Giant Food Stores Produce Associate Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Produce Associate

Giant Food Stores Produce Associate Reviews

Updated Nov 7, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.2
38%
Recommend to a Friend
98%
Approve of CEO
Giant Food Stores President Nicholas Bertram
Nicholas Bertram
3 Ratings
  1. "Produce associate and cashier"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Produce Associate in Lehigh Valley, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Giant Food Stores for more than a year

    Pros

    I loved working at giant. The people were really great to work for.

    Cons

    I really can't find anything bad to say about the staff I worked with or the management.

    Giant Food Stores2016-04-30
  2. "Decent place to work at"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Produce Associate 
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Giant Food Stores part-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great people to work with and usually good environment!

    Cons

    Can get extremely busy on some days with the amount of people in your department and also management can be a pain in the butt!

    Giant Food Stores2019-11-07
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Job can be easy, but depending on your manager it could be terrible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Produce Associate in Ephrata, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Giant Food Stores part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Weekly Paycheck, Easy Job, Usually don't have to stay extra hrs

    Cons

    Weekend and holiday hours, Lower pay for the hours, managers can be terrible to deal with, very hard to move up to full time

    Giant Food Stores2019-08-14
  4. "no recogition"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Produce Associate in Levittown, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Giant Food Stores part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    there is always work to do

    Cons

    lack of hours

    Advice to Management

    promote within to reliable dedicated employees

    Giant Food Stores2019-07-31
  5. "Good part time job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Produce Associate 

    I have been working at Giant Food Stores part-time

    Pros

    Flexible scheduling and good management

    Cons

    No cons that I can think of. Some people may not enjoy working nights and weekends though.

    Giant Food Stores2019-07-16
  6. Helpful (2)

    "A not so great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Produce Associate in Shrewsbury, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Giant Food Stores part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Some of the employees are fun to be around.

    Cons

    Constant call-ins, departments like deli, bakery, and the front-end are filled with drama from the quality of employees that are hired. I wasn't full time(40 hrs) but would be asked to work as close to that as I could multiple times. Felt like they were trying to squeeze as much as they could out of the part-time workers in order to avoid needing to give benefits.

    Giant Food Stores2019-07-04
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Poor leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Produce Associate in Longwood, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Giant Food Stores part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The people are great to work with

    Cons

    Everything else Poor management Inconsistent management Poorly defined direction

    Advice to Management

    Step it up. Slow employee change over. Let managers stay in one place longer

    Giant Food Stores2019-05-07
  8. "Working in a supermarket"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Produce Associate 

    I worked at Giant Food Stores part-time

    Pros

    Manager was flexible and expressed appreciation for hard work. Hiring was quick and easy.

    Cons

    Heavy lifting, early hours, old produce is gross.

    Giant Food Stores2019-03-11
  9. "It was fine"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Produce Associate 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Giant Food Stores part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The work isnt bad at all

    Cons

    The management is awful at least at the store I was at. Too many managers all fighting to be right and making workers lives difficult and they ignored the big problems

    Giant Food Stores2018-12-28
  10. "Managers only care about themselves. I worked my butt off for nothing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Produce Associate in Newtown, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Giant Food Stores full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good hours and decent benefits. Super quick and fast paced environment. I made a lot of good friends. Learned a lot about produce.

    Cons

    A huge amount of favoritism between managers and associates. I worked 56 hour work weeks with the promise of a promotion and I never got anything

    Giant Food Stores2017-12-13
Found 22 reviews