Givaudan Reviews | Glassdoor

Givaudan Reviews

Updated May 22, 2017
164 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-time Part-time

3.5
Star Star Star Star Star
Rating Trends Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Givaudan CEO Gilles Andrier
Gilles Andrier
74 Ratings

164 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date

Pros
Cons
  • no work life balance for family time (in 7 reviews)

  • It can be difficult to move into different positions within the company (in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Featured Review

    "Building well rounded employees"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in East Hanover, NJ
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in East Hanover, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Givaudan full-time

    Pros

    -Management provides you with meaningful projects that not only help the company and department, but also provides you with learning experiences to help you grow as an employee.
    -Givaudan has many opportunities for internal and cross-functional moves throughout the company. It also has possibilities for changes in region if that is desired.
    -Everyone at the company is very willing to help and lead you towards sources of information.

    Cons

    -Some of the equipment is old and needs to be updated.

    Givaudan Response

    Apr 4, 2017 – Digital Talent Brand & Attraction Specialist

    Thanks for the nice review! We truly appreciate your feedback. We wish you continued success in your role.


  2. "Great Place to Work"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Production Management in Mount Olive, NJ
    Current Employee - Production Management in Mount Olive, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Positive environment to work in. Managers encourage opportunities to get involved in multiple initiatives with various people and departments. Vast career growth opportunities throughout the company, including global locations. Really a great place to make contributions and drive value in business operations. Recommend to anyone in the job market.

    Cons

    Nothing abnormal compared to previous experience.

    Advice to Management

    N/A


  3. "Supply Chain"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Mount Olive, NJ
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Mount Olive, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Givaudan full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Great Company to Work For
    Collaborative Groups of People at all Levels

    Cons

    Biggest in Industry Lagging in Compensation

    Advice to Management

    Reevaluate roles, responsibilities, and compensation comparative data


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. "Flavors - Good place to work"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Production Planner in New York, NY
    Former Employee - Production Planner in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Givaudan full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    * Big company with a small company feel. Although it is global it is broken down into very regional units and everyone can drive positive change. They are never too big to improve. I was always encouraged to improve our process.

    * Decent pay and benefits.

    * Good work life balance for office positions. Overtime/weekend work was rarely required.

    Cons

    * Site management (including directors) seems to turn over a lot which makes things difficult.

    * Because of the small company setup it can be difficult to advance unless you are willing to relocate across the country. Not as much opportunity for people outside Ohio.

    Givaudan Response

    May 22, 2017 – Digital Talent Brand & Attraction Specialist

    Thanks for sharing your experience. We are always striving to improve, so we genuinely appreciate your feedback!


  6. Helpful (2)

    "Great Place for Hard Working Passionate People"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Budd Lake, NJ
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Budd Lake, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Givaudan full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Be a part of a best in class organization. There are always new challenges and if you have an open mind and want to take part in exciting endeavours, this is the place for you.

    There is an outlook that if you give then you will get, so if you continue to contribute and add value, you will be rewarded with opportunity.

    Training takes a few different forms with mostly on the job, but then there are many training programs that really you just need to ask for, there is also tuition reimbursement.
    Compensation is competitive and it really can be a job for life.

    Opportunities often come in the form of international assignments, so don't be quick to disregard them they will usually lead to career growth; the company is very understanding and flexible and will usually work with personal situations but don't be a primadonna.

    Cons

    Not a place for the faint of heart, there are continual challenges and your bandwidth will be tested.
    Clock watching will limit your career aspirations here, it is a lean organization and those who don't pull their weight will be quickly identified and miss out on opportunity.

    Advice to Management

    The people at Givaudan are its greatest strength. Continue to invest in those people from every level of the organization to continue the company's trajectory as the leader in the industry.

    Givaudan Response

    Apr 24, 2017 – Digital Talent Brand & Attraction Specialist

    Thanks for the nice review! We truly appreciate your feedback. We wish you continued success in your role.


  7. Helpful (1)

    "Fast Paced Passionate Environment"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Givaudan full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Passionate environment, fast paced, you are constantly challenged for new ideas, a lot of development opportunities offered through different training.

    Cons

    Because of different global locations in many time zones and need to constantly collaborate, sometimes it's hard to disconnect from work.

    Givaudan Response

    Apr 24, 2017 – Digital Talent Brand & Attraction Specialist

    Thanks for the nice review! We truly appreciate your feedback. We wish you continued success in your role.


  8. Helpful (1)

    "Full of Opportunties"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Budd Lake, NJ
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Budd Lake, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Givaudan full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    The company has provided numerous opportunities to grow and learn throughout my career. They reward employees who show initiative and are passionate about the company and their job.

    Cons

    The organization is lean, the positive is a person can engage with multiple levels in the organization, however, this also requires a person to manage many priorities and absorb responsibilities when gaps in the organization arise.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to focus on positive and productive employees, do not spend resources and energy on negative people.

    Givaudan Response

    Apr 24, 2017 – Digital Talent Brand & Attraction Specialist

    Thanks for the nice review! We truly appreciate your feedback. We wish you continued success in your role.


  9. Helpful (1)

    "Top Fragrance Supplier"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in New York, NY
    Current Employee - Manager in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Givaudan (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Stable organization
    Some managers are great at recognizing and growing talent. If you are lucky to work with one of them your experience will be very positive.

    Cons

    Salaries are not as generous or competitive as some other fragrance companies.
    There is such a corporate approach that it keeps everyone in boxes and levels. There is little or no recognition for loyal employees or an understanding of the business by new managers

    Advice to Management

    Incorporate a more value based, easier to understand way of compensating and rewarding employees.

    Givaudan Response

    Apr 24, 2017 – Digital Talent Brand & Attraction Specialist

    Thank you for your feedback. It take all reviews very seriously and are sorry that you feel that way. At Givaudan we use all relevant market insights to offer a competitive base salary, which is ... More


  10. Helpful (3)

    "Corrupt organization- stemming from HR department"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative in Cincinnati, OH
    Former Employee - Administrative in Cincinnati, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Givaudan full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    I do not have any pros.

    Cons

    Favortism, work/ life balance only presented to those individuals in management roles, favors such as weight loss reimbursement covered for favored individuals. Joke!

    Givaudan Response

    May 11, 2017 – Digital Talent Brand & Attraction Specialist

    Thank you for sharing your point of view. We are sorry to hear you feel this way about Givaudan. Favouritism is not tolerated at Givaudan. We recruit, employ and promote employees on the sole basis ... More


  11. Helpful (2)

    "disappointing"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in East Hanover, NJ
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in East Hanover, NJ
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Givaudan full-time

    Pros

    top notch perfumers. excellent learning ground.

    Cons

    difficult to grow. misleading management.

    Advice to Management

    Know the value of great employee when you see it.

    Givaudan Response

    Apr 4, 2017 – Digital Talent Brand & Attraction Specialist

    Thanks for your review. We are sorry that you felt that way at Givaudan. We wish you best of success in your new job.


Showing 164 of 179 reviews
Reset Filters