Giant Food Stores "part time" Reviews | Glassdoor

Giant Food Stores Employee Reviews about "part time"

Updated Nov 14, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
54%
Recommend to a Friend
79%
Approve of CEO
Giant Food Stores CEO Nicholas Bertram
Nicholas Bertram
48 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "for adults full time this is not a liveable wage although many get bonuses when theyve been there a while(in 57 reviews)

  • "Incentive for part-time employees(in 46 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "part time"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Above Minimum wage!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Cashier in Lehighton, PA
    Recommends

    I worked at Giant Food Stores

    Pros

    Great work environment. Pay is great for those working through college for part time.

    Cons

    Management can be a little iffy at times - do not give Checkout Coaches as much credit as they deserve

    Advice to Management

    Learn how to actually do things in your department. i.e. IF you are a Front End Manager you should be able to do an override for a cashier if Checkout Coaches are busy elsewhere.

    Giant Food Stores2019-01-31
  2. "Giant food store a salad bar associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Salad Bar Attendant 

    I have been working at Giant Food Stores part-time

    Pros

    Good pay for a beginner

    Cons

    Part time Hours, you may not want that

    Giant Food Stores2019-11-14
  3. "Not bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bakery Clerk in Carlisle, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Giant Food Stores part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Easy, fun (as much as a part time gig can be), and repetitious in a good way.

    Cons

    Not much room to move up. Not something Id want to continue working at if I needed to make moves in life.

    Giant Food Stores2019-10-08
  4. Helpful (2)

    "A not so great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Produce Associate in Shrewsbury, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Giant Food Stores part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Some of the employees are fun to be around.

    Cons

    Constant call-ins, departments like deli, bakery, and the front-end are filled with drama from the quality of employees that are hired. I wasn't full time(40 hrs) but would be asked to work as close to that as I could multiple times. Felt like they were trying to squeeze as much as they could out of the part-time workers in order to avoid needing to give benefits.

    Giant Food Stores2019-07-04
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Frustrating"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Deli Clerk in State College, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Giant Food Stores part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Hours are very flexible, I’ve never had an issue with scheduling and If there was a day that I needed off management had no issue with employees swapping days as long as we brought it to their attention. Team was great in the deli, there were a few bad apples but they didn’t last very long. Store usually provides snacks & drinks in the employee break room.

    Cons

    Management is mixed and it seemed like no one was on the same page. There was a lot of politics involved in my store, a game of chess almost to get some people fired or demoted. Most of my managers didn’t like each other and were pretty bad at keeping the professionalism. There were a lot of passive aggressive attitudes. There was a great deal of favoritism in my store and “cliques” . If you were stuck working... nights 5-6 days a week it was because you weren’t a favorite. Part-time workers don’t get any of the perks full-time employees do and it’s nearly impossible to get a full-time position. The only opportunity to get a full-time position is either when someone retired or quit. On your 2 year anniversary is when you qualify for paid vacation and they average that based on the hours you worked ( for me 32 hours which translates to 4 days which is barely anything at all)

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Get on the same page and get better perks for your employees! You represent them during meetings

    Giant Food Stores2019-07-23
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Giant Food Stores"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Giant Food Stores part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Flexible scheduling, 401-k & employer match, okay for a part-time job (for as long as you can withstand the complacency).

    Cons

    Different managers every 6 months/year, high turnover, customers treat you like trash. Management does everything in their power to not let anyone work FT, unless someone's a manager of a specific department.

    Giant Food Stores2019-03-05
  7. "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Meat Manager in Carlisle, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Giant Food Stores full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great benefits! Good people! Above average pay

    Cons

    Communication! Incentive for part-time employees! Lack of fulltimers

    Giant Food Stores2019-02-26
  8. "good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Associate - Reconciliation Closing & Reporting 

    I have been working at Giant Food Stores part-time

    Pros

    management is good rate 8 out of 10

    Cons

    offer only part time

    Giant Food Stores2019-02-02
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Giant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Cashier 

    I worked at Giant Food Stores part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good Part time Job to make some extra cash

    Cons

    Not too much vertical mobility

    Giant Food Stores2019-01-29
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Part time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Carlisle, PA

    I worked at Giant Food Stores part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    good college schedule balance fro part time

    Cons

    management inconsistencies with leave requests

    Advice to Management

    standardize time records

    Giant Food Stores2018-09-20
Found 85 reviews