Giant Eagle Employee Reviews about "upper management"

Updated Dec 23, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.4
57%
Recommend to a Friend
64%
Approve of CEO
Giant Eagle CEO Laura Karet
Laura Karet
681 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Upper management our of touch with day to day operations(in 68 reviews)

  • "Late hours for part time work, working holidays, retail(in 57 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Reviews about "upper management"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Not a bad job"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Giant Eagle part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fair pay increases, with good team management.

    Cons

    Poor upper management, they don't really care about the separate departments.

  2. "Great Co-Workers, poor upper managment"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Hempfield, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Giant Eagle part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great environment, good benefits, flexible hours

    Cons

    horrible upper management, severe lack of diversity despite claiming to be "equal opportunity", almost impossible to get full-time

    Continue reading

    Giant Eagle Response

    December 24, 2020Recruitment Marketing Specialist

    Thank you for your feedback! We will be sure to share your feedback regarding management, availability of full time positions and opportunities to increase diversity with the appropriate teams and look for opportunities to improve moving forward.


  3. "Awful"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Front End Associate 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Giant Eagle full-time

    Pros

    The medical insurance is good.

    Cons

    Employees not respected by management, lied too, discrimination. Leaders do not back the employees in their other department when they are being cross-grained, if you are even lucky enough to be cross-grained. If you are full time they and have to take time off for medical reasons upper management doesn't think anything of brining you back part time at a reduced pay and not telling you that those are the conditions that you are being brought back under, even if you come back earlier than planned to help them out.

    Continue reading

    Giant Eagle Response

    December 7, 2020Recruitment Marketing Specialist

    Thank you for your feedback. We always strive to provide a positive experience for our Team Members and we are sorry to hear you did not have that experience. At Giant Eagle, we do not tolerate discrimination of any kind. We would encourage you to reach out to MyHRConnection to discuss this situation or you may use our Ethics Action Line at 1-800-498-8889 to report your experience.

  4. "Run!"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - A Little Bit of Everything in Mayfield, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Giant Eagle part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    If you stayed on the front end you had decent hours and got to talk with lots of people all the time. Decent pay and benefits with union

    Cons

    Zero work life balance. Upper management doesnt care about your personal needs and shows zero respect for everything you are.

    Continue reading

    Giant Eagle Response

    November 30, 2020Recruitment Marketing Specialist

    Thank you for your feedback! We always strive to provide a positive work experience for our Team Members and we are sorry to hear you did not have this experience. We will be sure to share your feedback with the appropriate teams.

  5. "Cooking not bad"

    3.0
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Prep/Line Cook 

    I worked at Giant Eagle part-time

    Pros

    Actually got breaks and lunch,

    Cons

    Upper management our of touch with day to day operations

    Continue reading

    Giant Eagle Response

    October 12, 2020Recruitment Marketing Specialist

    Thank you for your feedback and for more than 10 years of service! We will be sure to share your feedback with the appropriate teams to review our procedures.

  6. "Okay place to work"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Grocery Clerk in Tallmadge, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Giant Eagle part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The work is pretty simple and easy, although can be demanding.

    Cons

    Upper Management Lack of quality communication Pay is low Hours can be cut seemingly out of nowhere

    Continue reading

    Giant Eagle Response

    June 17, 2020Recruitment Marketing Specialist

    Thank you for your feedback! We always strive to provide a positive experience for our Team Members, and we are sorry to hear you are not having that experience. We will be sure to share your concerns regarding management, communication, rate of pay and hours being cut with the appropriate teams, so we can look for opportunities to make improvements.

  7. "Good company"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Meat Manager in Pittsburgh, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Giant Eagle full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good pay and great benefits

    Cons

    Upper management our of touch with day to day operations

    Giant Eagle Response

    March 5, 2020Recruitment Marketing Specialist

    Thank you for your feedback and for more than 10 years of service! We appreciate you sharing your concerns and giving us an opportunity to address those concerns. We'll be sure to share your feedback with the appropriate teams.

  8. "Kitchen manager"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Giant Eagle full-time

    Pros

    Every week payday Morning shifts allow you to have a full day after work Benefits

    Cons

    Upper management doesn’t let department managers run their departments. Even tho we are responsible for our departments and get held accountable for our teams mistakes but we aren’t aloud to write up/ hold team-members accountable for their work or actions. Only salaried leaders are aloud to write them up which doesn’t happen most of the time so in turn the team members know that they have no consequences. They give you a false sense of power to make a difference and develop team members. Also if you try and use their”open door policy “ you get no response even from hr . The entire company has the attitude ignore the problems until they go away.

    Continue reading
  9. "Lacks Morals"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Leader in Cleveland, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Giant Eagle full-time

    Pros

    Decent Pay, could be a great company if they actually lived by their core values.

    Cons

    Store Management is unprofessional, it’s very clicky, if you’re not part of the “in crowd” you get treated poorly. External employees hired on are treated horribly and trained by people who really dislike their job. Upper Management (area managers/regional managers) barely visit stores and when they do, it’s always something.

    Continue reading

    Giant Eagle Response

    August 1, 2019Recruitment Marketing Intern

    Thank you for your feedback! We always strive to provide a positive work experience for our Team Members. We are sorry to hear you did not have that experience and we will direct your concerns to the appropriate teams.

  10. "Disappointing"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Store Leader in Pittsburgh, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Giant Eagle full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The pay is decent, benefits start 1st day for salaried leaders. Plenty room for advancement due to constant turnover.

    Cons

    Scheduled 45 hrs. weekly which is a joke. They work their salaries leaders to death. Expected to accomplish an unreasonable amount of duties and work extended hours with zero appreciation. I get being salaried, but this is the worst I’ve ever seen. Spend more time working positions then managing. Upper management is sneaky and underhanded. Training is terrible!! It’s extremely stressful to the point where it affects your health. It’s very cliquey, so if your external, your out from day 1.

    Continue reading

    Giant Eagle Response

    July 15, 2019Recruitment Marketing Intern

    Thank you for your feedback! We always strive to provide a positive work environment, and we are sorry to hear you are not having that experience. As for the specific issues you would like to address, we would encourage you to discuss with your HR representative, direct leader, or by calling MyHRConnection.

Viewing 1 - 10 of 68 English Reviews