Cover image for GitHub
Logo

GitHub

Engaged Employer

GitHub

Add a Review

GitHub Employee Reviews about "github"

Updated Jul 13, 2021

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 259 of over 263 reviews
4.2
82% Recommend to a Friend
GitHub CEO Thomas Dohmke
85% Approve of CEO

Found 28 of over 263 reviews

4.2
82%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
GitHub CEO Thomas Dohmke
Thomas Dohmke
39 Ratings

What people are saying about GitHub

Join the conversation on

Consulting

1m

a 

Recruiter

We are looking to hire 3 Azure Application Modernization Consultants, 3 DevOps (Azure IAAS PAAS) Consultants, and 3 Azure Solutions Architects. If you or anyone you know is looking please let me know below or email me at eabreu@xpirit.com— we are a GitHub Partner and Microsoft Partner and hire for remote talent. Being totally honest, I joined this company because I know they treat people really well, and there’s a ton of growth as well as work life balance . Happy to provide more details!

3

4 Comments

Tech

465.9K Members 

Ask candid career questions

-1 - https://www.fishbowlapp.com/bowl/technology/posts?cf=gd&utm_medium=Glassdoor&utm_source=glassdoor.com&utm_campaign=Reviews&utm_content=Employer-content-prominent-Reviews&utm_term=GitHub~671945
Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "remote work is well supported and benefits are great(in 27 reviews)
  • "Awesome people , lots of new projects, Perks like upfront Home office , L&D and Mobile reimbursement.(in 26 reviews)
  • "It is truly a great company and culture.(in 25 reviews)
  • "Work life balance was great(in 15 reviews)
  • "thinking tech company that's working hard to bring in more and more of the most talented and diverse engineers, salespeople, customer supportocats, and admin staff... it's truly impressive and exciting to know that I have the privilege to be part of this awesome team and company.(in 9 reviews)
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Reviews about "github"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great people

    Jul 13, 2021 - Software Engineer II 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Everyone I've met so far at GitHub is very engaging. Even with the remote work culture, the communication is done very well. Work life balance is great as everyone is respective of each others time zones and life events.

    Cons

    Haven't been able to meet anyone in person at the company due to covid. Other than that it's been overall positive.

    3 people found this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Current Employee

    great

    Jan 16, 2021 - Supply Chain Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    github is a great place to work

    Cons

    there are no cons for this job

    1 person found this review helpful
  3. Join the GitHub team
    See Our Latest Jobs
  4. 5.0
    Current Employee

    High Quality Solutions

    Dec 1, 2020 - Senior Account Executive in Atlanta, GA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Customers love GitHub, internal GitHub culture is amazing

    Cons

    None that I can think of

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Current Employee

    The best company to work for

    Jun 14, 2020 - Project Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Github walks the walk. You hear many employers say they care about their employees, but Github acts on it. Peers are respectful and the culture is fun. Work is interesting and I've learned a ton from my manager and team.

    Cons

    None that I can think of

    2 people found this review helpful
  6. 2.0
    Former Employee

    Fantastic people, less than ideal leadership

    Mar 20, 2020 - Software Engineer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    GitHub has incredible front line workers. Coworkers were caring and empathetic for the most part. They are still an A+ name on your resume, though that may be declining.

    Cons

    GitHub is the most chaotic place that I have ever worked. Leadership is hilariously inept for such a large company. Late in 2019 we almost doubled the number of employees quite literally overnight with absolutely no preparation. Internal resources are stressed to the limit dealing with the constant demands of leadership. Come to GitHub knowing that it will help your resume, but that you will largely do your best work after you leave.

    23 people found this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Current Employee

    A great Place to learn

    Jan 30, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    GitHub is a great place to come and explore what it looks means to be apart of something special. There are a ton of great people here who are passionate about what they do. GitHub is more than generous with pay, benefits, flexibility, work/life balance, and they really do care about employee happiness and well being. They have a social impact team that is basically dedicated to saving the world -- which is amazing.

    Cons

    There are a few bad apples that make the experience less than ideal -- but that's been the case at nearly every company I've been to. If you're not in engineering or the technical side of the house, you're nearly a second class citizen. Engineering doesn't have enough structure, code base is a little outdated on some projects, and their is no clear product vision. Nevertheless, when engineering does put out a new feature or product it's actually an A+ ship. Sales is a catch 22. Really strong team members, not enough good managers. Marketing is in the same position as sales. Most roles don't have a 2-5 year plan -- meaning, there is no clear path for career growth.

    Continue reading
    14 people found this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Enterprise Sales

    Jun 10, 2015 - Enterprise Sales in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Great culture across the company. Unique in our approach around diversity and inclusion - Best sales leadership experience I've had in my 15 years of selling. - Ramp and quota are realistic and attainable. - We have a 10,000,000+ user community who are passionate about GitHub. Growing by 10,000 - 15,000 users per day. Understatement here but this helps you sell when you get in the room. - Awesome people. - Engineering, Support and SEs are extremely helpful and actively contribute to the sales process. - Great work/life balance. I have a young family and my spouse works full time. We are able to balance our responsibilities better than any other environment I've had a chance to work in before. I work a lot but it does not impact my excitement for the job or my priorities around family/friends.

    Cons

    - GitHub has been around for several years but sales as a structured group was just created a couple quarters back. While we are crushing our # it is going to take us a while to build out process and have enough data to fully understand our business. - I have not seen it yet but I am sure many of the typical growing pains will arise in a young, growing sales organization.

    Continue reading
    9 people found this review helpful
  9. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Engineering

    Jun 2, 2015 - Software Engineer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Since joining GitHub I've felt like I'm helping change the world for the better. We're making it easier for people everywhere to build software together and that is really exciting to me. GitHub did a lot of growing up in 2014 and 2015 and I'm more excited now about the future than I was a year and a half ago. We have a ton of room to learn and grow right now and I'm excited that we're taking every opportunity to do that rather than staying mired in our past. My coworkers are great and I enjoy showing up to work every day. We get to solve hard problems while serving real customer needs.

    Cons

    We are still working through a lot of institutional debt that I believe was the result of our leaders not being sensitive to changing needs and not seeking mentorship as the company grew. We were slow to grow our HR department and we were slow to adopt managers and career growth paths. This resulted in a lot of growing pains but I think we're past the worst of them. Our engineering organization had virtually zero leadership before mid-2014 and this resulted in many killed projects, demoralized people, and general discontent. We're mostly past that now but the scars will last for years. There is still a dearth of great managers but we are actively searching so I am hoping this will change for the better quickly.

    Continue reading
    12 people found this review helpful
  10. 3.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Some days were great. Others sucked away your soul.

    Aug 21, 2019 - Marketing Director in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    -Benefits are good. -Remote work can be good. -Company is strong. -Microsoft helping GitHub to mature. -Microsoft channel is huge for enterprise sales.

    Cons

    - Clicks. Build the right relationships or your career will be limited. While this is true everywhere I've worked, it was more noticeable in certain pockets. - Poor management in some areas. CMO is desperately needed. - Rotating door in some departments. When everyone is underperforming, maybe it's time to replace the leadership. - Claim to support fail-fast, fail-small mentality, but will punish people for it at reviews. - Their 360 review process is implemented poorly. I've seen several people be hurt by feedback that the subject never received nor could respond to. - Remote work success depends on management. New CEO is in the office and rewards "tap on the shoulder" availability. - They are trying to shift to being decision-oriented, but in practice, decisions are made much higher in the organization than they should.

    Continue reading
    36 people found this review helpful
  11. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Wonderful company working on amazing mission

    Nov 14, 2016 - Product Designer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I have never been happier since joining GitHub as a Product Designer. I have had the opportunity to grow the way I want to, work on interesting problems, and balance my work with my life. I have never felt like a company takes such great care of me until GitHub. I have been able to grow skills in product design as well as engineering workflow here. Product cycle is deeply rooted in the workflows of designers and engineers, the way it should be. Vision is alive and transparent. Easy to have work/life balance due to remote work policy and unlimited vacation. Extra mega perk in 2 conferences per year, expenses covered. Also encourages involvement in social impact and self education, which is huge for me.

    Cons

    Due to large size of organization, may be difficult to gain your footing and learn how to be a GitHubber in the first weeks and months. But have no fear, everyone understands this and is very open to question and I have never lacked support.

    Continue reading
    11 people found this review helpful

    GitHub Response

    People Operations Team

    Thrilled to hear that you are happy with a few of the many benefits we offer here at GitHub. Our Product Design team is great and we hope things only continue to get better for you in this new role! We will certainly use this feedback as we continue to work to make our benefits even better. Thanks!

Viewing 1 - 10 of 28 Reviews
</>Embed

Popular Careers with GitHub Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at GitHub? Share Your Experiences

GitHub logo
or

Reviews by Job Title

GitHub Photos

+ Add Photo
GitHub photo of: 2016 interns + one octocat
GitHub photo of: Octocats for all occasions
GitHub photo of: Bring your pup to work
GitHub photo of: We love hosting events in our space
GitHub photo of: Octocat and Octokittens
GitHub photo of: Cafe HQ
GitHub photo of: Hubbers love coffee!
See All Photos

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

GitHub Job Seekers Also Viewed

Atlassian Logo
Atlassian

4.6

1,817 Reviews
Compare

Glassdoor has 263 GitHub reviews submitted anonymously by GitHub employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if GitHub is right for you.