Giant Food Stores Produce Clerk Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Produce Clerk

Create your profile to get personalized information

Giant Food Stores Produce Clerk Reviews

Updated Aug 7, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.0
51%
Recommend to a Friend
51%
Approve of CEO
Giant Food Stores President Nicholas Bertram
Nicholas Bertram
2 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Good job that pays weekly and gives good hours."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Produce Clerk in Lansdowne, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Giant Food Stores part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Hours and Little supervision/freedom to work at own pace.

    Cons

    Co-workers and some management are lazy.

    Giant Food Stores2019-08-08
  2. "good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Produce Clerk in Feasterville, PA

    I have been working at Giant Food Stores part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Easy going Management. Flexible schedule

    Cons

    Nothing that I can think of.

    Giant Food Stores2019-06-13
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Not a good company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Produce Clerk in Easton, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Giant Food Stores full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I have no good things to say about my experience

    Cons

    There is a lot of clicks in the stores they do not know how to treat their employees , they do not respect their employees , they work you like slaves

    Advice to Management

    Need to learn how to respect temployees , and tell them when they do a good job, not only when you do bad things . And not be so coaching happy

    Giant Food Stores2019-06-13
  4. "Ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Produce Clerk in Kutztown, PA

    I worked at Giant Food Stores part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -flexible schedule -easy job

    Cons

    -sort of get thrown into the job

    Giant Food Stores2019-01-15
  5. "Produce Clerk"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Produce Clerk in Bensalem, PA
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Giant Food Stores part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Mindless Work. Work with some nice people. Some decent vacation and personal days for employees. Flexible scheduling for students.

    Cons

    Incredible hard to move up in the ranks. Most management have the wrong ideals and priorities. Most like to say they care about the employees when they couldn't care less. A lot of drama, regardless of the store you work in. Company makes false promises on opportunities for their employees. Only the employees that have an in with upper management get shortcuts.

    Advice to Management

    Don't try to pepper employees with your "advancement opportunities". Stop hiring anyone off of the streets. It's not a surprise that there is a high turnover rate in every store and department within the stores.

    Giant Food Stores2016-03-29
  6. "People are great, work hard for little money"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Produce Clerk 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Giant Food Stores full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people within my department are great. The benefits, once you're awarded them, are fantastic. My current manage is really good about giving me the days off that I need.

    Cons

    They expect you to work harder than you're being compensated for. The benefits are great but they take a long time to get, especially if you're a part-timer. Same goes for vacation. personal, and sick time.

    Giant Food Stores2015-07-22
  7. "Great place to start"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Produce Clerk in Shrewsbury, PA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Giant Food Stores full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good place to get experience as a starter job

    Cons

    Inconsistent schedules, many employees are undertrained

    Advice to Management

    Focus more on employee efficiency

    Giant Food Stores2014-05-28
  8. "A good place to work but not a great career choice"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Produce Clerk 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Giant Food Stores full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Easy to talk to management and co workers were great

    Cons

    Long hours, underappreciated, employee turnover is very high

    Advice to Management

    utilize resources appropriately

    Giant Food Stores2014-03-05
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Mediocre to awful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Produce Clerk in Jamison, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Giant Food Stores part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Brainless work, convenient locations, since there is almost one store in every town in southeastern PA. Web portal was convenient for checking on schedule and paycheck.

    Cons

    Ridiculously low pay for the amount of work that has to be done, and the amount of starting pay varies from location to location. I started in one store, moved over to another, and found out that employes starting there made more than my current wage. Hours kept getting cut and cut; then I would have to be pulled away from my department to help out on the front end since they refuse to have an appropriate amount of staff. Management/corporate is only worried about their end-of-year bonuses; not the well being of its staff. Very few to-no discounts of any kind. The prices are already pretty high compared to other grocery chains. I usually shopped for groceries elsewhere. I would really only recommend working here if this a first job for you, as they very easily hire young people with no experience, since they can pay them almost minimum wage.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    You have over expanded yourselves at the expense of your workers. Stop and look around once in a while at yourselves and the competition; stores are becoming glorified Walmart's. Give a lunch/dinner discount once in a while; there is so much waste in the stores that could easily be avoided by 'losing' a couple cents here an there on certain items.

    Giant Food Stores2013-11-19
  10. "Good for a first job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Produce Clerk in Allentown, PA
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Giant Food Stores part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The hours were flexible and some of the people were very easy to get along with. Some people were even willing to teach you things.

    Cons

    Overall the compensation and raises were not very good. Also the amount of vacation time and benefits were very limited.

    Giant Food Stores2013-04-26
Found 12 reviews