Giant Food Stores Customer Service Associate Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Customer Service Associate

Giant Food Stores Customer Service Associate Reviews

Updated Nov 12, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
100%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Giant Food Stores President Nicholas Bertram
Nicholas Bertram
1 Rating
  1. "Good environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Associate 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Giant Food Stores part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good work environment. Ability to advance.

    Cons

    Full time advancement wasnt available.

    Giant Food Stores2019-03-14
  2. "Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - CSA - Customer Service Associate 

    I have been working at Giant Food Stores part-time

    Pros

    Flexible schedule and friendly environment

    Cons

    Work to pay ratio.

    Giant Food Stores2019-11-12
  3. "Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Associate 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Giant Food Stores full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Management genuinely cares about and gets to know their employees

    Cons

    Non consistent hours, flow of communication between management and employees was inconsistent

    Advice to Management

    more clarity on projection of future hours and some level of full time hours guaranteed between busy and slow sales quarters would be nice. Work better with department managers to give them more wiggle room within each departments budget for hours

    Giant Food Stores2019-09-02
  4. "Great Co-Workers, Great customers and Pretty cool environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Associate in Plymouth Meeting, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Giant Food Stores part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    You find that at jobs like this you'll love about 90% of the people. The other 10% are the typical jerks that you run into throughout life. Your goal in places like this is to get in, show up and be consistent. When you've identified yourself as an asset to the workplace, management/supervisors will be much more willing to work with you when issues like calling out at the last minute arise. Overall, Giant is a fun and fast-paced environment and I would recommend those who are students, young adults and those looking to make a couple extra bucks a month to jump on-board. If you're looking to get in and work your way up, it's possible, but you might find that you have to shift around to different positions and stores in order to find a window to do so. It's a commitment that may or may not be worth it depending on your own personal goals.

    Show More

    Cons

    -Low pay for hourly associates -Not much full-time opportunity for hourly associates -

    Advice to Management

    Fight to give better pay to your associates.

    Giant Food Stores2018-11-25
  5. "Giant management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Associate in Nazareth, PA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Giant Food Stores part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I love my job here at giant food stores, they have flexible hours and my coworkers are very friendly

    Cons

    The management can be a hassle to work with and often cause my job to have some back fall of their responsibilities.

    Advice to Management

    Communicate more with your employees. Especially the customer service desk and department managers because sometimes we don't even know what's happening and end up getting the angry customers to deal with.

    Giant Food Stores2017-09-27
  6. "Great Compay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Associate in Yardley, PA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Giant Food Stores part-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    give you time off when you need it, work with your flexibility for your schedule

    Cons

    not enough pay, not enough benefits

    Advice to Management

    listen to employees more

    Giant Food Stores2017-07-23
  7. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Associate in Philadelphia, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Giant Food Stores part-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    I worked here all through high school, undergrad, and law school. It is a great company and cares deeply about their associates. The management does an excellent job at working to fit your shifts into your school schedules.

    Cons

    No big cons but one would be sometimes the store could feel understaffed.

    Giant Food Stores2017-06-11
  8. "Good Starter Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Associate in Richmond, VA

    I worked at Giant Food Stores part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work with your Hours Team like work Environment Oppurtunity to work various departments if you show great work ethic

    Cons

    decent pay but doesnt amount to the stress level of upset customers

    Advice to Management

    Stop acting annoyed with your employees if they call for help

    Giant Food Stores2016-12-20
  9. "Fun place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Associate 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Giant Food Stores part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It's a fun and easy place to work as long as you do your job well and people know your a good worker.

    Cons

    Some of the technology like pinpads and registers constantly have problems and require fixing. Naked it harder for the employees

    Advice to Management

    Try to get better equipment

    Giant Food Stores2016-09-12
  10. "started as cashier worked up to service desk"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Associate in Sinking Spring, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Giant Food Stores part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    starting pay for everyone in PA is 9.00 & 10.00 on Sunday's which is awesome, flexible schedule & friendly people

    Cons

    drama between some of the girls, people call off a lot, sometimes staying later than scheduled & always being called to come in

    Giant Food Stores2015-08-24
Found 12 reviews