Givaudan Reviews | Glassdoor

Givaudan Reviews

Updated October 30, 2017
29 reviews

Filter

Filter


2.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Givaudan CEO Gilles Andrier
Gilles Andrier
10 Ratings

29 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons

  1. "Quality Control Lab Technician"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - QC Lab Technician in Cincinnati, OH
    Former Employee - QC Lab Technician in Cincinnati, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Givaudan full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Great benefits and pay. Lots of time off, which you will need because you work a lot of overtime.

    Cons

    Very negative work environment and poor management. Too many rules to follow and keep up with and not consistent for all employees.

    Advice to Management

    Make less rules and make consistent for all employees.

    Givaudan Response

    Nov 9, 2017 – Digital Talent Brand & Attraction Specialist

    Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that you feel this way about Givaudan.


  2. "Working environment rapidly declining"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Givaudan full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Reasonable pay, benefits, and vacation policy.

    Cons

    Lack of upward mobility. Highly segmented working environment where lower level employees are under-appreciated and claw at one another to "get out from the bottom."

    Givaudan Response

    Oct 30, 2017 – Digital Talent Brand & Attraction Specialist

    Thanks for sharing your experience. We are sorry to hear that you feel that way. At Givaudan, you can work on diverse challenges, projects and customers – where you can turn your skills into concrete... More

  3. "waste water operator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Waste Water Operator in East Hanover, NJ
    Current Employee - Waste Water Operator in East Hanover, NJ

    I have been working at Givaudan full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    good work environment, good people

    Cons

    no communication between employees and management

    Givaudan Response

    Aug 22, 2017 – Digital Talent Brand & Attraction Specialist

    Thanks for your review. We wish you continued success in your role.


  4. "Fast Paced Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Givaudan full-time

    Pros

    Great place to learn the industry.

    Cons

    Poor management. Lack of growth opportunities. Clear favoritism with management.

    Advice to Management

    N/A

    Givaudan Response

    Aug 22, 2017 – Digital Talent Brand & Attraction Specialist

    Thanks for the review. We’re dissatisfied to hear that you feel that way about Givaudan because we are committed to providing a work environment where every Givaudan employee feels empowered to... More


  5. Helpful (3)

    "Disappointing to say the least"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Production in Budd Lake, NJ
    Current Employee - Production in Budd Lake, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Givaudan full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Great pay, decent benefits, and unfortunately that's about it.

    Cons

    Terrible work/life balance. Unable to grow a career/your career in the right direction. Stressful work environment. Major communication problems with management.

    Advice to Management

    Resign immediately, for the sake of the people who make you look good and you re-pay them with intimidation because it's not enough.

    Givaudan Response

    Jul 3, 2017 – Digital Talent Brand & Attraction Specialist

    Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that you feel this way about Givaudan.
    It is part of Givaudan’s vision to ensure the ongoing company success by preserving our employee health, and... More


  6. Helpful (6)

    "Interesting review pattern here..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Newark, NJ
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Newark, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Givaudan full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Beautiful buildings, great physical environment (climate controlled and very well maintained), good cafeterias. Well respected by customers.

    Cons

    Challenges include going to work every day and feeling as if you are valued and that your work and contributions mean something. As the headline states, very interesting review pattern here. Looks like once a week people are logging into glass door and singing the praises of Givaudan; can't help but wonder why around once a week people decide to review and seem so happy about working here, when the past few years have not shown any such pattern. All of us should be very grateful to Glassdoor for posting reviews, positive or negative. I tend to believe the negative reviews of all Glassdoor companies much more than the positive ones. Even if they are written in a moment of passion, it helps to speak to the conditions one may face when in a stressful situation.
    I completely agree with the other Givaudan reviewers about the bullying, the cliques, and then the inability to be heard or get ahead. The staff working the hardest are the non-managers who keep the very demanding customers happy every day. But what they go through to make things look easy to the outside eye is very, very difficult. Everything is overbooked, over capacity, and everyone is completely stressed out trying to keep it all together. It's a shame that the management won't allow anyone outside their buildings to know about the difficulties so that real change and help can be applied. I don't know if it's pride or bonuses that drive the secrecy. Whatever it is, it's a total disservice to the dedicated employees, and borders on abuse.

    Advice to Management

    At least for the US conduct a completely anonymous survey if you really want to get to the bottom of things. If you don't, please extend your current and future employees the courtesy of refraining from posting positive hype and good press. Anyone who works here knows it's not true. It just makes the whole company look like desperate yes men to the Swiss.

    Givaudan Response

    Jun 8, 2017 – Digital Talent Brand & Attraction Specialist

    Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that you feel this way about Givaudan.
    Givaudan is committed to providing a working environment that is based on mutual respect among employees and... More


  7. "Ok Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Givaudan full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    My boss was flexible and fair.

    Cons

    I lost my job due to centralization.

    Advice to Management

    Treat people how you want to be treated.

    Givaudan Response

    Mar 14, 2017 – Digital Talent Brand & Attraction Specialist

    Thank you for your feedback. We’re sorry to hear about your experience. We take all reviews seriously and will ensure that your comments are passed to the appropriate teams.

  8. Helpful (12)

    "Applications Technologist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    401k, benefits, vacation buy/sell, summer hours, closed week of Christmas and NYE

    Cons

    They work you to the bone and you are not appreciated. Management doesn't care about you as a person as long as you churn out samples faster than Usain Bolt

    Advice to Management

    Stop promoting people based on looks. Stop promoting people that screwed up to even more responsibility driven positions. No wonder business is bad and clients go to competitors.


  9. Helpful (4)

    "management doesn't listen or understand"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Comp & Benefits
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    Pros

    ok benefits, tuition reimbursement, big corporation

    Cons

    management tries to make changes before understanding the process

    Advice to Management

    ask the hard workers at the bottom what the issues are and listen to them


  10. Helpful (3)

    "Agree with other reviewers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in East Hanover, NJ
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in East Hanover, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Givaudan full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Co-workers in general are very nice, and good work life balance.

    Cons

    I need to agree with other reviews that I have read in regards to the "bully" environment. The behavior is tolerated here like no company I have worked for in the past.


Showing 29 of 217 reviews
Reset Filters