Giant Food Stores "part time" Reviews | Glassdoor

Giant Food Stores Reviews

Updated Jan 13, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
54%
Recommend to a Friend
80%
Approve of CEO
Giant Food Stores President Nicholas Bertram
Nicholas Bertram
52 Ratings
  1. Helpful (3)

    "Was a great experience for the first few years. But lately I'm getting a little feeling the company is becoming greedy."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Natural Organics Lead in Mount Joy, PA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Giant Food Stores part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible with scheduling, Decent pay, Nice Co-workers, decent benefits (when you qualify), opportunities to move up within the company. Free Fasnachts on Fasnacht day.

    Cons

    They are scrapping as many full-time positions as they can lately. You're lucky if you can find one. Used to be many more available a couple years ago. And when your part-time you're not guaranteed 30 hours. So the amount of hours you get can vary greatly seasonally and depending on how much costs the company wants to cut at the time. I've gone from getting 40+/week to 26/week within a couple months time.

    Advice to Management

    Bring back more full-time positions. Take better consideration of your employees. Labor shouldn't be the first thing you cut when sales are down. It does great damage to your employees morale and confidence in the company.

    Giant Food Stores2017-05-01
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Good for entry level kids"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bakery Associate 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Giant Food Stores part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Cross training is available. Breaks and lunches no questions asked. My department manager is amazing. Co-workers are usually friendly. No micromanagement. Somewhat flexible scheduling(expect to work almost every weekend).

    Cons

    Only offering part time shifts. No work/life balance. The pay is low. Hours have been cut so drastically (12 hour weeks) that the work load is impossible to keep up with. The company is continually asking for more and more to be done with limited labor. Managers are constantly taking personal days just to get paid and allow their part timers to recieve a couple more hours of work per week. OSHA violations are everywhere. It's a dead end job with no room for advancement.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    We need our hours back and we need for District to do more than show up for "walks". The company needs an overhaul.

    Giant Food Stores2017-04-21
  3. "Deli clerk"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Deli Clerk in Richmond, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Giant Food Stores part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    They give you really good hrs as a part time employee

    Cons

    There will be days that you have to deal with rude customers

    Advice to Management

    None

    Giant Food Stores2017-02-11
  4. "Good Place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Giant Food Stores part-time

    Pros

    They work around your schedule.

    Cons

    Even though it's a part time job and you tell them you can work a lot they don't give much hours.

    Giant Food Stores2017-01-26
  5. "solid"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Giant Food Stores

    Pros

    Good part time job. solid pay

    Cons

    boring. not all employees contribute equally. lots of slackers

    Advice to Management

    reward good employees because there are a lot of slackers

    Giant Food Stores2016-12-21
  6. "Cashier"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Giant Food Stores

    Pros

    Nice people, good environment, nice management. easy place to work at part time and get some money without too much hassle.

    Cons

    stores closing soon, not really a long term job

    Giant Food Stores2016-12-13
  7. "It's a grocery store"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bagger in Shrewsbury, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Giant Food Stores part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Very flexible hours depending on your boss, its a job with a paycheck and you can get vacation even as a part time employee.

    Cons

    Its a grocery store, so its only going to be so great. Customers can be rude at times, and Sundays are very busy. Upper management is very disconnected from the people who actually get the work done.

    Advice to Management

    Spend more time working and actually engaging with employees. Developing a tuition reimbursement program for people going to school to be something other than a manager would be awesome. It would turn the company into a very desirable place to work.

    Giant Food Stores2016-12-08
  8. "Cashier/Stock"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Giant Food Stores for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good starting pay Flexible scheduling

    Cons

    When raise time comes I have to chase it until it's given to me. No scheduled lunch/break for overnight cashier Talking to management about anything expecting something to be done is redundant Managers make employees look bad by going against policies to make customers happy No time and a half for holidays No benefits for part time until their 2 years During hire process had to call every day for two weeks for an interview Discrimination all over the place Money hungry company

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    No one is help accountable for things they do.

    Giant Food Stores2016-12-28
  9. "Solid company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Giant Food Stores

    Pros

    If you hang in there and work part time for a while you get full time and it is worth the effort Benefits: Vacation, Personal time, Sick time, 401k, Paid holidays, great medical,

    Cons

    Working retail you have to expect to work weekends, nights and holidays

    Giant Food Stores2016-11-04
  10. "Other employees were very friendly. Customers were not."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bakery Associate in Bartonsville, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Giant Food Stores part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great experience to add to a resumé. Friendly environment. Clean store. Clean bathrooms. Room for advancing within the company, etc.

    Cons

    Less than 15 hours if part-time. One night of training then you're on your own. No discount on items when shopping there.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your employees.

    Giant Food Stores2016-11-13
Found 86 reviews