Girl Scouts USA "council" Reviews | Glassdoor

Girl Scouts USA Employee Reviews about "council"

Updated Jun 14, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 637 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
48%
Recommend to a Friend
82%
Approve of CEO
Sylvia Acevedo
53 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Lots of problems with upper management(in 44 reviews)

  • "no clear communication of council goals or defined and effective strategies(in 36 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "council"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Brand Strategist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Kansas City, MO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Girl Scouts USA full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Your coworkers are passionate about what they do.

    Cons

    After trusting this organization to taking a chance on me, my experience working with the Girl Scouts of NE Kansas and NW Missouri council ended terribly. After deciding to let me go after only working there for a year, I wasted the first year of my career to now have to start from ground zero. A month before my wedding, they decided, was a great time to make budget cuts and...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    When letting someone go, maybe wait longer than 20 minutes to send out an all-staff email and spell their names correctly. Horribly distasteful.

    Girl Scouts USA2018-09-17
  2. "Volunteer troop"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Girl Scouts USA for more than 5 years

    Pros

    A role model for young girls, teach leadership skills, rewarding.

    Cons

    Not a lot of feedback from council, until you find your way in planning and organizing the meetings; you are shooting in the dark.

    Advice to Management

    Give more feedback to troops

    Girl Scouts USA2018-05-15
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Good organization, great people, lots of work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Development Specialist in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Girl Scouts USA full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Worthwhile mission, good programming, good people to work with, great brand recognition, cookies, flexible work schedule, colleagues really care, Girl Scouts are inspiring and amazing

    Cons

    Lots of work, pay isn’t great, insurance costs so much, need more collaboration with local council and GSUSA, Gold Award needs to be more recognizable

    Advice to Management

    GSUSA needs to figure out how to actually support the local councils and not hinder their progress

    Girl Scouts USA2018-03-28
  4. "Program Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Program Specialist in Tampa, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Girl Scouts USA part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The company culture is very family oriented. Each council operates differently. I am located in west central Florida. I live 90 miles away from the office and I am able to work from home, particularly since I do outreach. I work directly with girls in the school, so it’s different than running a traditional troop after school and on weekends.

    Cons

    The pay is average, but the work is rewarding and meaningful.

    Girl Scouts USA2018-03-03
  5. Helpful (1)

    "GSNI"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Girl Scouts USA for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Unfortunately nothing comes to mind

    Cons

    -Upper management likes to yell at the employees under them if they don't do what they like. -Upper management will also shovel on different jobs they need done for them before a set date. -Upper management doesn't really know their customers. -Getting a raise is harder than getting into college. -People will take credit for your work and blame you for their failures. -They except you to pay for a membership out...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Do the jobs of your "lowest" employees. Not for an hour but a full week. Also look at all the facts before you point your finger to blame someone.

    Girl Scouts USA2017-11-10
  6. "Human Resources"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Girl Scouts USA full-time

    Pros

    Some great mission-driven people work for the Girl Scouts

    Cons

    Local council is hugely mismanaged.

    Advice to Management

    Step aside if you don't truly believe in the mission.

    Girl Scouts USA2017-10-08
  7. "Great advocate for young women!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources Specialist in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Girl Scouts USA full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Excellent place to work; friendly and open culture; caring and giving in all areas

    Cons

    Council Office is on the south side of downtown Houston, but there are opportunities all over the area

    Girl Scouts USA2017-09-21
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Recruitment Specialist @ Badgerland Council, WI"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Girl Scouts USA full-time

    Pros

    The compensation package is OK. Mileage compensation for travel.

    Cons

    Inexperienced, out of touch engagement who do not value their employees or understand the challenges they face in the field. As a life long Girl Scout, I was shocked at the dishonesty, poor planning, mismanagement of limited resources on the part of Badgerland leadership. Fairly often, when recruitment campaigns were unsuccessful (because the methods the council used are out...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Maintaining a "if you don't like it, leave" attitude with staff is no longer functional. If you have more than 50% annual turn over, there is a culture problem. Additionally, during the interview process, be honest about the amount of travel and evening/weekend hours that will be required.

    Girl Scouts USA2017-10-09
  9. Helpful (2)

    "I lost my trust in the Girl Scout organization"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Charleston, WV
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Girl Scouts USA full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Ability to work from home, if needed, work with some great volunteers and a public that is supportive, the smiles on girls faces when they are given the chance to thrive

    Cons

    Constant push for cookies sales and Fall Product sales without regard to volunteer and girl time spent. Lack of money for volunteers to provide adequate girl opportunities because funding is spent more on trying to impress the elite than on girl memberships and activities. Upper management cares only about numbers and winning recognition from GSUSA corporate. Major complaints and corruption within council...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    GSUSA needs to take a closer look at decisions being made, speak to former employees about why there is such a high turn around, and clean house!

    Girl Scouts USA2017-08-14
  10. "Great Job, Great CEO at Citrus"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Membership Manager in Orlando, FL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Girl Scouts USA full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Working for GSC is such a blessing! Not only do they offer a great benefits package as well as PTO and bonuses, but they make work fun! The CEO is constantly popping into meetings to deliver gifts and pep talks. I also love the flexibility that this council provides.

    Cons

    The schedule can get intense during the busy season. It's doable since it's only for two months but the impact made is well worth the time spent.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing everything on track as you are. We are ready to be the best preforming council (against our own potentials) by 2020!

    Girl Scouts USA2017-06-24
Found 637 reviews