Giant Food Stores Checkout Coach Reviews | Glassdoor

Giant Food Stores Checkout Coach Reviews

Updated Sep 12, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.4
75%
Recommend to a Friend
Giant Food Stores President Nicholas Bertram
Nicholas Bertram
0 Rating
  1. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Checkout Coach 

    I have been working at Giant Food Stores part-time

    Pros

    Pay is above minimum wage, nice work environment, friendly coworkers and management.

    Cons

    Lack of 32 hour flex positions available.

    Giant Food Stores2019-09-12
  2. "Amazing opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Checkout Coach 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Giant Food Stores full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Benefits and plenty of room for growth.

    Cons

    Obviously the schedule, but it’s retail!

    Giant Food Stores2019-03-19
  3. "Giant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Checkout Coach in Hummelstown, PA

    I have been working at Giant Food Stores full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Flexible schedule, good benefits, coworkers generally become like family.

    Cons

    PTO is only available to part timers after two years. You have to work really hard to advance within the company.

    Giant Food Stores2018-06-21
  4. "Losing sight of what matters"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Checkout Coach in Lancaster, PA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Giant Food Stores full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits (medical, dental, and vision), good vacation pay and personal days

    Cons

    Open on holidays (the one exception is Christmas), rollouts of programs intended to give better customer service but serious lack of labor to perform with confidence, no consistent employee discount (we get a 5% one maybe 3-4 times a year vs Target which gives 10% year round)

    Advice to Management

    If you’re going to rollout programs like 4th in Line, give us enough help to do our job well. Our customer focus is good but it seems like we’re getting away from caring about the employees.

    Giant Food Stores2017-09-26
  5. Helpful (6)

    "Absolutely horrible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Checkout Coach in Huntingdon Valley, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Giant Food Stores part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The only pro is the associates. I would not have been there that long if they weren't there. Insurance is ok

    Cons

    To many programs. They think it's all good for the customers like 4th in line. The company doesn't realize the stress level the employees are under. Cutting part time employees that have insurance down to 26 hours so no more insurance for them. Stay away!!!!! It's really sad when managers are leaving left and right. What happened to the motto when you treat your employees right they will treat the customers right.

    Advice to Management

    Treat your employees right. All of the really good employees that would be moving up are moving out. Start caring more.

    Giant Food Stores2017-09-18
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Checkout Coach"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Checkout Coach in West Chester, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Giant Food Stores part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great co workers. Made many great friends here.

    Cons

    Horrible management. Nobody is on the same pages. Management ignores corporate policy and then blames associates to cover their backs.

    Advice to Management

    Learn to be human. You are not holier than thou. And let's face it, you're in middle management. You don't have to be smart to become a grocery store manager. Get over yourselves. Oh, and whatever brains you do have, use them.

    Giant Food Stores2017-06-12
  7. "Decent But Not Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Checkout Coach in Royersford, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Giant Food Stores part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Somewhat simple jobs, flexible hours

    Cons

    Employees can be unreliable at times. Sometimes proper discipline isn't given out when it should be.

    Advice to Management

    More discipline to those who don't meet expectations in the workplace

    Giant Food Stores2017-03-27
  8. "Good First Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Checkout Coach 
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Giant Food Stores part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Giant has flexible scheduling for part-timers, so it is a good job to have in addition to other commitments.

    Cons

    It is a customer service job, so it tests patience, money isn't great, and is monotonous work.

    Advice to Management

    Training of new associates is inadequate. There is not enough training and current performance reviews are not taken seriously. There is also not enough accountability for associates.

    Giant Food Stores2017-01-27
  9. "Not fantastic"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Checkout Coach 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Giant Food Stores part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I loved some people I worked with. Benefits were good. Was able to work in different departments if I wanted to.

    Cons

    Hours were absolutely horrible. I was part time but worked full time plus overtime. Very unfair that I wasn't able to get the perks of full time even tho I worked my but off.

    Advice to Management

    Please go back to promotions because of merit also raises based on merit.

    Giant Food Stores2016-07-09
  10. "Great as a part time job not a career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Checkout Coach in Exton, PA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Giant Food Stores part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great team of employees, great place to work part time if you need someone to work around your hours

    Cons

    Very difficult to advance if you want to make a career move. You have to either wait for someone ahead of you to leave or transfer to another store. Not a lot of full time positions available

    Advice to Management

    N/A

    Giant Food Stores2016-04-29
Found 19 reviews