Girl Scouts USA Membership Specialist Reviews | Glassdoor

Girl Scouts USA Membership Specialist Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 17 reviews

2.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
64%
Recommend to a Friend
Sylvia Acevedo
0 Ratings
  1. "Membership Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Membership Specialist in North Andover, MA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Girl Scouts USA full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Great group of motivated employees. Strong desire to provide everything Girl Scouting can offer. Constantly reaching out to new girls.

    Cons

    Challenge to find volunteers to support all the girls who wish to participate. Sometimes successes were not large enough to garner praise, no matter how much work went into the program.

    Advice to Management

    Sometimes can be too focused on exactly following what comes down from GSUSA with no acceptance of modifying the program to suit the group you are working with.

    Girl Scouts USA2017-01-19
  2. "Membership Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Membership Specialist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Girl Scouts USA full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Reaching out to girls in community, love helping people in anyway, customer service, volunteers

    Cons

    Lack of proper training, very long hours during recruitment season (which is understandable) but couldn't find time to use comp hours.

    Girl Scouts USA2017-10-25
  3. "Was fun while it lasted."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Membership Specialist in Vernon Hills, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Girl Scouts USA full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Great benefits. I enjoyed working with girls and volunteers.

    Cons

    Long work hours. Poor work life balance

    Advice to Management

    Offer better balance with scheduling.

    Girl Scouts USA2017-07-26
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Great experience, great organization"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Membership Specialist in Indianapolis, IN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Girl Scouts USA part-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    It's incredibly rewarding to work towards teaching young girls strong leadership skills. The pay is great for a part time job!

    Cons

    Lots of responsibility, must take this job seriously as you are in charge of watching and working with kids. Can take over your life a bit with everything you have to do.

    Advice to Management

    Community all of the job requirements early on. Especially all of the driving.

    Girl Scouts USA2017-01-05
  5. Helpful (3)

    "A decent place to start."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Girl Scout Membership Specialist 

    I have been working at Girl Scouts USA

    Pros

    Gain a lot of experience to a certain point. Excellent medical and dental benefits.

    Cons

    Struggling to remain relevant. Lots of turnover because too much is expected from staff given the low pay. There is a "good old girls" club. Management style is antiquated. Limited growth opportunity.

    Advice to Management

    Develop the staff that sticks with you and give real opportunities for growth. Stop micromanaging and keep your word.

    Girl Scouts USA2017-01-18
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Treated employees badly"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Membership Specialist in Baltimore, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Girl Scouts USA

    Pros

    Flexible schedule with generous time off

    Cons

    Terrible Leadership. The CEO took credit for everything and was not a good role model for youth.

    Advice to Management

    Treat your employees better

    Girl Scouts USA2016-03-22
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Inside Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Membership Engagement Specialist 

    I have been working at Girl Scouts USA full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    The flexibility in work schedule/amount of time for holidays is comparable to a government job and very family-oriented. Great organization that promotes inclusiveness and can change lives.

    Cons

    Non-profit, so the salary for those who do most of the work isn't great, and neither are the benefits. Management could use way better training, so you MUST be a self-starter.

    Girl Scouts USA2016-01-06
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Horrible experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Membership Specialist in Fresno, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Girl Scouts USA for more than 2 years

    Pros

    You do get to perform tasks that are fulfilling (interacting with Girl Scouts and the general public)

    Cons

    An extremely hostile work environment. The executive staff is corrupt and will only reward the employees who stay quiet and kiss butt.

    Advice to Management

    Fire all executive staff

    Girl Scouts USA2016-02-05
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Membership Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Membership Specialist in Baltimore, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Girl Scouts USA full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    I enjoy knowing that I am bringing this leadership program to girls of all backgrounds, and giving girls opportunities that they may not have had otherwise.

    Cons

    There's no chance for advancement in this position, and the goals that are assigned to each of us are extremely unrealistic in some areas.

    Advice to Management

    More appreciation shown toward our volunteers, and less hassle with procedures would make our job easier. Happy volunteers will do a lot more for us than unhappy ones.

    Girl Scouts USA2015-04-13
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Membership and Community Development Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Membership Specialist in Gulfport, MS

    I have been working at Girl Scouts USA full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Enjoy the girls and volunteers.

    Cons

    Inconsistency at all levels, often stressed because timelines consistently changed by management, less than satisfactory levels of communication. Volunteers also do not take into consideration that you have a family too; my family often is put second due to Girl Scout or Service unit events.

    Advice to Management

    Value the work / life balance of the staff.

    Girl Scouts USA2014-07-16
Found 17 reviews