Giant Food Stores Customer Service Reviews | Glassdoor

Giant Food Stores Customer Service Reviews

Updated Nov 28, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.3
22%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
Giant Food Stores President Nicholas Bertram
Nicholas Bertram
2 Ratings
  1. "Good environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Associate 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Giant Food Stores part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good work environment. Ability to advance.

    Cons

    Full time advancement wasnt available.

    Giant Food Stores2019-03-14
  2. "My little over 1 yr experience with Giant Food Stores has been very difficult to deal with."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Berwick, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Giant Food Stores part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Being helpful with customers, helping other co-workers, and do my job.

    Cons

    Dealing with nasty people, drunks, drug addicts, and druggies. Poor communication with management and co-workers.

    Giant Food Stores2019-11-28
  3. "Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - CSA - Customer Service Associate 

    I have been working at Giant Food Stores part-time

    Pros

    Flexible schedule and friendly environment

    Cons

    Work to pay ratio.

    Giant Food Stores2019-11-12
  4. "Not bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Giant Food Stores part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Fun easy environment good work place

    Cons

    Favorites picked. Petty management meh

    Advice to Management

    Listen better

    Giant Food Stores2019-11-08
  5. "Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Associate 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Giant Food Stores full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Management genuinely cares about and gets to know their employees

    Cons

    Non consistent hours, flow of communication between management and employees was inconsistent

    Advice to Management

    more clarity on projection of future hours and some level of full time hours guaranteed between busy and slow sales quarters would be nice. Work better with department managers to give them more wiggle room within each departments budget for hours

    Giant Food Stores2019-09-02
  6. "Great place to work if you do your job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service 

    I have been working at Giant Food Stores full-time

    Pros

    has advancements to move but its a hard job and be prepared to work

    Cons

    a lot of hard work and mean customers

    Giant Food Stores2019-07-23
  7. "Normal Retail Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Supervisor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Giant Food Stores part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Room for growth if you excel

    Cons

    Grocery retail, retail schedule, on your feet all day

    Advice to Management

    Listen to employees with suggestions

    Giant Food Stores2019-02-25
  8. "Great Co-Workers, Great customers and Pretty cool environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Associate in Plymouth Meeting, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Giant Food Stores part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    You find that at jobs like this you'll love about 90% of the people. The other 10% are the typical jerks that you run into throughout life. Your goal in places like this is to get in, show up and be consistent. When you've identified yourself as an asset to the workplace, management/supervisors will be much more willing to work with you when issues like calling out at the last minute arise. Overall, Giant is a fun and fast-paced environment and I would recommend those who are students, young adults and those looking to make a couple extra bucks a month to jump on-board. If you're looking to get in and work your way up, it's possible, but you might find that you have to shift around to different positions and stores in order to find a window to do so. It's a commitment that may or may not be worth it depending on your own personal goals.

    Show More

    Cons

    -Low pay for hourly associates -Not much full-time opportunity for hourly associates -

    Advice to Management

    Fight to give better pay to your associates.

    Giant Food Stores2018-11-25
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Terrible work/life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Customer Service Manager in Manassas, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Giant Food Stores for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Insurance is good. Nothing else, they made me write at least five words.

    Cons

    Schedule, upper management, staffing inadequacies

    Advice to Management

    Become educated.

    Giant Food Stores2018-08-02
  10. "Giant management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Associate in Nazareth, PA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Giant Food Stores part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I love my job here at giant food stores, they have flexible hours and my coworkers are very friendly

    Cons

    The management can be a hassle to work with and often cause my job to have some back fall of their responsibilities.

    Advice to Management

    Communicate more with your employees. Especially the customer service desk and department managers because sometimes we don't even know what's happening and end up getting the angry customers to deal with.

    Giant Food Stores2017-09-27
Found 29 reviews