Girl Scouts USA "upper management" Reviews | Glassdoor

Girl Scouts USA Reviews

Updated Jun 14, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 637 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
48%
Recommend to a Friend
82%
Approve of CEO
Sylvia Acevedo
53 Ratings
  1. Helpful (6)

    "Will crap stick to the wall if you throw it with enough force?"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Girl Scouts USA part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Girl Scouts are upstanding, inspirational human beings, and the majority of volunteers that I interacted with were wholly dedicated to the organization's mission and invested in these girls' lives.

    Cons

    Let's get the petty stuff out of the way: The pay sucks. There's no room for advancement. No career development. Micromanagement from the top-down. No trust in lower level employees or in volunteers. No guidance provided to new employees. No vision for what the organization should be. Staff turnover is very high and morale is nonexistent. Office politics are brutal, with staff members being more than willing to build...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Place most of the management team under professional development plans with concrete benchmarks for improvement, or termination will be the result. Imbue all staff with the autonomy to do their jobs; end the micromanagement. A C-Team member doesn't need to approve decisions made by entry level staff. Increase professional development opportunities, promote from within, and end interdepartmental competition for revenue....

    Show More
    Girl Scouts USA2014-09-08
  2. Helpful (3)

    "Girl Scouts is going in the wrong direction."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Girl Scouts USA full-time

    Pros

    Most co-workers & volunteers were great. Made some life long friends. Vacation time was better than average.

    Cons

    Low pay. No raises for the last 3 years. No room for advancement. Upper management needs to be removed, all of them, and start over. Way too much favoritism. Letting go of great staff at the "bottom" instead of looking at the top. The image for this organization is going down hill. GSUSA forcing the mergers was the beginning of the downfall. Taking 7 councils and merging them into 1 ruined former successes.

    Advice to Management

    Remember who is on the front line with the volunteers. Recognize these people. You are nothing without them. Put your egos aside. Get out of your offices and get down in the trenches and really see what the "little people" do. Then take a look in the mirror and reflect on yourself.

    Girl Scouts USA2014-06-27
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Great company influencing the growth of girls. Leadership exhibits unstable management style."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Girl Scouts USA full-time

    Pros

    Organization has a history of longevity in employee service and a dedicated staff who supports the mission and puts in the extra effort to get the job done.

    Cons

    Upper management exhibits a double standard that contradicts the goals of the organization. Keys employees lacks the initiative the take responsibilty for their job responsibilities, while others will claim to have no knowledge of a job function, yet will not release the responsibilities to anyone else. Benefit package requires vast improvement to attract and retain qualified professionals.

    Advice to Management

    Management should consider taking a hands on approach to understand direct job functions, allow creativity and enhance benefit package.

    Girl Scouts USA2014-06-12
  4. Helpful (5)

    "Long hours, clueless upper management, low pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Girl Scouts USA full-time

    Pros

    Wonderful coworkers, hard working volunteers

    Cons

    Little movement, high turnover rate - over 25 employees were laid off, fired, or quit within one year. Upper management is horrible. Most of the volunteers have issues because of upper management but nothing is done about it. There has been so much turnover due to "reorganization" there is very little trust within the company and moral is incredibly low. You will work long hours and end up traveling a lot for the company...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    It's a non-profit, your paying your employees next to nothing, show them a little appreciation. My advice the board - clean house when it comes to upper management. You have a bunch of middle aged women with self esteem and control issues who treat the employees below them horribly. There is too much turnover and the volunteers continue to question the motives of your upper management.

    Girl Scouts USA2014-05-17
  5. "Great mission, unstable leadership, high turnover, yet potential for improvement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Mableton, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Girl Scouts USA

    Pros

    The mission, the people who stick through the drama and turnover because they believe in the mission, the girls, the dedicated volunteers, the donors who believe in the mission, the organization's facility and resources are a plus

    Cons

    The Board does not fully trust the staff, the upper management often does not know what talents their staff have nor appreciate them, lots of staff turnover and volunteer burnout

    Advice to Management

    After having a leader that did not trust anyone for several years, make transparency and respect your utmost priorities. The mission is girl's empowerment, so coming from an empowerment model internally would do wonders for the culture.

    Girl Scouts USA2014-01-03
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Great Mission but horrible management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Membership Manager in Pittsburgh, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Girl Scouts USA full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible schedule, people that believe in the mission of Girl Scouts

    Cons

    Upper Management doesn't support workers, some departments are burdened by what other departments should be doing but don't, very little room for growth, tons of pointless meetings

    Advice to Management

    Replace some of the long standing management that has not produced positive changes. These managers are the ones doing the hiring so nothing will change with them still in place.

    Girl Scouts USA2013-08-12
  7. Helpful (1)

    "lack of direction"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Girl Scouts USA

    Pros

    Good Pay Good co workers

    Cons

    very bad upper management/ lay off good employees because of lack of direction/ numbers was the number one goal/ girls and volunteers did not matter/ we had to meet our yearly goals at what every cost/ lack of good programs/ never really involved Indiana region everything was for greater Chicago. I hope that Girl Scouts USA comes and cleans house and gets rid of all upper management and all those who don't care about...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Its not about your numbers or the number of grants you can get. Care a little more and hire people that can do the job /can be honest and fair,/be responsible for their actions/ and be a sister to everyone. Live by the Girl Scout Law and promise. You let go of many good people because of your financial issues. Next time tell your employees ahead of time ..not just one day and lay them off...shame shame on you all!!!

    Girl Scouts USA2013-08-02
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Run the other direction"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Redlands, CA
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Girl Scouts USA

    Pros

    I had some wonderful opportunities to do some things I would never have gotten to do otherwise. I learned a lot about how *not* to do business. I met a lot of really wonderful volunteers who honestly believe in the GS movement.

    Cons

    The new upper management and mean spirited board "chairwoman" have created chaos in a formerly fantastic place to work. The work/life balance that the former CEO worked hard to create for a very dedicated staff is totally gone and replaced with a "butt in seat" mentality reminiscent of the 50's. The CFO - who claims to be a christian woman - has a personal agenda and openly admits that she is out to get rid of certain...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Get off your high horse and treat your employees like the hard working, talented people they are. Right now they are afraid to even sneeze, much less express their opinions and ideas.

    Girl Scouts USA2012-04-07
  9. Helpful (4)

    "Mismanagement by an overpaid CEO ($160K - come on...)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Westfield, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Girl Scouts USA

    Pros

    Wonderful mission overall. It is about the girls!

    Cons

    Many, many unqualified people in upper management. Lack of educated employees. Resources spent on CEO salary not on organization development.

    Advice to Management

    The Board of Directors should look at mismanagement by CEO and undereducated employees. Many unqualified employees promoted from ranks of volunteer to employee.

    Girl Scouts USA2010-05-23
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Girl Scouts Western Oklahoma....Don't work there, its not worth the compensation or the stress."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Oklahoma City, OK
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Girl Scouts USA

    Pros

    Serving and helping the girls was the only reason. The hours were reasonable until I was asked to work weekend and evenings. With young children it was impossible.. Could not accommodate my managers wishes she did not like this and it caused tension between us.

    Cons

    everything, The upper management lies, and does whatever it takes to cover their own butts. I was watched like a hawk.. My lunches were monitored to the min, my boss had other associates call to see where I was all all times of the day!

    Advice to Management

    Get a life. The girls are the reason for this organization. Fire the ones who aren't doing their jobs so you can save money and use it else where.

    Girl Scouts USA2009-01-17
Found 637 reviews