Girl Scouts USA Summer Camp Counselor Reviews | Glassdoor

Girl Scouts USA Summer Camp Counselor Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 8 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
91%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Sylvia Acevedo
1 Ratings
  1. "Excellent Summer Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Summer Camp Counselor in Morristown, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Girl Scouts USA full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Spend all summer outdoors Spending time with kids Great coworkers Great mission

    Cons

    Lower salary than other private summer camps

    Girl Scouts USA2019-04-03
  2. "camp counselor review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Summer Camp Counselor in Irma, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Girl Scouts USA for more than a year

    Pros

    Very fun camp setting. Learned a lot of skills and met new friends from different parts of the world and of different ages. Free food and accommodation as well.

    Cons

    Those in higher positions have a bit of seniority and favoritism towards fresh co-workers, but the camp life is still amazing

    Advice to Management

    none

    Girl Scouts USA2018-06-12
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Great people but unorganized"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Summer Camp Counselor 

    I worked at Girl Scouts USA for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people and fun environment!

    Cons

    Unorganized which puts a lot of stress on the employees

    Girl Scouts USA2018-04-17
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Too much Drama"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Summer Camp Counselor in Worley, ID
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Girl Scouts USA

    Pros

    Good salary Get to work with some amazing kids Very fun

    Cons

    Favoritism is an issue Too much drama amongst staff Problem solving skills need to be worked on by directors

    Advice to Management

    Make sure you are not playing favorites and that you treat all of your staff equally

    Girl Scouts USA2016-03-25
  5. "Camp Counselor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Summer Camp Counselor in Waynesville, OH
    Recommends

    I worked at Girl Scouts USA

    Pros

    Such a fun job working at GS camp! I became more of a leader!

    Cons

    None- love the great outdoors!

    Girl Scouts USA2016-03-16
  6. "Great people, awesome job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Summer Camp Counselor in Plymouth, MA
    Recommends

    I worked at Girl Scouts USA for more than a year

    Pros

    Working outdoors Freedom to help create and run own projects Room and Board provided Supervise trips to fun/interesting places

    Cons

    Didn't pay a lot, but it was basically like being paid to go to camp so if working outdoors with kids is something you enjoy, it's still pretty worth it. Not a lot of time to yourself though, and camp food can get old after a couple months.

    Girl Scouts USA2016-02-27
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Camp Counselor - Southern California"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Summer Camp Counselor in San Diego, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Girl Scouts USA for more than a year

    Pros

    Amazing experience working with children. Being able to meet other counselors from around the world, creating a bond with them. Honestly Girl Scouts looks good on a resume.

    Cons

    Poor organization. Pay is $50/day Cliques formed during staff training. Average Age range of counselors is 18-22. So if you have some personal issues (rent, not having a job after camp, finances) other counselors will not undertand. Administration does not handle certain situations very well. They have written people up because of gossip they heard, but will not confront the person until they already have a written...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Be more understanding about your counselors personal lives. When I left camp I did not have a job or home to go to, and lived in my car for a week after camp. The Administration staff were VERY unsupportive and made it seem like I was a problem.

    Girl Scouts USA2016-02-27
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Great opportunity but somewhat unfair"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Summer Camp Counselor in Mableton, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Girl Scouts USA part-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Got to learn a lot about working with children.

    Cons

    favoritism and discrimination between employees

    Girl Scouts USA2015-01-13
Found 8 reviews