Giant Food Stores Deli Clerk Reviews | Glassdoor

Giant Food Stores Deli Clerk Reviews

Updated Jul 22, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.0
42%
Recommend to a Friend
Giant Food Stores President Nicholas Bertram
Nicholas Bertram
0 Rating
  1. "Deli clerk"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Deli Clerk in Westward Ho, GA

    I worked at Giant Food Stores

    Pros

    Great employees. Experience gained. Easy.

    Cons

    Could offer more hours or a slight pay increase

    Advice to Management

    None really

    Giant Food Stores2018-10-27
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Calm and Relaxed Working Environment with Some Issues"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Deli Clerk in Hatfield, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Giant Food Stores part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Hours are flexible, training is thorough, and the environment is very even keel. HR is also very responsive with social issues.

    Cons

    Low pay rate, plus some low level management issues. They push anti-union right from initial training videos and throughout the job.

    Advice to Management

    ACTUALLY follow up on issues of sexual harassment / co-worker conflict

    Giant Food Stores2019-07-16
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Frustrating"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Deli Clerk in State College, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Giant Food Stores part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Hours are very flexible, I’ve never had an issue with scheduling and If there was a day that I needed off management had no issue with employees swapping days as long as we brought it to their attention. Team was great in the deli, there were a few bad apples but they didn’t last very long. Store usually provides snacks & drinks in the employee break room.

    Cons

    Management is mixed and it seemed like no one was on the same page. There was a lot of politics involved in my store, a game of chess almost to get some people fired or demoted. Most of my managers didn’t like each other and were pretty bad at keeping the professionalism. There were a lot of passive aggressive attitudes. There was a great deal of favoritism in my store and “cliques” . If you were stuck working nights 5-6 days a week it was because you weren’t a favorite. Part-time workers don’t get any of the perks full-time employees do and it’s nearly impossible to get a full-time position. The only opportunity to get a full-time position is either when someone retired or quit. On your 2 year anniversary is when you qualify for paid vacation and they average that based on the hours you worked ( for me 32 hours which translates to 4 days which is barely anything at all)

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Get on the same page and get better perks for your employees! You represent them during meetings

    Giant Food Stores2019-07-23
  4. Helpful (1)

    "TONS of micro-management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Deli Clerk in West Chester, PA

    I worked at Giant Food Stores part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    easy work, steady job, and nice co-workers.

    Cons

    Managers are always watching over you. They are lazy and make the workers under them do all of the work that they do not want to do. The managers expect way to much out of you. Terrible work life balance. They make the schedule week to week and your days off always vary so you can not plan ahead.

    Giant Food Stores2019-04-03
  5. "they work you alot without adequate breaks"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Deli Clerk in Wynnewood, PA

    I worked at Giant Food Stores part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    they do give good amount of hours

    Cons

    no breaks in a 8 hour shift expect 30 min unpaid lunch break

    Giant Food Stores2019-01-26
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Worst place I've worked"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Deli Clerk in Forks Township, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Giant Food Stores part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Decent hours is about it

    Cons

    Poor management, employees that don't follow any health codes, consistently failed health inspections

    Giant Food Stores2018-10-12
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Not quite where you should start off in your career."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Deli Clerk in Easton, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Giant Food Stores part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    1. Relatively friendly management, typically. 2. More or less flexible with taking days off.

    Cons

    1. Bad employees are ignored. 2. Poor salary. 3. Expected to "find your own way". Will not usually be helped with difficult situations.

    Advice to Management

    A great deal of problems can be avoided by being more assertive with employees about rules.

    Giant Food Stores2017-10-13
  8. "Deli clerk"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Deli Clerk in Richmond, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Giant Food Stores part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    They give you really good hrs as a part time employee

    Cons

    There will be days that you have to deal with rude customers

    Advice to Management

    None

    Giant Food Stores2017-02-11
  9. "Deli"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Deli Clerk in Oakton, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Giant Food Stores part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    None that I am aware of.

    Cons

    Lack of training, Filthy work conditions. Poor management.

    Advice to Management

    Open your eyes and listen

    Giant Food Stores2017-03-13
  10. "Great Place to Work Part-time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    Current Employee - Deli Clerk in West Chester, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Giant Food Stores part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Friendly/family-like atmosphere - Work with your schedule as a part-time worker - Work keeps you busy throughout your entire shift

    Cons

    - No set schedule (due to being a part-time worker)

    Giant Food Stores2016-09-28
Found 18 reviews