Giant Food Stores "part time" Reviews | Glassdoor

Giant Food Stores Reviews

Updated Jan 21, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
55%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
Giant Food Stores President Nicholas Bertram
Nicholas Bertram
53 Ratings
  1. "Other employees were very friendly. Customers were not."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bakery Associate in Bartonsville, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Giant Food Stores part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great experience to add to a resumé. Friendly environment. Clean store. Clean bathrooms. Room for advancing within the company, etc.

    Cons

    Less than 15 hours if part-time. One night of training then you're on your own. No discount on items when shopping there.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your employees.

    Giant Food Stores2016-11-13
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Lead You To Believe You are Moving Up But It's All A Lie"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    CAO in Philadelphia, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Giant Food Stores for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Worked there for near 8 years. Started part time while in high school and college. Got a tiny promotion with almost no pay raise after 5 years. Awarded Associate of the Year and was constantly promised a promotion through the ranks. They lied and it never happened. I finally left and realized I wasted 8 years of my life believing they would groom me for Store Manager.

    Cons

    Lazy employees because there is NO INCENTIVE Pay is bad, hours bad, environment bad, benefits poot

    Advice to Management

    Keep your promises and promote the hard workers much quicker.

    Giant Food Stores2016-11-28
  3. "Great Place to Work Part-time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    Current Employee - Deli Clerk in West Chester, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Giant Food Stores part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Friendly/family-like atmosphere - Work with your schedule as a part-time worker - Work keeps you busy throughout your entire shift

    Cons

    - No set schedule (due to being a part-time worker)

    Giant Food Stores2016-09-28
  4. "Giant Food Stores"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Deli Associate in Exeter, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Giant Food Stores part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    flexible hours, 401(k) after two years of employment, ok benefits after two years and an average of 20 hours a week- for a part time associate

    Cons

    awful management-expected to go above and beyond without so much as a thank you, underpaid and overworked, lack of training, poor communication, people really only get fired for stealing-not for doing little or poor work, nearly impossible to get full time

    Advice to Management

    listen to your associates, pay attention to who is actually doing decent work- not just the hero scratch off cards

    Giant Food Stores2016-08-31
  5. "Not a bad job if you're in high school"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Grocery Associate in Lebanon, PA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Giant Food Stores

    Pros

    Generally always something to do. If you like working with people you'll be fine at Giant. It's a great part time or summer job for high school students.

    Cons

    Poor management at that location at the time. The communication was not good and at some points it seemed like you were supposed to read management's mind.

    Advice to Management

    Communicate more and be more transparent. The lack of communication is detrimental to success. Do more things to reduce the front end turnover rate.

    Giant Food Stores2016-09-01
  6. "Just a job."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Marion, KY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Giant Food Stores

    Pros

    If you want extra hours people call in all the time

    Cons

    You get more hours than you want Nothing special. No benifits for part time will always work late shifts or more ingredients shifts if you're part time and new. They play favoritespecially with seniority

    Advice to Management

    Stop hiring druggies

    Giant Food Stores2016-08-28
  7. "not 100% employee owned it is more like 100% management owned."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Giant Food Stores part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    There are a few good people that work there and treat the employee fair.

    Cons

    Don't goon a long medical leave or you will be demoted, loss your full-time employment to become part-time which losses all your benifits sucks.

    Advice to Management

    When you have good employees and they have to go out on medical leave don't be in a rush as soon as their federal leave is up to replace them. An extended medical is a proved so wait. You loss good employees the other way.

    Giant Food Stores2016-07-28
  8. "Not fantastic"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Checkout Coach 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Giant Food Stores part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I loved some people I worked with. Benefits were good. Was able to work in different departments if I wanted to.

    Cons

    Hours were absolutely horrible. I was part time but worked full time plus overtime. Very unfair that I wasn't able to get the perks of full time even tho I worked my but off.

    Advice to Management

    Please go back to promotions because of merit also raises based on merit.

    Giant Food Stores2016-07-09
  9. "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Grocery Associate 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Giant Food Stores part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Currently working at giant part time after school I really enjoy working there and the managers are always friendly. I work in the grocery department and there is always something to do.

    Cons

    Nothing I can really think of, if you do your job properly you will get along just fine.

    Advice to Management

    My experience with management has been great, they always include you and try and have a conversation with you not just about work but about how you're doing in life all together.

    Giant Food Stores2016-04-28
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Giant Food Stores part-time

    Pros

    I started working here in High School and continued through college. It is a great company that has allowed me to grow from with in. I am finishing my degree and hoping to move forward with a new career in a different industry, but I would suggest Giant to anyone looking for a fun part-time job.

    Cons

    Scheduling can be annoying and change every week. No consistency.

    Advice to Management

    Show more appreciation and acknowledgment to individual associates you feel go above and beyond for your company.

    Giant Food Stores2016-04-20
Found 87 reviews