KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

GitLab

Engaged Employer

GitLab

Add a Review

GitLab Employee Reviews about "remote work"

Updated Oct 4, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 49 of over 351 reviews

4.6
90%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
GitLab CEO Sid Sijbrandij
Sid Sijbrandij
270 Ratings

What people are saying about GitLab

Join the conversation on

Referral and Opportunities

2m

works at 

Tata Consultancy

Hello fishes, I am in big trouble - I worked my ass off for more than 1 year and currently working in a ReactJS development team from last 4 months, however due to financial reasons i resigned and left with 45 days with no offer in-hand thinking like I will get one. Can anyone please refer with below tech stack please? TYOE - 3.10 Rel - 4-5 Months Techs: ReactJS, Javascript, HTML, CSS, Bootstrap, Styled-components, GIT, GitLab. I have already gave interview to - Wipro , cognizant, Infosys

1

11 Comments

Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "The culture is amazing and the home office is not boring as other companies can be.(in 39 reviews)
  • "The people are great, GitLab makes a point of hiring good humans and it shows(in 27 reviews)
  • "great benefits(in 19 reviews)
  • "The team is great, from day one you're part of the GitLab family.(in 18 reviews)
  • "The transparency is amazing(in 18 reviews)
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of GitLab and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?

Reviews about "remote work"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Best Remote Culture Around!

    Oct 4, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    They are true to their values and encourage everyone to work within those values. They understand how to do Remote Work but they are continuously trying to do things in hopes of making remote work better!

    Cons

    You have to be able to set clear boundaries for yourself around remote work, leaders are completely supportive of these boundaries but cannot create them for you. Find what works for you.

    1 person found this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Remote Work Requires Remote Culture

    Sep 10, 2021 - Backend Software Engineer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Just because a company allows for remote work doesn't mean it does it well. GitLab does since from its inception as a company it's been building a remote-first culture. Communicating asynchronously is embedded into the soul of the culture, so that it enables a truly asynchronous working experience. This allows employees to have truly flexible schedules that accommodate for the other important things in life--family, friends, important work outside of work-work that we really care about. The engineering culture is also A+. High standards are enforced through code reviews. It's a highly collaborative environment where GitLab issues are an easy way for anyone to submit an idea for discussion. I feel both supported and challenged to grow in my role.

    Cons

    Not having a physical office is tough in that it's hard to build personal relationships and rapport with coworkers. Compensation is below market for companies of similar caliber.

    1 person found this review helpful
  3. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Awesome product! The people part has some challenges.

    Mar 16, 2021 - Solutions Architect 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    * GitLab's DevOps platform is well liked by its customers. * The culture is real for the most part. * Smart & diligent coworkers.

    Cons

    * DevSecOps is, for the most part, just other developers open source projects integrated into GitLab. * GitLab's obsession to take over the DevOps landscape may ostracize potential partners * High number of five star reviews for folks that are in the honeymoon phase. Of course it's five stars; that's why you joined! * Some slightly toxic mid level managers. Do your homework before joining! * Planned IPO in November 2020 was pushed off because of Covid. That being said, you'll want to verify that options are worth much as it's likely close to an exit. * Compensation is ok. GitLab's USP was that it was an all remote company & that's why you could take less. With Covid, that USP is a bit less compelling. That said, GitLab knows how to make remote work work.

    Continue reading
    5 people found this review helpful
  4. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Great company full of people who really care

    Feb 21, 2020 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    At GitLab, transparency is key, and what you see is what you get. First off, the company itself is great – the product is strong and loved by many customers, and company performance is well above par. But more important than performance is the team and the people who lead it. Everyone at GitLab is welcoming and friendly, which is particularly difficult for a fully-remote organization. I feel like everyone – from my team, to my manager, to leadership – truly care and are invested in my success. The flexibility and work-life balance is unbeatable. I've been at other remote companies that tout flexibility, but expect you to be at your desk from 9-5 and get on your case when your Slack status is not available in the middle of the workday. GitLab delivers on the flexibility they promise – they trust you to get your work done on your time. They also understand that work is not always the most important thing, and thereby constantly encourage you to take time for obligations and interests outside of work. And lastly, GitLab truly embraces the idea that "everyone can contribute." Because of this, your opportunities for professional growth are limitless in this organization. No problem is too big or small for either an individual contributor or executive to solve. Every employee is encouraged to reach their full potential and explore problems/areas that are of interest to them.

    Cons

    Compensation is not always up to par with similar businesses in the industry. Other benefits like remote work, unlimited PTO, etc. absolutely make up for some of this, but it's important that team members also feel the skillset they're bringing to the table is valued with appropriate compensation.

    6 people found this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    The best job I've ever had

    Feb 1, 2021 - Full Stack Web Developer in Denver, CO
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    For most companies, values are just buzz words with very little meaning or relevance. This is not true at GitLab. The pros of working at GitLab almost all tie directly back to the values that GitLab takes very seriously: Collaboration: people here are kind, there are all sorts of resources and helpful tips to welcome newcomers and collaborate with the greatest community in the kindest way. Folks share their opinions, say thanks, and give feedback. For challenging collaborative problems, GitLab provides a variety of resources to educate folks on how to navigate the tough bits. Results: one of the sub values of "results" is "Measure results not hours" - and it shows. People are not tracking how often you're "active" on slack, how many meetings you make, how many things you say in meetings. Being handbook and async first in an all remote company means that the value of your contributions speaks volumes more than how you "appear". Efficiency: people for the most part write things down. This is the core of being handbook first. And let me tell you: I can't imagine working any other way. It's a lot of information to parse out. But imagine working somewhere where your coworkers don't interrupt you every 15 minutes to ask the same question someone else asked. Or where you don't feel bad having to interrupt your coworkers with the same thing. You can literally Google internal company processes and get an answer. Not sure how to write a good code review? Google "GitLab code review process" and you'll find the handbook page. Want to know how to submit an expense report? Type "expense reporting GitLab" in your navigation bar and you've got the answer. It's amazing, and I think it's extremely understated as a benefit here. It gets overshadowed by being all remote. But if you're an information-savvy knowledge worker, this is the way you must demand to get work done. Diversity, Inclusion & Belonging: this is where asynchronous communication comes in. And there's explicit instructions about having uncomfortable conversations. The company explicitly talks about what this value means, instead of being an overarching idea that's too broad to be useful. I've never believed a company ever cared about this value until I interviewed at GitLab. The interviewing process is as equitable as it can be (there is still a power differential, of course. And human systems are imperfect, and I have many privileges so I can't necessarily evaluate this objectively). But again, you can google all the hiring details and know what to expect. You can see the statistics in terms of hiring length, hiring metrics, etc. There are some confidential pieces of information here, of course, but the transparency builds to this diversity value. Iteration: this value can be challenging, but it can also be freeing. I feel empowered to make small, reversible changes all the time. To pitch ideas, deliver on promises, and come back later to clean things up. I'm never blocked because I'm waiting for approval three levels up. Transparency: this is another value that lends to the handbook first pro. Other pros: Remote work is awesome. It's clear how you add value to the company. The company is clearly growing, and the opportunity is there. The brand name is super cool - I am so proud and excited to have it on my resume. People are welcoming, excited, and always thinking of cool new ideas Lots of opportunity to work on new projects, but also a healthy focus on making sure existing solutions are appropriately leveraged and maintained. All levels of management are very accessible. The compensation is transparent, and more than fair.

    Cons

    There is a lot of information out there. It can be very challenging to parse through and find signal versus noise, especially as a newcomer. Being remote is great, but sometimes you miss the in-person relationships and collaboration style. The company is moving at a fast pace. They talk a lot about work/life balance, and they clearly take steps to enforce it. But I personally find myself being highly engaged and thoughtful about work outside of working hours because of all the activity going on. It's exciting, but it can be hard to turn off when your "office" is just inside your laptop, and the company is abuzz with activity at all hours of the day. This is a personal problem, not necessarily a systemic one. But I think many people share this. The onboarding process itself is very structured and easy to follow, with plenty of information. But I have spoken with many colleagues who feel like they were thrown into the deep end early on. I think a start up at this phase has a lot of that - the company needs to move quickly, and employees need to be ready for that. Be ready to feel a little lost for the first few months with information overload and a fast pace of work. I think most folks adjust, and GitLab has plenty of resources and systems to help. But it can be a lot, for sure. Because everything is handbook first, everyone is empowered to make decisions, etc., there are plenty of conflicting information sources out there. I think this is true of any company. The challenge at GitLab is that having all the documentation public means that any person in the company might stumble upon two conflicting pieces of information - rather than a different company where those conflicting points of view are siloed to teams. In that specific case, being siloed can actually be useful for individuals.

    Continue reading
    6 people found this review helpful

    GitLab Response

    Talent Brand Manager

    We're so appreciative of the time you took to leave such a detailed review about what it's like to work here, and that you centered it around our values. Like you said, these values truly guide us in everything that we do at GitLab. Thank you for the constructive feedback as well. This type of input from the team will help us continue to iterate and improve as we grow!

  6. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Working at GitLab

    Jul 27, 2021 - Account Executive in Atlanta, GA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Flexibile hours as it is remote Management can vary at times but is not down your throat at every occassion Remote work prior to pandemic meant the organization was prepared

    Cons

    Constant changes as the company looks to IPO can be frustrating and forces you to adapt pretty frequently. Asynchronous communication can be aggravating at times as well

    1 person found this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Like no other company I've experienced

    Feb 10, 2020 - Support Engineering Manager in Erie, CO
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Interview with a bunch of companies, especially high-tech ones. Each one will tell you about their amazing culture and their special values. It gets pretty old pretty fast. But interview with GitLab, and immediately it becomes clear that something is different, truly different, unique. From the moment I began speaking with people at the company during the hiring process all the way through my first month at the company (as of this writing, I'm pretty new), I've been impressed that absolutely everybody lives the values every moment of every day. What it looks like is a constant sharing of information and ideas, with even the newest employees being encouraged to contribute from day one. It's really very cool. It's also important to note that this company has no offices anywhere. Everyone works from home, or from wherever. And we're spread around the world. It's wonderful to be free from commuting, to have extra hours added back to your day. And because remote work is what everybody in the company does, GitLab has figured out ways to do this well, from making it really easy to set up your home office, to providing all the communication tools and framework you need to be and feel connected to your colleagues at all times.

    Cons

    None. No, GitLab isn't perfect. But with a strong product to offer to customers, a tremendous growth trend, and a strong set of heartfelt values that includes a genuine desire to be improving everything about the company continuously, there aren't any long-term cons that I have spotted.

    5 people found this review helpful

    GitLab Response

    Talent Brand Manager

    We really appreciate you taking the time to leave such a thorough review! You mentioned something especially important about how we approach remote work. Many people these days are suddenly faced with working from home, but it’s not the same as being part of a team that’s engineered to fully embrace all-remote work. At GitLab, we’re intentional about building a culture that enables remote practices. Thanks for pointing that out! Here's more on our approach to remote work for anyone interested: https://about.gitlab.com/company/culture/all-remote/

  8. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Dream job

    May 7, 2021 - Sales Development Representative (SDR) 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Remote Work Asynchronous workstyle work/life balance room for growth

    Cons

    Some people are tired, have been here for a while and maybe have a jaded view of things (as with any startup/new company)

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    This company understands the importance of family

    Apr 5, 2019 - Support Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    This company's leadership is the stuff. My boss made me feel empowered from day 1. He basically gave me a platform where I could learn at my own pace, practice the skills required for my role, and contribute to my team's growth. My boss showed he was confident in my skills, and I felt confident diving into the "harder" tasks within a few weeks. Lunch breaks at my old jobs meant eating at my desk because my bosses rewarded that. My lunch breaks now mean walking my dog, calling my parents, folding laundry or just, ye know, eating away from the desk. Honestly, I couldn't be more grateful to work for a company that: 1) Enables me to see my family more than once a year 2) Empowers me to grow as an engineer 3) Takes diversity seriously(being a chick and person of color in the Bay Area; I can instantly recognize companies that take diversity seriously, and those that are just following a trend) 4)Promotes self care(from needing a short walk to therapy and drs appointments) I've heard of people getting kicked out of meetings because it's a holiday where they live and "what are you doing working on a holiday and not spending time with your family"? As soon as I was introduced as the new employee, people started scheduling short informal calls that we call coffee chats. Tell me that's not welcoming as heck?? Anyway, my team is chill, we all help each other out, and we all learn from each other. Egos stay at the door, and come back when the workday is done and you're showing off your backflip at the park(that's right, you get to practice your back flips at the park because when you get off work, it's still bright outside) Mic drop.

    Cons

    I wouldn't consider this a con, but just a heads up for those who are considering working remotely for the first time. You are no longer getting exposed to the sun from (long) commutes to work, so make sure you're taking care of yourself by taking breaks, walks, being mindful of whether you've been sitting for to long etc. I guess I wish we had some sort of fitness incentive

    90 people found this review helpful

    GitLab Response

    Employment Branding Lead

    We love hearing stories about the flexibility that remote work has brought back into our team members' lives -- thank you so much for sharing yours. You also bring up a great point about the importance of making time for self-care and other tactics to avoid burnout. We're gathering tips and tricks for remote work on this page, and encourage everyone to contribute to it: https://about.gitlab.com/company/culture/all-remote/tips/

  10. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Freedom

    Jan 15, 2020 - Anonymous Employee in Lehi, UT
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I have worked a bunch of different places, but GitLab has to be my favorite so far. The culture permeates the organization. Everything is done remotely and asynchronously so I don't feel pressure to keep my seat warm and there is no commute. I am actually encouraged to take time off. Also, the benefits cost less than what my health insurance alone cost at my old job. All in all, I hope to make a long career out of working at GitLab.

    Cons

    You need to be self-motivated and be able to find a place to focus to work remotely. Not really a con, but something for potential employees to consider. Also, you may be able to get paid more elsewhere, but the benefits of working remote are worth their weight in gold.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful

    GitLab Response

    Talent Brand Manager

    Thanks for taking the time to leave a review! Great advice about the need to be a "manager of one" to be successful in an all-remote environment. Here's a guide in the all-remote section of the GitLab Handbook with other tips that might be helpful for potential candidates: https://about.gitlab.com/company/culture/all-remote/getting-started

Viewing 1 - 10 of 49 Reviews

Popular Careers with GitLab Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at GitLab? Share Your Experiences

GitLab logo

GitLab