Giant Food Stores Bagger Reviews | Glassdoor

Giant Food Stores Bagger Reviews

Updated Aug 29, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.1
3%
Recommend to a Friend
Giant Food Stores President Nicholas Bertram
Nicholas Bertram
0 Rating
  1. "Great first job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Bagger 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Giant Food Stores

    Pros

    Good pay, plenty of shifts to take. Flexible schedules, good work life balance

    Cons

    Not many cons, things going well so far.

    Giant Food Stores2015-07-09
  2. "Need to find another job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bagger in Thorndale, PA
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Giant Food Stores part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Can’t say anything good about this job other then, I met my fiancé here

    Cons

    Not enough hours, checkout coaches are rude, not enough help, management isn’t willing to help you

    Advice to Management

    Get better management listen to employees more

    Giant Food Stores2019-08-29
  3. "It's a grocery store"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bagger in Shrewsbury, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Giant Food Stores part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Very flexible hours depending on your boss, its a job with a paycheck and you can get vacation even as a part time employee.

    Cons

    Its a grocery store, so its only going to be so great. Customers can be rude at times, and Sundays are very busy. Upper management is very disconnected from the people who actually get the work done.

    Advice to Management

    Spend more time working and actually engaging with employees. Developing a tuition reimbursement program for people going to school to be something other than a manager would be awesome. It would turn the company into a very desirable place to work.

    Giant Food Stores2016-12-08
  4. "Cashier"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Cashier/Bagger in Springfield, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Giant Food Stores

    Pros

    getting the money and the other cashiers were nice people to work with.

    Cons

    you didn't get off when you needed and the people who were higher up were rude.

    Advice to Management

    give the people doing the dirty work more credit

    Giant Food Stores2016-11-14
  5. "Ok to deal with"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bagger in Thorndale, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Giant Food Stores part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Nice coworkers, make good friends

    Cons

    Horrible hours, rude checkout coaches

    Giant Food Stores2016-11-05
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Love/Hate Relationship with Giant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cashier/Bagger in Shillington, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Giant Food Stores part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Paid every Friday -All scheduling and requesting days off is done online -Decent starting pay

    Cons

    -Scheduling is very inconsistent and scheduled times are very random -Some customers are terribly rude -Hours are long -No employee discount

    Advice to Management

    Make a constant schedule and offer some sort of employee discount

    Giant Food Stores2016-06-27
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Bagger/Cart Attendant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Bagger in Thorndale, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Giant Food Stores

    Pros

    Great entry level position, steady hours, willing to work with your availability which is good for anyone who is college and you really do get to know the people your working with in your department.

    Cons

    Low pay (When I worked there, I made a little over minimum wage), there really isn't any form of standard with the hiring process (They never asked for a drug test or any form of a background check). no real chance to move up in the company or change your position because HR doesn't want to do their job and go through the training process, also with being a cart attendant you really don't get help at all because cashier coaches feel that one person can handle retrieving carts from three storage corrals in the parking lot on a Sunday. Also no real benefit to working there, employees get the same benefits an everyday shopper gets.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Make water easily accessible to cart attendants so they don't have to go back inside (or pay a dollar from the vending machines underneath the building. Raise the amount of pay for a cart attendant (When I started I was told I wouldn't make alot because I wasn't "handling equipment" but honestly with the weather they deal with, they need something more then a bit above minimum wage).

    Giant Food Stores2016-05-24
  8. "Bagger"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bagger 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Giant Food Stores part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Really nice co-workers and customers Store discounts

    Cons

    long hours pushing carts outside in the very hot sun

    Advice to Management

    Be nice to your senior citizens!!!

    Giant Food Stores2015-06-18
  9. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Cashier/Bagger 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Giant Food Stores

    Pros

    Great environment and caring co-workers.

    Cons

    When you have your bad days.

    Giant Food Stores2015-05-27
  10. "Not bad, not great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bagger in Limerick, PA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Giant Food Stores part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    laid-back, extra Sunday pay, flexible hours

    Cons

    bad management, no communication, don't care too much about employees

    Advice to Management

    hire better managers

    Giant Food Stores2014-02-11
Found 10 reviews