KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

GitLab

Engaged Employer

GitLab

Add a Review

GitLab Employee Reviews about "gitlab"

Updated Nov 22, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 28 of over 351 reviews

4.6
90%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
GitLab CEO Sid Sijbrandij
Sid Sijbrandij
270 Ratings

What people are saying about GitLab

Join the conversation on

Referral and Opportunities

2m

works at 

Tata Consultancy

Hello fishes, I am in big trouble - I worked my ass off for more than 1 year and currently working in a ReactJS development team from last 4 months, however due to financial reasons i resigned and left with 45 days with no offer in-hand thinking like I will get one. Can anyone please refer with below tech stack please? TYOE - 3.10 Rel - 4-5 Months Techs: ReactJS, Javascript, HTML, CSS, Bootstrap, Styled-components, GIT, GitLab. I have already gave interview to - Wipro , cognizant, Infosys

1

11 Comments

Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "The culture is amazing and the home office is not boring as other companies can be.(in 39 reviews)
  • "The people are great, GitLab makes a point of hiring good humans and it shows(in 27 reviews)
  • "great benefits(in 19 reviews)
  • "The team is great, from day one you're part of the GitLab family.(in 18 reviews)
  • "The transparency is amazing(in 18 reviews)
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of GitLab and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?

Reviews about "gitlab"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Great company but needs to innovate internally

    Mar 18, 2021 - Current Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    GitLab is an absolutely amazing company to work for! I love the flexibility the all-remote organization has. Everyone is super passionate about what they do. Leadership is very approachable and it's an exciting place to be. There are a lot of cool initiatives taking place to push the organization further. I'm so fortunate to work for a company like GitLab and the sky is the limit.

    Cons

    Only two cons that are top of mind since I've been here: 1. Tone it down on the wokeness a bit. I'm all for Diversity, Inclusion, Belonging but at times I feel like I can only go so far here since I'm a "white male." I've heard this term more at GitLab than any other job and it's exhausting. It makes me fearful for advancing because of my "identity" and not on "merit." 2. There needs to be some changing internally to how we operate. There's major communication overload and at times it feels to internally focused. What worked when the company was 500 people, doesn't work anymore now that we are 1300. I'd encourage leadership to be open to new ways of working and experiment more. There is a lot of fear of losing the all-remote culture, but GitLab can continue to be an innovator in this space if they try out new things.

    Continue reading
    24 people found this review helpful

    GitLab Response

    Thank you for your review and advice. As we continue to grow, it will be a focus of the People team and the Executive team to ensure we are evolving our operating style as needed.

  2. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Awesome product! The people part has some challenges.

    Mar 16, 2021 - Solutions Architect 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    * GitLab's DevOps platform is well liked by its customers. * The culture is real for the most part. * Smart & diligent coworkers.

    Cons

    * DevSecOps is, for the most part, just other developers open source projects integrated into GitLab. * GitLab's obsession to take over the DevOps landscape may ostracize potential partners * High number of five star reviews for folks that are in the honeymoon phase. Of course it's five stars; that's why you joined! * Some slightly toxic mid level managers. Do your homework before joining! * Planned IPO in November 2020 was pushed off because of Covid. That being said, you'll want to verify that options are worth much as it's likely close to an exit. * Compensation is ok. GitLab's USP was that it was an all remote company & that's why you could take less. With Covid, that USP is a bit less compelling. That said, GitLab knows how to make remote work work.

    Continue reading
    5 people found this review helpful
  3. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    The best job I've ever had

    Feb 1, 2021 - Full Stack Web Developer in Denver, CO
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    For most companies, values are just buzz words with very little meaning or relevance. This is not true at GitLab. The pros of working at GitLab almost all tie directly back to the values that GitLab takes very seriously: Collaboration: people here are kind, there are all sorts of resources and helpful tips to welcome newcomers and collaborate with the greatest community in the kindest way. Folks share their opinions, say thanks, and give feedback. For challenging collaborative problems, GitLab provides a variety of resources to educate folks on how to navigate the tough bits. Results: one of the sub values of "results" is "Measure results not hours" - and it shows. People are not tracking how often you're "active" on slack, how many meetings you make, how many things you say in meetings. Being handbook and async first in an all remote company means that the value of your contributions speaks volumes more than how you "appear". Efficiency: people for the most part write things down. This is the core of being handbook first. And let me tell you: I can't imagine working any other way. It's a lot of information to parse out. But imagine working somewhere where your coworkers don't interrupt you every 15 minutes to ask the same question someone else asked. Or where you don't feel bad having to interrupt your coworkers with the same thing. You can literally Google internal company processes and get an answer. Not sure how to write a good code review? Google "GitLab code review process" and you'll find the handbook page. Want to know how to submit an expense report? Type "expense reporting GitLab" in your navigation bar and you've got the answer. It's amazing, and I think it's extremely understated as a benefit here. It gets overshadowed by being all remote. But if you're an information-savvy knowledge worker, this is the way you must demand to get work done. Diversity, Inclusion & Belonging: this is where asynchronous communication comes in. And there's explicit instructions about having uncomfortable conversations. The company explicitly talks about what this value means, instead of being an overarching idea that's too broad to be useful. I've never believed a company ever cared about this value until I interviewed at GitLab. The interviewing process is as equitable as it can be (there is still a power differential, of course. And human systems are imperfect, and I have many privileges so I can't necessarily evaluate this objectively). But again, you can google all the hiring details and know what to expect. You can see the statistics in terms of hiring length, hiring metrics, etc. There are some confidential pieces of information here, of course, but the transparency builds to this diversity value. Iteration: this value can be challenging, but it can also be freeing. I feel empowered to make small, reversible changes all the time. To pitch ideas, deliver on promises, and come back later to clean things up. I'm never blocked because I'm waiting for approval three levels up. Transparency: this is another value that lends to the handbook first pro. Other pros: Remote work is awesome. It's clear how you add value to the company. The company is clearly growing, and the opportunity is there. The brand name is super cool - I am so proud and excited to have it on my resume. People are welcoming, excited, and always thinking of cool new ideas Lots of opportunity to work on new projects, but also a healthy focus on making sure existing solutions are appropriately leveraged and maintained. All levels of management are very accessible. The compensation is transparent, and more than fair.

    Cons

    There is a lot of information out there. It can be very challenging to parse through and find signal versus noise, especially as a newcomer. Being remote is great, but sometimes you miss the in-person relationships and collaboration style. The company is moving at a fast pace. They talk a lot about work/life balance, and they clearly take steps to enforce it. But I personally find myself being highly engaged and thoughtful about work outside of working hours because of all the activity going on. It's exciting, but it can be hard to turn off when your "office" is just inside your laptop, and the company is abuzz with activity at all hours of the day. This is a personal problem, not necessarily a systemic one. But I think many people share this. The onboarding process itself is very structured and easy to follow, with plenty of information. But I have spoken with many colleagues who feel like they were thrown into the deep end early on. I think a start up at this phase has a lot of that - the company needs to move quickly, and employees need to be ready for that. Be ready to feel a little lost for the first few months with information overload and a fast pace of work. I think most folks adjust, and GitLab has plenty of resources and systems to help. But it can be a lot, for sure. Because everything is handbook first, everyone is empowered to make decisions, etc., there are plenty of conflicting information sources out there. I think this is true of any company. The challenge at GitLab is that having all the documentation public means that any person in the company might stumble upon two conflicting pieces of information - rather than a different company where those conflicting points of view are siloed to teams. In that specific case, being siloed can actually be useful for individuals.

    Continue reading
    6 people found this review helpful

    GitLab Response

    Talent Brand Manager

    We're so appreciative of the time you took to leave such a detailed review about what it's like to work here, and that you centered it around our values. Like you said, these values truly guide us in everything that we do at GitLab. Thank you for the constructive feedback as well. This type of input from the team will help us continue to iterate and improve as we grow!

  4. 3.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Product = Great, Remote = Great, Job = NOT great

    Jun 22, 2020 - Strategic Account Leader in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Its the world's largest all-remote company. The freedom I had to structure my day will be tough to match anywhere else. Overall the company is loved by it's users and it's a really hot space to be in right now. GitLab moves REALLY fast and the rate of improvement from a product perspective is incredible. From a competitive standpoint there are only 3 major vendors in this market and the other two are publicly traded

    Cons

    The nature of the solution is so critical that customers and prospects don't change course very frequently. That's great for accounts that already use GitLab and are growing but guess what? All those accounts are already owned by other reps which leaves new arrivals with table scraps. The only people I saw being successful were those with F500 customers which had already committed to gitlab and are now just growing their usage. In short if you don't have a book of business that has a couple large and growing accounts you have a near zero chance at being successful here. I felt like they viewed new AEs as a pipeline generation tool and nothing more

    Continue reading
    23 people found this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Like no other company I've experienced

    Feb 10, 2020 - Support Engineering Manager in Erie, CO
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Interview with a bunch of companies, especially high-tech ones. Each one will tell you about their amazing culture and their special values. It gets pretty old pretty fast. But interview with GitLab, and immediately it becomes clear that something is different, truly different, unique. From the moment I began speaking with people at the company during the hiring process all the way through my first month at the company (as of this writing, I'm pretty new), I've been impressed that absolutely everybody lives the values every moment of every day. What it looks like is a constant sharing of information and ideas, with even the newest employees being encouraged to contribute from day one. It's really very cool. It's also important to note that this company has no offices anywhere. Everyone works from home, or from wherever. And we're spread around the world. It's wonderful to be free from commuting, to have extra hours added back to your day. And because remote work is what everybody in the company does, GitLab has figured out ways to do this well, from making it really easy to set up your home office, to providing all the communication tools and framework you need to be and feel connected to your colleagues at all times.

    Cons

    None. No, GitLab isn't perfect. But with a strong product to offer to customers, a tremendous growth trend, and a strong set of heartfelt values that includes a genuine desire to be improving everything about the company continuously, there aren't any long-term cons that I have spotted.

    5 people found this review helpful

    GitLab Response

    Talent Brand Manager

    We really appreciate you taking the time to leave such a thorough review! You mentioned something especially important about how we approach remote work. Many people these days are suddenly faced with working from home, but it’s not the same as being part of a team that’s engineered to fully embrace all-remote work. At GitLab, we’re intentional about building a culture that enables remote practices. Thanks for pointing that out! Here's more on our approach to remote work for anyone interested: https://about.gitlab.com/company/culture/all-remote/

  6. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Security Assurance Engineer

    Dec 21, 2020 - Security Assurance Engineer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Transparency - It's a value that is lived out in a very unique fashion at GitLab with things such as their compensation calculator (you can look up the range for your and others' positions within the company) and the openness of discussions that take place on a daily basis in Slack and GitLab Issues. While it is rare for people to always agree on an approach or change occurring, the openness in which people can share their feelings is a breath of fresh air compared to the backroom and private chats that people normally resort to to discuss their grievances. Flexibility - Being all remote is something that more and more company's are moving to or at least a hybrid model but the difference with GitLab is that they are taking it a step further with remote locations AND remote time arrangements. With a company spread out around the world it's inevitable that it's daytime for someone and nighttime for another so there is no expectation of people working the typical hours of their own time zone. It's not uncommon to get messages in various channels throughout the day letting you know that someone is stepping out for a few hours or working a different than usual schedule for a while and the expectation is rarely that you'll be able to immediately get a response on something from a specific person via chat, so everyone builds their work and there days around themselves making for better documentation and greater work/life balance. People - The people of GitLab are phenomenal. While I haven't worked with everyone and everyone certainly has different backgrounds and approaches to work, people are open to collaboration and even being remote are genuinely caring about each others' lives. Remote - Similar (but different) to flexibility, the all remote arrangement of GitLab makes for very cool work arrangements. Want to work from your local coffee shops each day? Great. Want to beat the holiday travel rush home and work there for a week on either side of the holiday to avoid crazy plane tickets? Great. Want to be a digital nomad and hop around country to country in a new place every other week? Awesome. GitLab encourages and enables people to find what works for them and provides the resources to be successful (they'll even buy you a portable monitor so you can travel with it if that's your thing). Startup - GitLab is still a startup and while there are companies that are younger and smaller, GitLab is scaling well and is still a startup with how they approach work and through their transparency is doing a good job of avoiding the usual shift from startup to successful business that pushes all the people that made it a great place to work, out. It's also cool to work on a product that feels like it'll change things for a lot of companies, and to watch that happen.

    Cons

    Not many but things that can be a challenge: Lack of availability - since you can't count on people to be online at the same time as you, especially starting out it can be difficult to adjust to a world where you just push everything as far as you can and then set it down compared to a typical environment where you'd have a desk to walk over to or a person to IM that was on the same hours as you and you could message them for an answer so you could keep going on something. As a whole the asynchronous work style is awesome but takes a little adjusting to at first. Easy to be always on - With full time remote it becomes very important to set boundaries between work and life but also, with people spread around the world it's inevitable that you'll have some early morning or late night meetings that pop up that you need to attend. While it is rare and often avoided via recording meetings and sharing a collaborative notes doc, there are times when flexing your schedule for some late nights or early mornings is the simplest way to handle a problem and can lead to burnout if you let those type situations trickle over into never truly turning off from work. Change - being a startup things are constantly changing and it can be difficult at times to keep up with all the changes and there are adjustments that seem to happen on a far more frequent basis than other more established companies. While not necessarily always a con, there is the potential that some of the things you may hold most dear about the company upon hire quickly adjust to something else and that may be difficult to handle for some. That being said, the core foundations of GitLab don't seem to be changing and this is a risk at any company, it's just more realized at GitLab due to the size/current nature of the company.

    Continue reading
    5 people found this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Growth | Professional & Personal

    Dec 2, 2020 - AREA SALES MANAGER in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    GitLab has a brilliant offering and is an incredible place to contribute; I have been able to experience professional growth within the company but I am most excited by the space where I have been able to grow personally. GitLab lives our values of C.R.E.D.I.T. (do a quick search for context) and I am grateful for the opportunity to continue learning ways I can be a true ally with a tighter focus on diversity, inclusion, and belonging.

    Cons

    GitLab is in rapid growth and it can be a bit of an adjustment if you come from a well-established company - each problem is ours to solve!

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Best company I've worked for so far

    Feb 12, 2021 - Sales Development Representative (SDR) in Cincinnati, OH
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    All remote, super supportive and motivating team, never starving for work, unlimited PTO, incentives to do your best, a lot of fun. Territories and quotas are set up so that everyone has the opportunity to succeed.

    Cons

    There are no cons at GitLab. I'll be here for a long time.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Awesome people, awesome company

    Dec 12, 2020 - Support Engineer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The team at GitLab is genuinely the most talented group I've ever worked with. More importantly though, they're kind, thoughtful, and invested in making the company better. I genuinely enjoyed working with the people at GitLab, and met a lot of people I still consider friends after leaving. As far as the job itself, I learned a ton and was never bored. There are a lot of great internal resources and in-house tools that are really helpful in being able to solve problems. And just to be clear, customers bring some really interesting problems. It was really cool to see all the different ways people used (and broke) their installations. Working at GitLab was basically a neverending crash course in how to manage and maintain software, and I mean that in the best way possible. The benefits were probably the best of any company I've worked at. Health insurance was incredibly good, and they covered the majority of my family's costs. They allow people to expense training materials and are pretty liberal with what they will pay for - I've worked at places that have a similar policy but will then fight you on every little thing, and that was never the case at GitLab. Same with their unlimited PTO policy. They trust people to behave like adults, and I can't understand how nice that is. GitLab's dedication to process and operations is also a big selling point. I've worked in so many places where no one bothered to document anything, and the fact that GitLab spends so much time and energy on this is great. Their handbook is one of the most thoroughly impressive documents I've ever seen, and for the most part, its actual contents are extremely fair and thoughtful.

    Cons

    One major con that I noticed toward the end of my time at GitLab is that it's starting to feel like a big company, which wasn't the case when I started there. It was awesome to see such rapid growth, but in my opinion, they scaled the product and operations without quite getting things like communication right. There were a few instances of really big decisions being made behind closed doors, then being met with a lot of pushback when they were announced. It felt to me like these decisions were made non-transparently because leadership knew they would be unpopular, but it's also likely I don't have the full context. Running a company is hard, and so is communication, and to be clear, GitLab's leadership did things the right way more often than not. There are just a few specific instances that left a really bad taste in my mouth, so that's why I mention it. The biggest problem that I have is pay discrepancy via the "location factor." I live in an area with a decent factor, and I felt I was paid fairly for my work - but my coworkers in Latin America, for example, work just as hard as I did for about half as much money in some cases. My main gripe here is that pay difference is explicitly not based on cost of living, but "market rate." This might have made sense when remote-first work wasn't the norm, but it turns out there is a whole "market" of companies for me to choose from that don't penalize people for living in the wrong place. So even ignoring my moral judgment on this, it doesn't make sense anymore from a hiring perspective. I won't get into the effects this has on diversity and inclusion, but there's an obvious impact here as well.

    Continue reading
    7 people found this review helpful
  10. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Low comp, but overall, still worth it for fantastic culture and WLB

    Aug 17, 2020 - Software Developer in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    They really do live the culture and, by any large, everyone really is in it together. None of the backstabbing or ladder climbing I've seen elsewhere. Company values are an adjustment, but work out well once you decide to embrace them. It would be tough to work for another company that didn't embrace a similar ground-up approach and a similar degree of transparency.

    Cons

    Even in the high-comp areas, total compensation is roughly 30% below what you'd get elsewhere in tech companies of similar size (excluding FANG companies, which pay substantially more but bleed you dry). Unlike many other tech companies, no one in SF or New York or Seattle or London is going to be able to buy a home on a GitLab salary, unless they already have a substantial down payment in the bank or the IPO hits it big. The salary scaling by cost of labor is also a little odd, but discussed at length elsewhere on the Web (pros and cons) One thing that's unexpected is the shackle of living in a high-COLA market. Normally, one could decide to add an extra 30 minutes to a commute to find more affordable housing, but once you cross the metro area line, you drop into an often dramatically lower bracket: Leaving New York City (90% of SF base) drops you to "Everywhere else, NY" (63%). So a lot of moves of financial convenience just aren't worth it, unless you REALLY move somewhere where the floor is so low that the ceiling dropping doesn't matter. If I leave a $200k TC job in Manhattan for $150k at GitLab, the prospect of moving to White Plains where I could possibly afford a house seems doable, until I learn that my salary will now be $105k. So now instead of being a lifetime renter in the East Village, I'm a lifetime renter in the burbs. If you're looking for a structure within which to build a long-term career plan, you'll need to be fortunate enough to happen upon the right openings at the right time, although that's because people rarely leave, which is a good thing.

    Continue reading
    7 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 28 Reviews