    Continue reading
    Giant Eagle2018-12-29

    Giant Eagle Response

    December 31, 2018Recruitment Marketing Specialist

    Thank you for your feedback! We always strive to pay a competitive wage and to provide a positive work experience for our Team Members. We will certainly share your concerns regarding rate of pay, pay increases and the disconnect between management and our Hourly Team Members with the appropriate teams.

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Horrible Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Giant Eagle full-time

    Pros

    The pay they offered was great

    Cons

    Upper management has no clue

    Giant Eagle2018-12-17
  8. Helpful (7)

    "Salaried Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Retail Store Manager in Cleveland, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Giant Eagle for more than 5 years

    Pros

    10% Team member discount on Giant Eagle products.

    Cons

    If You're a salaried manager on the GetGo side expect long hours. When there's a call off and no one wants to cover you will be covering. The last 2 District Leaders I had really didn't care how much I worked. I worked almost a month straight between 10-14 hours a day and they didn't provide any help to get me time off. There was a lot of favoritism. If you weren't someone they liked they simply ignored you. Way too may advancements for people who didn't do their jobs or had just started with the company and were moved up because they were liked. You couldn't trust upper management.

    Continue reading
    Giant Eagle2018-04-18

    Giant Eagle Response

    April 23, 2018Recruitment Marketing Specialist

    Thank you for your feedback and suggestions. We are sorry to hear you experienced favoritism and had concerns regarding advancement opportunities. We always strive for a positive work environment, and we will submit your feedback to the appropriate teams so we can address them in the future.

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (9)

    "Inept Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Stock Clerk in Brook Park, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Giant Eagle full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Strong union contracts - my hourly pay is probably a little lower than other stores, but my health benefits have no weekly payment required. The cheap health insurance is the only real selling point of the job. Note though that this changes with your region, not every local union has this great deal.

    Cons

    Upper management (aka Corporate) seems clueless about how the stores operate. They constantly generate new lists of things that need doing, yet somehow stocking the shelves with product for people to buy is NOT on the list. This should be priority one for a store. Several stores closed last year, and I have no doubt more will be closing soon (my store is likely on the short list. Not a week goes by where management is satisfied with our sales figures). To control costs, their only solution seems to be cutting employee hours. My department has lost two full time people in the last year, and yet they are still cutting hours from those of us who remain. My team is constantly criticized that we haven't finished our work, even though we are now short more than 80 hours/week versus last year. I have to constantly rotate what parts of my job don't get done just so that management will shut up about certain things being unfinished.

    Continue reading
    Giant Eagle2018-02-07
  10. Helpful (6)

    "pharmacist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Giant Eagle full-time

    Pros

    Many locations for opportunities to work.

    Cons

    No support from corporate and upper management.

    Continue reading
    Giant Eagle2018-02-09
  11. Helpful (5)

    "Mess of a company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Giant Eagle part-time

    Pros

    -nice coworkers -high pay for Part Time work -discount on GE brands

    Cons

    -Deli is understaffed. I was a part time employee getting tons of hours with few real benefits. -Communication with upper management. Employee handbook is very out of date and doesn't have correct dress code info or contact info for management. -I was singled out for not having "official Giant Eagle" slip resistant shoes, despite the fact that none of the other workers had any slip resistant shoes at all. I got more comfortable ones and was forced to get the poor quality Giant Eagle ones. -Punch in clocks are WAY out of date and take too long to use. You type in your code on a 10 year old touch screen and then scan your fingerprint. It takes forever to load and does not work 70% of the time. -Managers do not stay for very long. In the time I worked here, I had 3 different managers over 1 year because corporate kept transferring them to other stores. -Not enough breaks. I worked from 3:30-7:30PM most days and had one 15 minute break for dinner. Really? -Minors in the Deli can't use box cutters or knives, but they can use knives in the Seafood Dept. It does not make any sense -Handheld devices are out of date. It takes too long to scan items and does not work sometimes. -Deli leaders did not know how to order the right amount of stock for the floor. We had 8 full Honey Roasted Turkeys at one time and they kept ordering more (why?). We also ran out of other items very frequently. -Each Deli leader/manager has different ways of doing everything, and if you don't do something to that manager's liking, then you get yelled at. If I did something at 4PM with one manager, a few hours later at 7PM, the overnight manager did it a completely different way. It was very confusing keeping up with each one of their "needs." -Application process is horrendous. My HR Connection is the service they use for online applications and Employee Portals and it is so bad. I was locked out of my account for weeks and nobody helped me fix it, even after numerous calls and emails with corporate and My HRC support.

    Continue reading
    Giant Eagle2017-12-03
Found 62 reviews