Cover image for GigMasters
Logo

GigMasters

Part of XO Group
Is this your company?

GigMasters

Add a Review

GigMasters Reviews

Updated Jul 12, 2022

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 16 of over 17 reviews
3.8
78% Recommend to a Friend
84% Approve of CEO

Found 16 of over 17 reviews

3.8
78%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
GigMasters Co-Founder & CEO Michael Caldwell (no image)
Michael Caldwell
11 Ratings
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Great company

    Apr 6, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Extremely passionate about helping their vendors to generate leads, great benefits, great community

    Cons

    No cons about working at GigMasters

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Great Group of People

    Nov 9, 2020 - Anonymous Employee in Norwalk, CT
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    You get to experience many different technologies and programming languages. The team is a solid group of knowledgeable and collaborative engineers.

    Cons

    Market they service is feeling the effects of COVID-19

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. Join the GigMasters team
    See Our Latest Jobs
  4. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    The COVID19 pandamic exposed how GREEEEEDY Management is.

    Jul 21, 2020 - Infrastructure Engineer in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    slick looking website. friendly (but competitive) fellow employees

    Cons

    Management is GREEEEEDY. They are in business only to take customer's money, and move on. I referred my cousin's band to Gigmasters. When COVID hit, she requested an account "suspension" until the pandemic was over, and she was told flat "NO". (Note: She was able to get a suspension from GIGSALAD without any hassle.) I asked Management why they were keeping vendors money when COVID was preventing them from getting work. I was told "That's for Management to decide, and above your pay-grade". My co-workers confirmed that Management is "all about keeping their huge salaries", and employees rarely get raises. All employees get are lots of shallow/phoney pep-talks.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Work hard. Play hard.

    Jun 9, 2014 - Web Developer in Norwalk, CT
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Working at GigMasters is a lot of fun. It's a small company where everyone knows your name and what you do. I enjoyed being able to work with other developers as well as people from other departments. Some of the most rewarding projects I worked on involved collaborating with other departments. GigMasters is relatively small so the culture in the office and company events definitely make it feel like a startup. The term, "Work hard, play hard," definitely applies here. Not only did I find my passion in Web Design and Development at GigMasters, but I also had fun along the way and made some long-lasting friendships. It really is a great place to work, especially if you're just starting your career.

    Cons

    When I worked at GigMasters, the departments had more of a flat structure than a hierarchy. At times, this made it challenging to think about your growth within the company and in your career. I believe, since leaving the company, more structure has been added to the departments and more opportunities for promotion. The company moves at a fast pace and sometimes the work-life balance can shift, especially during major launches. This is probably more noticeable for employees with children and family obligations.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    GigMasters Response

    CEO

    Thanks for the feedback! Seeing the long-lasting friendships made by employees - both past & present - is without a doubt one of the most satisfying aspects of the job.

  6. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    #myjobisbetterthanyours

    Apr 8, 2016 - Manager, Account Services in Norwalk, CT
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    GigMasters is unlike any other company you'll work at. Everyone likes each other, spends time together, and works so hard to accomplish company and personal goals. Departments works so closely together that everyone in the company feels like they have a say in all company updates. We have a ping pong room, darts, a kegerator, a "cafe", and a popcorn machine. We have consistent happy hours, celebrate all personal and company milestones (usually with a champagne toast), and genuinely have fun at work every day while still striving to hit lofty goals. Anyone would be extremely lucky to work at GigMasters.

    Cons

    The only con I can think of is the constant changes, since we've recently been acquired by the XO Group. I believe that once all details are worked out (regarding how our relationship will work) the changes will slow down.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Just FANTASTIC!

    May 22, 2014 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Incredibly supportive co-workers and teams. Culture that fosters education, self-betterment, and (especially as of late) a healthy work-life balance. Willing to go to bat for their employees. Professional office atmosphere when needed, but a firm belief in encouraging an entertaining work space (one of our developer offices is plastered with Nintendo art, there's a ping pong room, frequent company outings). Consistently trying to hire top-level talent even though the office location isn't necessarily in a central location for hiring.

    Cons

    No official work from home policy. Not too much of a con as the leadership staff is flexible, but especially from a customer service and technical employee standpoint, recruiting new employees and retaining current is harmed by the lack of consistently available and well defined remote work privileges. This is especially noticeable with the introduction of full time remote hires.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    GigMasters Response

    CEO

    Thank you for the honest feedback. It's truly valuable and appreciated! Regarding the lack of an official work from home policy, I'll admit this is area where my beliefs may differ from currently popular workplace trends. I believe passionately that even with all the technology available, there's no substitute for the energy of an office buzzing with real-time, in-person collaboration. I find this especially important for a company of our size with such ambitious growth goals. That being said, we all need a break from the daily grind from time to time, so we do try to give employees flexibility when needed.

  8. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Find your voice at GigMasters

    May 19, 2014 -  
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    GigMasters is by far the best company that I’ve ever worked for. Everyone shares a passion for entertainment services and a common goal to be the best website of its kind. The leadership team encourages creative ideas, and sincerely cares about the growth of the company and its employees. There’s an upbeat buzz around the office and lots of after work events, such as holiday parties, happy hours and fundraising activities. I look forward to my job every day!

    Cons

    The microwave could use an update. But hey, that says a lot if that's the only con!

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    GigMasters Response

    CEO

    I agree - that microwave is ancient!! Expect a new one soon.

  9. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Opportunities Abound!

    May 29, 2014 - Anonymous Employee in Norwalk, CT
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    After working at GigMasters for a few years, coming to work every day is still exciting. At GigMasters your ideas and opinions are heard and acted upon. You feel supported, empowered and want to work harder every day. Your coworkers are your friends who you respect and want to learn more from. Honestly, it's an amazing place to work.

    Cons

    Tough question, as whenever I've had a concern, I've felt comfortable addressing it at GigMasters. We have flexible hours, summer Fridays, ping-pong tournaments, employee milestone & birthday celebrations, not a whole lot to complain about. Better yet, let's get a dishwasher!

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Excellent company to work for

    May 18, 2014 - Account Specialist 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The people I work with are incredibly positive, helpful, and fun to be around. They're always available when you need them and even the founders are friendly, approachable, and always open to improving their company. The office has an overall motivating atmosphere and the work/life balance so far is great.

    Cons

    The website is very complex, so it takes a long time to learn everything there is to know about working in your position, but that comes with basically any position to be taken on

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  11. 5.0
    Former Employee

    Great company to work for

    Apr 27, 2014 - Web Applications Developer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I really enjoyed working at GigMasters. My coworkers were knowledgeable and creative people who had a lot of passion for what they do. Management rewarded initiative and was committed to making it not only a productive workplace but a fun and creative one as well.

    Cons

    Whenever the team faced challenges, we were able to talk with each other and with Mike and Kevin, so we could work things out. I liked that! I miss being there, and I miss the comraderie we all had.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    GigMasters Response

    CEO

    Thank you so much for your comments! We strive to make GigMasters exactly what you describe - a productive, fun, and creative place to work!

Viewing 1 - 10 of 16 Reviews
</>Embed

GigMasters Reviews FAQs

GigMasters has an overall rating of 3.8 out of 5, based on over 17 reviews left anonymously by employees. 78% of employees would recommend working at GigMasters to a friend and 67% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has decreased by -3% over the last 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, GigMasters employees rate their compensation and benefits as 3.8 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at GigMasters. This rating has been stable over the past 12 months.

78% of GigMasters employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated GigMasters 4.0 out of 5 for work life balance, 4.0 for culture and values and 3.7 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at GigMasters to be senior leadership, benefits, culture and the cons to be compensation, career development, management.

Work at GigMasters? Share Your Experiences

GigMasters logo
or

GigMasters Photos

+ Add Photo
GigMasters photo of: Account Services Team
GigMasters photo of: Company Softball
GigMasters photo of: Team USA
GigMasters photo of: Hotdog Eating Contest
GigMasters photo of: Office Olympics
GigMasters photo of: Bon Appetit
GigMasters photo of: Team Spirit
See All Photos

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

GigMasters Job Seekers Also Viewed

Gartner Logo
Gartner

4.0

6,534 Reviews
Compare

Glassdoor has 17 GigMasters reviews submitted anonymously by GigMasters employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if GigMasters is right for you.