KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Gilbane Building Company

Part of Gilbane
Engaged Employer

Gilbane Building Company

Add a Review

Gilbane Building Company Reviews

Updated Jun 27, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 303 of over 377 reviews

4.3
92%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
Gilbane Building Company President and CEO Tom Laird  (no image)
Tom Laird
20 Ratings

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Gilbane Building Company and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 8 years

    Good Company

    Jun 21, 2022 - Project Manager in Kansas City, KS
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    High Performing Teams, Good Work Life Balance, Good Company Culture

    Cons

    Generalist profile in an Industry where clients want specialists

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Good Company, good culture

    Jun 15, 2022 - Construction Superintendent 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Big project opportunities always available.

    Cons

    Can sometimes be too corporate and disengaging. More good things than bad.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Decent Spot

    Jun 27, 2022 - Project Accountant II in Laguna Niguel, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Industry Leader Generous PTO Benefits

    Cons

    Manager Pay Hours Travel Intensity

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Great company with tremendous support

    May 14, 2022 - Project Engineer III in Philadelphia, PA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Gilbane is a very large company with a ton of support all around. Also one of the safest GC in America. Also, the company does a great job with diversity and inclusion.

    Cons

    Sometimes hard to climb the corporate ladder but stick around the right people and you will get there.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Gilbane Building Company Response

    VP, HR Director

    Thank you for being a part of our team in Philly! When it comes to safety, we take our incident and injury free philosophy one step further by connecting it to our core value of Caring through our Gilbane Cares program. At Gilbane, we care about our employees' physical safety but also their psychological safety. We strive to create a supportive, inclusive environment that promotes positive mental health and the ability for all employees to bring their authentic selves to work.

  5. 3.0
    Current Employee

    Thoughts about Gilbane

    Jun 18, 2022 - Senior Project Manager in Boston, MA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good overall benefits and types of projects.

    Cons

    Opportunities are limited for many and don’t always get to take time off even though you have time to take due to coverage issues.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Good company

    Jun 3, 2022 - Construction Intern II in Washington, DC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The company is very diverse.

    Cons

    There are really no cons.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Classy Company

    May 23, 2022 - Document Control Specialist in Houston, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    This company really treats their employees as family. I thoroughly enjoyed working for Gilbane!!

    Cons

    Perhaps a bit of the good ol boy network with some of the upper management

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Gilbane Building Company Response

    VP, HR Director

    At Gilbane, every employee is a member of the family. We're so glad you felt that caring family culture while you were here.

  8. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    Great Place to Work

    May 23, 2022 - Project Engineer III in Baltimore, MD
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great benefits and people. Work is demanding, but interesting and rewarding.

    Cons

    Leadership of some divisions is lacking respect and kindness for their employees.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Good start

    May 3, 2022 - Project Engineer II in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Family oriented company. Great benefits, amazing jobs for experience.

    Cons

    Not enough work coming up in the future, upper management isn’t fully involved at all projects, Head of HR, Ryan Cruthers does not care about his job. Emailing HR is like talking to a wall and hoping for a response. Gilbane throws people into a job not considering your skills and sets you up for failure. If you can’t handle those situations, this is not the place for you. Poor training for younger folks/ in experienced people.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful

    Gilbane Building Company Response

    VP, HR Director

    Thank you for your comments and we're glad to know you feel positive about our family culture, benefits, and the opportunity for career experience. Our New York leadership team takes employee feedback very seriously and we encourage you to reach out directly to Joanna Kripp or John LaRow to share your thoughts on opportunities for improvement.

  10. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Researcj

    Jun 8, 2022 - Senior Project Executive 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Old Company, with a great reputation

    Cons

    Red tape, and set in there ways

    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 303 Reviews

Gilbane Building Company Reviews FAQs

Gilbane Building Company has an overall rating of 4.3 out of 5, based on over 377 reviews left anonymously by employees. 92% of employees would recommend working at Gilbane Building Company to a friend and 81% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has decreased by -3% over the last 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, Gilbane Building Company employees rate their compensation and benefits as 4.3 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at Gilbane Building Company. This rating has been stable over the past 12 months.

92% of Gilbane Building Company employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated Gilbane Building Company 3.8 out of 5 for work life balance, 4.4 for culture and values and 4.1 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at Gilbane Building Company to be culture, career development, benefits and the cons to be senior leadership, management, work life balance.

Popular Careers with Gilbane Building Company Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Gilbane Building Company? Share Your Experiences

or

Gilbane Building Company Photos

+ Add Photo
Gilbane Building Company photo of: Gilbane Building in Chicago
Gilbane Building Company photo of: Teamwork
Gilbane Building Company photo of: BB
Gilbane Building Company photo of: Hudson Yards
Gilbane Building Company photo of: The safety of our employees and trade partners on our project sites and offices is our top priority.
Gilbane Building Company photo of: Building for our Future
Gilbane Building Company photo of: CURT Safety Award Winner
See All Photos

Affiliated Companies

Gilbane, Inc.Gilbane Development Company
See all affiliated companies